We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, not Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Ranked #10 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad, not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was the first hostel I had ever stayed in, but have stayed in more since. It was okay. The Thai food at the bar is EXCELLENT so I loved that bit. It was a bit grungy and the only hostel that I wanted to wear shoes in the shower for. The location is right on the river which is fun. There is a bus stop right outside the hostel, but the tube station is further away. I love walking so I didn't mind so much, but I tend to prefer a more central location. The neighborhood is quiet, seems mostly residential, I only saw one other pub in the area. Reception staff was nice and I met some interesting people at the bar, though most said that they were looking for other hostels to stay in. The locker situation was okay, but there were not enough in the room, so some people used lockers out in the hallway. I actually preferred this so I could be noisy early in the morning. Most of the people I met were in London to sightsee and tended to be early risers rather than night owls, but this was just my experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in 10 bed room on top floor-great windows for lots of natural light and ventilation. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    185
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
36
42
249
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very friendly staff, great location. A atmosphere very unlikely to match and besides the thrill and fun you can have it there, upstairs, at your bedroom you can relax with some peace quiet.
Awesome place, you should definately consider booking at Travel Joy.

Room Tip: I think, even though I am not sure, that the rooms of the last floor are the ones which fit more peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We strayed at this hostal for 4 nights. The hostal is not very close to main touristic attractions but there is a bus that stops right in front of it every 15 minutes and it can take you directly to many of the main attractions. There are also bicycles for hire in the same street. So getting around is not a problem.

We stayed in a shared room of 8 people, which was quite small and crowded, but at least it was fairy clean. It had 2 showers and 1 toilet in the room. They provided free bed sheets, towels and also in the shower there is soap and shampoo.

The hostal has a small bar downstairs which is very nice and cozy, they have board games, DVDs and books to lend. One very good thing about this hostal is that they provide guest with free coffee, tea and soft drinks for free during the entire day. Also in the bar is where they serve breakfast which is included in the price. The breakfast doesn't have much variety thou, it basically consists on toast with jam and butter, boiled eggs, cereal, juice and coffee. No fruit unfortunately.

The staff was very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyful_in_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at the travel joy for 3 nights in December. The hostel provides free towels during your stay and free non-alcoholic drinks all day and night. The hostel also provides shampoo and body wash in the showers. I stayed in a 12 bed all female hostel. The room was quiet and comfortable and the bedding was clean and the room was warm. There was big lockers to put your belongings in, just make sure to bring your own lock. The breakfast was free each morning and was pretty standard hostel breakfast, but really all you need. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. The hostel was in a great location, especially for the low price. The bus stops directly in front of the hostel and the nearest tube station was the Pimlico (about a 15 mins). About a 20-25 minute walk from the Victoria station, where most of the buses drop you off from the airport. The bar downstairs was very cozy and full of life. Great people and they have open mic night and karaoke on the weekends. I was more than satisfied with this hostel and will definitely be back! they also sell discounted tickets for tours and bar crawls. My only complaint was that the bed were a bit creaky.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level if you don't wanna climb a million stairs haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

After my last, utterly disastrous hostel stay (at Hyde Park Hostel- stay far away), finding Travel Joy was a huge relief. Helpful, kind staff, everything was clean and taken care of, breakfast was great. They were happy to let me drop off luggage at 7:30 in the morning, and also to keep it the next day after I checked out, all for free. The common area/bar is really cozy and welcoming. OH and the bottom bunks have little curtains so you have the illusion of privacy! I really appreciated that detail, especially since I was in a 12 person room.

I walked here, with all my luggage, easily from Victoria station. It takes about 15 minutes.

Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone staying in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiregirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Our group of 6 adults ( 40 to 75 y.o.) stayed 2 nights in the upstairs room with 3 bunk beds and attached bathroom. It was crowded but we all know each other so was fun. Mattresses not the most comfortable which is my only criticism. But if you are looking for a great location on The Thames (our balcony overlooked it), walking distance to subway and even downtown London if you can walk for an hour, this is perfect. Staff were very helpful and the breakfast was basic but adequate - great to have available. If you need to be away from street sounds and can't wear ear plugs take that into consideration. They kindly provide ear plugs.
We weren't bothered by noise from the pub which was my biggest concern - we were there on a Friday night.
Liked that we could check in and out easily which was the downside of apartments where you had to arrange keys, cleaning etc.
Overall, good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarrbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great international staff, very friendly and helpful, relaxed atmosphere, room was clean, pre- Xmas atmosphere was lovely, good breakfast, got local tips and useful information. Drinks available all day was a superb idea, pub food available in the restaurant was a good choice with a a large selection of Thai and traditional English food.

Room Tip: close to the exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecilia1234cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safestay
#15 of 828 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Property: Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Address: 111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Joy Hostels is a relaxed and chilled-out hostel which focuses on personal service.We are the only London hostel overlooking the river. We are extremely centrally located between Chelsea and The Houses of Parliament.We provide free tea/coffee/soft drinks to residents at all times, free linen/towels, free earplugs, Wi-Fi in the entire building and free continental breakfast. There are no hidden costs.There is bicycle dock and a 24 hour bus outside the door that goes every ten minutes to Victoria Station, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square, Soho, Oxford Street and Camden.We have a Thai and European restaurant on site and a tour and theatre tickets desk.We have PC's in the lounge area which can be accessed for a small fee.Our large bar below the hostel is a great place to relax and socialise. Our building offers all modern facilities and guests can feel very safe and comfortable.Our check-in time is from 14:00 - 23.30. If you are early you can leave your luggage in our secure luggage storage area. Check-out is 11:00 with breakfast from 07:30 - 10:30.We can assure you that your stay with Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea will be enjoyable and relaxing and give you a wonderful taste of Central London.We also have Salsa Classes on Wednesdays, an Open Mic Night on Fridays and Live Music on Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing