We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, clean and affordable”
Review of Windmill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Hotel
Ranked #258 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It's a lovely quiet guest house. There's a bar downstairs but it has board games, so that should tell you a bit. It's generally quiet, homely, and the staff are attentive and friendly. I've been here a bunch of times and I keep coming back. If you're staying long term, or are a repeat customer they will give you discounts (as well as that ever-so-important personalised feeling of having a home away from home).

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they'll usually tell you which rooms are quieter, and which are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here on 8th November and it's a really nice place, if you don't mind potentially going up a few flights of stairs to get to your room. The rooms are pretty small but all you need. The Breakfast the next day was also very good and all in all the price was very competitive.
It's about a 10/15 minute walk to Kilburn tube station on the jubilee line or you can get a bus north to Colindale to get onto the Northern Line. Quiet location! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dommy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very pleased with our 2 night stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was warm and clean. The breakfast was generous and varied. We liked the bar in the evening and found the staff friendly there also. The walk to the underground was a tad longer than anticipated but we would just jump on one of the many regular buses outside (with our oyster card). The bus to Paddington doesn't take long as an alternative to tube hopping. All in all a good stay and I would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Great place but our party had 2 double rooms, one was good - spacious and well furnished, the other was small, poorly furnished and felt like a hostel room. Although basically clean our bathroom had cracked tiles and mold stains around the shower grouting. The pub is nice though and there's a great Lebanese restaurant over the road. Oh and the road is noisy so get a room at the back if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for large room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

On cricklewood broadway with bus stop right outside. Easy access to Kilburn station. Very spacious rooms above a quiet pub with en suite accommodation and TV provided. Tea and Coffee making facilities and a secure door to the hotel with a combination code. Excellent provision of both English and continental breakfast items with very good friendly service throughout. Was going to move after one night if unsuitable but stayed for the trip as well worth the visit

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room away from the old wooden staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I booked a night in The Windmill on the 1st September 2012. My original booking was out of necessity as I was helping my son move to London that day and this was the nearest and most affordable I could find. I have to say I was not expecting much, I expected a grotty room on the top of a pub! ...So what a surprise this was! It was like entering another world from what was expected.
The accommodation was lovely and on par (actually better than some) with far more expensive boutique hotels I have stayed at in the West End. The ambiance of the place is second to none, please see pics . The staff could not be more helpful and the room was spotless and everything you could want ie kettle, tea, coffee etc , usual bathroom toiletries.
The bar area seems a little bit almost too good for the area, but is so friendly. There is a lovely outside area for summer evenings and smokers.

It is very unique and the owners /managers have obviously spent a lot of attention to detail to make it look just right. I did not have an evening or daytime meal here but I did have breakfast. There was a selection of meats and cheeses and cereal but you could order hot breakfasts too and these looked good although didn’t have one myself. I also noticed at breakfast there seemed to be a lot of people who stayed here over and over again and had done for some time. I don’t blame them I would certainly return, and soon! A lovely little haven, don’t hesitate to book it if you are looking for something in this area, you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: My room was 100, and its ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here when we went to the olympics, I'm going to review it based on the normal price rather than the hiked up price everyone charged during the olympics (we actually paid way over the odds because we pre-booked ages in advance on lastminute.com but that's a different story).

The rooms are over a great little bar that also has a cute little courtyard garden), staff very helpful, breakfast excellent, rooms basic but spotlessly clean. Transport links fantastic (buses very frequent and right outside the front door, with the nearest tube stop of Kilburn about 5 mins by bus).

Only words of caution, the rooms on the front of the hotel can be noisy as it's on a major road, we moved to the back of the hotel after the first night and problem solved (thanks to the very helpful manager). The double beds are also a little on the small side if you are used to a kingsize at home.

For the normal prices they charge, would highly recommend. Also as a gay couple we were a little cautious because of the area, however we were made to feel very welcome so no problems as all.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the back of the hotel as much much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Black Lion
#164 of 580 in London
247 reviews
Acton Lodge
#254 of 580 in London
6 reviews
Ravna Gora Hotel
#288 of 580 in London
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newmarket Ale House
#342 of 580 in London
283 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#14 of 580 in London
808 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Best Western Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hotel

Address: 57 Cricklewood Broadway | Cricklewood, London NW2 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £45 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing