We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Phoenix Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Hostel
Ranked #139 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Small rooms and a bit old but if all you need is a bed to sleep in then here is a good cheap hostel. The staff were very friendly and I loved the bar downstairs (cheap drinks). I had a good sleep even with many people sharing the room with me. Lovely friendly people about. I'd say not a bad find.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic place, really good staff and clean compared to other places in London.great location easy to get around london there is 3 tube stations in a 5 min walk from the hostel(district, backerloo,circle and hamersmith) the zoo was only a 10 min walk so that was nice to go to on a nice lonvely day

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

When i first arrived at the hostel i was greeted with a free welcome drink, where else do you get that. One of the staff at the bar then proceeded to give me a map and a wealth of information about the hostel facilties and the local attractions. It was clean and spacious in the rooms upstair i would definetly return there again in the future!

Room Tip: room 9 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hostel was located near the tube and shops so it was easy to get around. Moreover, it was so close to Oxford Street, within walking distance! I really enjoyed my stay here: the staff were very nice and always helpful. I also liked the high security and the superb breakfast (which was so reasonable and such good value). I will definitely stay here again when I visit London in the future. Fantastic hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryann187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived to this sticky, dirty hostel and were informed that there was no hot water in the hostel. We had to walk half a mile to a local gym to get a shower. We were also extremely disappointed in the service of the employees and found their relationships with the guests to be inappropriate. The hostel was a farther walk away from any other attraction than advertised. The rooms were overcrowded and the toilets were faulty. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else! This place was dirty, overcrowded, and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfhagerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Highly recommended! Right near central London. Very nice area. London underground is a 2 minute walk. Beds are good, atmoshere is good, service, staff and security are all excellent. Very reasonable rates. Especially given the location! Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidkappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Me and some girlfriends stayed in the large bunkbed room (I think 16 ppl?) and it was fine. The only issue was that the room had very little venitilation so it was very muggy and felt moldy and my friend got terriblly sick (asthma and cough) from sleeping in the room. I could feel it in the room too but was not as affected by it physically.
The hostel does have a nice charm to it and is a great location. Near the trains and scenic areas.The showers and stuff were okay. It felt like in stead of actually cleanign and ventilating the hostel, they just kept repainting it and were even repainting the hallway while we were there.
The drinks are cheap so you can pre-drink there and then hop on the train to wherev pub or club you are heading off to. The main floor is very cute and they have a great cheap breakfast so you can get on with your day and not waste money buying it elsewhere.
Overall, it was a good time and the staff was excellent. While their was some hiccups it was worth it for the cost and the atmosphere by the staff. They were very friendly and easygoing when we had a little fun (till the wee hours in the morning LOL).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knoblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 949 in London
1,246 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#60 of 949 in London
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Marylebone
PubLove at The Green Man
PubLove at The Green Man
#173 of 949 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hostel

Address: 6 Daventry Street, London NW1 5NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 949 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £14 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenix Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenix Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing