We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to stay”
Review of Windmill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Hotel
Ranked #258 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We met the bar manager when we came back from west end show, she is very friendly and helpful to check us in, the room is lovely and clean, it's just like home.

We had a continental breakfast in the morning, it's lovely as well, 2 yogurts and one croissant .

it's lovely to stay, we will come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Ruth and I chose The Windmill as it is close to my son and his partner's new flat.
We chose The Windmill despite the worrying amount of poor reviews!
We arrived about 3pm on Friday after an awful 300 mile drive from Cornwall in continuous torrential rain. Ruby, who was very friendly and welcoming, showed us to room 118 at the rear as requested. The room was cold and we were told that the heating didn't come on until 16.30! We showered to get warm and set off down town to meet up with son and girlfriend.

We returned at 1am to a cold room as the heating hadn't come on we slept well but in the morning realised that the extractor in the bathroom wasn't working. My son had made a delicious chilli the night before....need I say more?
Ruth complained to Ruby who apologised and offered us the ground floor room opposite (119) or one on the second floor at the front. After trying the stairs we decided on 119 (a big mistake!)
At weekends breakfast is 8-10am. on Saturday we went in at 09.30 to find 2 slices of plastic cheese 1small slice of anaemic looking ham 2 slices of white bread and 1 stale looking croissant. Tea was made from a flask of, by now tepid water. there was nobody around to get us anything. We didn't bother with breakfast after this!
Back in 119 I wanted to catch up on the Olympics but the tv wasn't working. I decided to make tea, the kettle lid is broken, not a great problem but in order to fill it you put the lid down on the toilet stand the kettle on the toilet and fill it with a cup as it won't fit under the tap! The bathroom has a small rusty pedal bin with no lid!
We had a delicious brunch with son and girlfriend in West Hampstead and had a lovely, sunny walk, we returned at 3pm as Ruth needed to rest. My intention was to sit in the bar with a beer and hopefully watch footy in the telly. The bar doesn't open until 16.30 on Saturday and you can't be in there unsupervised! So whilst Ruth slept I read the paper and tried to get the telly going....No luck there!
On returning from a lovely concert in town there were still people in the bar so we thought that it would be nice to have a night-cap. 'I'm sorry we're closed!' There were still many people with drinks and I suggested that we would take our drinks to our room. 'The tills are locked and we've finished serving!' 'Could you not put the drinks on our bill?' I new by this time that we were'nt going to be served and the rest of the people in the bar thought the whole conversation very amusing.
Back in 119 and, yes, it is noisy! and the curtains don't block out the light from the street!
The heating was working and the room was very warm I was unable to turn the heating down as there are no nobs on the radiator. We spent half a fitful night on top of the bed until the room cooled down enough to get under the covers!
Just as we were drifting off to sleep the television burst into life! It didn't work again for the rest of our stay.

The sign in the bathroom states that
'If you want a clean set of towels please leave the dirty ones in the bathroom.'
We got clean towels and the dirty ones were still in the bathroom!

Ruby, you deserve better than this dreadful place!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Fawlty Towers withou any Basil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Its a BB above a pub. Noise from the pub is to be expected but as one review has mentioned they do have a very loud band, who play till about 11.30. The rooms are clean and the rooms are a good size. Never saw anyone on the reception, you get given a code to access the hotel and thats the last you will see anyone. Breakfast is the lazy continental brekkie,rubber cheese cheap ham and stale bread. There is a wetherspoons opposite so you can have a full english there if you want. Good location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here over the new year with my partner and could not fault the hotel one bit! Booking was easy, Check In was great and the room was clean and tidy with daily housekeeping. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk up the road from the nearest tube station but this is not that far to walk to and the the tubes into central London are great and frequent. Hotel is also located opposite a JD Wetherpoons which is handy. We stayed in Room 100 which was located at the top of the stairs and didn't hear any noise at all even to say the hotel was fully booked. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 100 is a good room which is located at the top of the stairs and above the reception desk area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakey-Boi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

So we are currently staying at the windmill, the location is good, but that is where the good part ends..

Its currently 11pm and there is some middle aged man shouting down a microphone, the pub claims this is a "rap night"
This isn't a one off, last night we had drunk people fighting, punching signs, flashing and screaming till late in the night.
The hotel reception is empty and there was never a member of staff around to speak to.
Breakfast was a loaf of bread, fatty ham, plastic cheese and stale croissants...

Now I know at £85 a night I wasn't expecting the Ritz but I have stayed at hostels for £10 a night with better staff service food and beds...

If you're reading this and thinking silly old person.. my partner and i are 23 and regularly travel to budget hotels...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thom_Hardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our 3 sons all live in London and therefore we travel there very regularly and this is one of the best value places we have stayed. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy, the shower in our room (117 on the ground floor) was great. Breakfast we ok with cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast and croissants plus meat and cheese. Location is good with lots of eating and drinking venues within a 10 minute walk plus the under/overground stations also within easy walk. We were in car and the road outside (A5) is very very busy and congested at busy times but at quieter times not far from the M1 junction at Staples Corner so easy to get too.

As one of our sons lives 1 mile down the road in a shared house we will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A friend, me and our sons stayed a few days when coming over to see Arsenal - Norwich. Decided on the Windmill based on reviews here and on hotels.com. None of us was dissapointed.

If you are expecting to come to a "hotel", you will be put of by the standard of the rooms and the quality of the beds, but as this is a B&B - and considering the price - this is a very good choice. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was OK.

I read some reviews saying there's a lot of noise coming from live bands/music, but I can't really say. This was October and I guess it wasn't the season for it.

Nice touch with the breakfast lined up on the bar counter and the whole stay gave us a good feeling in general.

It's a bit from the closest tube station, but close enough to walk to.

Will probably consider the Windmill again the next time we're in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#978 of 1,077 in London
587 reviews
The Black Lion
#167 of 573 in London
240 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#125 of 573 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#16 of 573 in London
794 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#138 of 573 in London
185 reviews
The William IV
#360 of 573 in London
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hotel

Address: 57 Cricklewood Broadway | Cricklewood, London NW2 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £42 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windmill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing