We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windmill Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$336
US$278
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$307
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$396
US$357
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$194
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$551
US$533
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
51
90
61
24
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
90
61
24
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilburn stationyogurtten minute walktriple roomvisit londontea and coffeefull englishbooked this hotelwembleytubehairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The area is very diverse with Irish, Indian, Eastern European etc etc Windmill Hotel is basic, clean and for one night in London it's ideal if your not spending too much time in your room other than for a kip. Parking is an issue at this Kilburn/Cricklewood location as one has to move their car by about 7:30am. However, the hotel has about 6 secure spaces (£10 for 24hr not bad for London) which was useful given the alternative, spaces provided on a first come first serve basis and no reservation allowed ! Ideal as I was able to leave car, conduct business in London and get back. Also, plenty of choices for eating out and a diverse range of cuisines etc and Tube/overhead rail near Brondesbury within 10 minutes walk. Breakfast a little basic continental style, but plenty of Cafes nearby, Wetherspoon across road. Main line station Kilburn High, best to get a bus one every 2-3 min about 1 mile/1.5KM trip and stops outside hotel. Been staying here for a few years on and off would have no hesitation in coming back despite being basic as location was ideal and good nights kip. Price reflects quality given most Hotels are average in London and this offers an interesting location. Vote yes if this was useful !

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on the first floor otherwise more steps to climb (no lifts)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Extensive-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for the FA Cup semi final.

Bang on location, cracking room and Wetherspoons opposite cheap as chips.

Will definitely book to stay here again.

Can't comment on the breakfast as I was enjoying my comfy bed to much to get up for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Windmill was a decent place to stay. We found them on Google and made our reservations before we left the US. After getting off the plane, we took the underground to the station closest to the Windmill. Being unfamiliar with the city, it was difficult to gauge just how far the hotel was from the Kilburn station (off the gray line), so we just started walking with our luggage until we found the hotel. It was a few long blocks away, but manageable to walk. We later found that a bus stop was just outside of the hotel which made it very convenient to travel when we didn't feel like walking to the station or felt like taking a different route.

When we arrived, a lady was setting at the front desk. She seemed very put-together and professional. She gave us the WiFi code, the entry code to the hotel part of the Windmill, and the key (real, metal key) to our bedroom. We found our way to our room, which was clean and lightly decorated with small canvas photos on the walls. The bathroom probably couldn't have been much smaller with a standing shower, pedestal sink, and toilet packed together. It wasn't anything romantic, but it got the job done as far as hygiene was concerned. Our bed was neatly made, our tea tray was full of cocoa, tea, and creamers, and our armoire was ample for fitting our clothing. We had a huge window that I found charming, but others might find dingy.

The location of the Windmill was… interesting. Locals informed us that the part of town was predominantly "Muslim," and discouraged us from visiting several local establishments. While this proved to be true, and some establishments made me feel very unwelcome, there were some fantastic locations nearby. The Cricklewood Bagel Bakery was around a block away and had fresh bagels (bagels and lox!), and chocolate-filled croissants. It was delicious! There were a few eateries on the other side of the Kilburn station, but that area was much more crowded. It had things like convenience stores and restaurants.

The free breakfast at the Windmill included croissants, toast, and cereal, as well as tea, and maybe some coffee. For about 3.5 pounds you could buy a full english breakfast… which was fantastic! At night the dining area of the Windmill transforms into a bar. There were some regulars that just enjoyed the Windmill at the bar, and then there were folks that came to watch rugby or whatever other sports were playing there. The bartenders were all young ladies, and very conversational. My husband and I enjoyed chatting with them, and they were all characters to watch interact. The bar wasn't necessarily fully stocked, so there were times when they would leave to grab extra limes or other fruit if it was needed for a cocktail. They aimed to please!

I would say it's a great budget-friendly option! It had a lot of character and made for several fun stories from our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We met the bar manager when we came back from west end show, she is very friendly and helpful to check us in, the room is lovely and clean, it's just like home.

We had a continental breakfast in the morning, it's lovely as well, 2 yogurts and one croissant .

it's lovely to stay, we will come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Ruth and I chose The Windmill as it is close to my son and his partner's new flat.
We chose The Windmill despite the worrying amount of poor reviews!
We arrived about 3pm on Friday after an awful 300 mile drive from Cornwall in continuous torrential rain. Ruby, who was very friendly and welcoming, showed us to room 118 at the rear as requested. The room was cold and we were told that the heating didn't come on until 16.30! We showered to get warm and set off down town to meet up with son and girlfriend.

We returned at 1am to a cold room as the heating hadn't come on we slept well but in the morning realised that the extractor in the bathroom wasn't working. My son had made a delicious chilli the night before....need I say more?
Ruth complained to Ruby who apologised and offered us the ground floor room opposite (119) or one on the second floor at the front. After trying the stairs we decided on 119 (a big mistake!)
At weekends breakfast is 8-10am. on Saturday we went in at 09.30 to find 2 slices of plastic cheese 1small slice of anaemic looking ham 2 slices of white bread and 1 stale looking croissant. Tea was made from a flask of, by now tepid water. there was nobody around to get us anything. We didn't bother with breakfast after this!
Back in 119 I wanted to catch up on the Olympics but the tv wasn't working. I decided to make tea, the kettle lid is broken, not a great problem but in order to fill it you put the lid down on the toilet stand the kettle on the toilet and fill it with a cup as it won't fit under the tap! The bathroom has a small rusty pedal bin with no lid!
We had a delicious brunch with son and girlfriend in West Hampstead and had a lovely, sunny walk, we returned at 3pm as Ruth needed to rest. My intention was to sit in the bar with a beer and hopefully watch footy in the telly. The bar doesn't open until 16.30 on Saturday and you can't be in there unsupervised! So whilst Ruth slept I read the paper and tried to get the telly going....No luck there!
On returning from a lovely concert in town there were still people in the bar so we thought that it would be nice to have a night-cap. 'I'm sorry we're closed!' There were still many people with drinks and I suggested that we would take our drinks to our room. 'The tills are locked and we've finished serving!' 'Could you not put the drinks on our bill?' I new by this time that we were'nt going to be served and the rest of the people in the bar thought the whole conversation very amusing.
Back in 119 and, yes, it is noisy! and the curtains don't block out the light from the street!
The heating was working and the room was very warm I was unable to turn the heating down as there are no nobs on the radiator. We spent half a fitful night on top of the bed until the room cooled down enough to get under the covers!
Just as we were drifting off to sleep the television burst into life! It didn't work again for the rest of our stay.

The sign in the bathroom states that
'If you want a clean set of towels please leave the dirty ones in the bathroom.'
We got clean towels and the dirty ones were still in the bathroom!

Ruby, you deserve better than this dreadful place!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Fawlty Towers withou any Basil!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews