We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable and Great Location. The Phoenix.”
Review of Phoenix Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Hostel
Ranked #161 of 861 Speciality Lodging in London
London
1 review
“Clean, Affordable and Great Location. The Phoenix.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The atmosphere in the phoenix was fantastic. It has a busy bar downstairs reserved only for guests. There's a wide screen tv in the lounge with comfy chairs, its really adds to the friendly and relaxed ambience. Staff are well trained and have a strong knowledge of the local area. Bathrooms and toilets were cleaned very regularly. The managment and owner seem to really make an effort pleasing everyone who visits the hostel and they have clearly taken many backpacker suggestions onboard. Finally location is soooo central, its a stones throw from west end attractions such as oxford street, abbey road (beatles) and the London greatest parks, Hyde Park and Regents Park. Convenient for travel it has 2 tube stations close by so its very easy to get to and from airports and local attractions!

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 6 have just been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    73
    46
    26
    30
See reviews for
6
22
112
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 days last week, the staff are awesome, the location is superb in a quiet little street 10 minute walk from Oxford Street, perfect hostel around 60 guests so not too big but just ocsy enough too meet other travelllers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed in this hostel for 2 weeks whilst I looked for a flat in London.
It was by far the worst 2 weeks of my life! To sum it up:
- bed bugs, I spent 4 months travelling Europe and never got them, as soon as I stayed here I got bitten all over my legs and arms, showed the female receptionist and she couldn't care less!
- the rudest staff I've ever come across! They are all lazy, sit on the computer watching movies and ignoring guests. One night the people in the room next door came back at 4am so drunk that they were in the hallway throwing bags and bins around. Reception did nothing, I went to complain and found the receptionist drinking a beer and told me there was nothing he could do.
- rooms are filthy! No powerpoints in the rooms.
-bathrooms were beyond disgusting! Taps in one didn't work and had to wait an hour every morning for a shower!
- rooms are unsafe. The door had a code that you enter to unlock it, problem is that everyone knows the code so strangers are coming in and out of your room as they please.

I have stayed in hostels all around the world and this was by far the worst I had stayed in! I only stayed for as long as I did because I had pre paid and was refused a refund when I asked reception!

If you want a good hostel in London I highly recommend clink78. I went there after my stay here and it was amazing compared to this dump!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mkou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

A great hostel to meet people and start new freindships. Its very central too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Phoenix for a week while i was looking for a flat in London, the staff were very welcoming and went out of there way to give me advice about London
The rooms were cleaned twice every day and every bed had a locker that could be used

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at the Phoenix for 3 nights while searching for permanent accomodation and work in London, overall had a decent experience however the 14 person room was very crammed, no room for luggage or any of your things except lockers you have to pay for. Shower/ toilet situation was a little dirty at times.

Aside from that, the price is fitting- free breakfast and tea/coffee, the common area is the best part about the hostel, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Wi-fi is free.There are also fridges and a microwave so I was able to save some money on food while there. Location is not bad either, 5 min walk to Edgware Road Station, close to central.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed here for just one night last week and I enjoyed my time there. The bar downstairs has discounted drinks and the staff are all extremely helpful and welcoming. The bathrooms and bedrooms were cleaned twice on both days and my bed was already made with clean sheets when I arrived. Good value as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#60 of 861 in London
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#31 of 861 in London
1,103 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#112 of 861 in London
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hostel

Property: Phoenix Hostel
Address: 6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 861 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenix Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Phoenix Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing