We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss place to stay”
Review of Windmill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Hotel
Ranked #241 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Letterkenny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hit and miss place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Be very careful which room you stay when booking this place the rooms near the stairs with no carpet are very noisy and also the last time I stayed there was a private party in bar which kept all the residents awake until 2.15am also there is no lift and nobody to help with luggage if you are elderly,will not be rushing back to stay ther again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreenk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    88
    57
    23
    31
See reviews for
44
95
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having to find somewhere to stay at short notice I was delighted to find a vacancy at the Windmill on a Bank Holiday weekend. Right from the helpful receptionist to the inclusive in the price continental breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Hotel .Rooms were modern and comfortable and although on Main Road very Quiet . We would reccomend this hotel for its position close to London with easy access to Tube , Train and Buses right outside hotel and friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: Having spent 2nights I would choose the upstairs rooms as a slight preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This guest house is above a pub- but that's not really an issue! Staff were very helpful, and unusually for this part of London, they have (some) parking. Some good taste has gone into the decor in the rooms, which were clean and tidy, with nice fresh cotton bed linen, although the stairs and shared areas were a bit more worn and pub-like.
Very good value for money. Breakfast was basic but more than adequate with the option of cooked.
A good thing around this area- you can realise you have forgotten your toothbrush at 10 pm and nip to a shop a few doors away to get one- or anything else you need!

Room Tip: Don't have a room facing Cricklewood Broadway-the traffic will keep you awake all night in spite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscherylsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

It's a excellent hotel. Its cost/benefit is very good. The room was large and always clean. The breakfast is great, it's very well serviced. The bar is also very good. The absence of elevator can be a problem for some people. Its location is a little away, but the public transport service of the city is enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edvar_vilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

I have no idea how this place has such good reviews.. It's poorly decorated, old, and in serious need of a lick of paint over the LIME GREEN walls in the hallway. All this wouldn't be such an issue if the lady in the check in desk wasn't wholly unpleasant. She was on the phone when we walked in, not even a smile to greet us, just a blank stare. Another lady walked in, and I could only feel sorry for her as she was treated like dirt by this woman and ordered to check us in and scorned for asking questions and confirming things with her. She did not even acknowledge our presence, just preceded to treat this woman like rubbish in front of us. She set the tone for us and I immediately regretted booking this place. Otherwise the staff were friendly, despite this woman's rudeness. The room was like a hostel room but was clean and comfortable. Any talking in other rooms could be heard as if it were happening right beside you, so walls were paper thin. Breakfast was ok but took a long time to arrive. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurap1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It's a lovely quiet guest house. There's a bar downstairs but it has board games, so that should tell you a bit. It's generally quiet, homely, and the staff are attentive and friendly. I've been here a bunch of times and I keep coming back. If you're staying long term, or are a repeat customer they will give you discounts (as well as that ever-so-important personalised feeling of having a home away from home).

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they'll usually tell you which rooms are quieter, and which are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed here on 8th November and it's a really nice place, if you don't mind potentially going up a few flights of stairs to get to your room. The rooms are pretty small but all you need. The Breakfast the next day was also very good and all in all the price was very competitive.
It's about a 10/15 minute walk to Kilburn tube station on the jubilee line or you can get a bus north to Colindale to get onto the Northern Line. Quiet location! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dommy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Cricklewood Lodge Hotel
Cricklewood Lodge Hotel
#632 of 1,068 in London
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Crown Hotel
Clayton Crown Hotel
#415 of 1,068 in London
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#553 of 1,068 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion
The Black Lion
#170 of 555 in London
233 reviews
1.7 mi away
The William IV
The William IV
#349 of 555 in London
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iverson Apartments
Iverson Apartments
#328 of 555 in London
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hotel

Property: Windmill Hotel
Address: 57 Cricklewood Broadway | Cricklewood, London NW2 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing