We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice to stay in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Ranked #17 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hostel is good but it's a bit far away from the metro station, but the bus stop is just in front of the hostel. The breakfast is average but its free so you cant complain a lot about that, also they have free soft drinks and te, thats definitely a plus. I stayed at a private triple room, it was nice and comfy. Part of the staff were pretty nice and very helpfull with everything, but 2 of them were very rude (the black bearded guy) I will think about it two times before staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hostel is perfect for travellers! It has everything you would possibly need and more! The location is amazing, food is good, staff friendly, clean rooms and the best breakfast in the hostel you could ever have.. pancakes, omelettes, eggs, yogurt, juices, cereal, coffee, toast and nothing ever runs out! i would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to London!

Room Tip: I stayed in a en suite 6 bed dorm and it had a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livabrzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A friend and I were just passing through on our way back from a festival and I thought this hostel seemed like a fun place to spend the one night we needed to stay in London before catching our flight. Location was terrible, the free drinks were great, the rooms were okay, it wasn't that clean and the staff were nice for the most part. However, one male staff member in particular with a scruffy dark beard was so rude to us that it put a negative vibe on the entire experience. Several times we asked him questions regarding the buses and check out as we were leaving in the morning and he was so short and snide in his remarks it blows my mind he has a job at a hostel. I left an unopened cider can I had on my bed hoping he would chill out and maybe be a little more peraonable to the next travelers stopping by. Terrible service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madisoneagrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Average Hostel, the breakfast is good but apart from that all the beds face each other so the light from someones mobiles goes in your face.Price is also on the higher scale, especially given how far it location. The Location is abit too far away from Central London and Hostel itself is in abit of a residential area. Only a few shops nearby. The Staff seem tired and uninterested .The Stairs are very narrow and long The hostel has no age limit, so not rare to see under 18 kids. No self catering facilities and the common room is just the main bar downstairs which is open to the general public.The atmosphere is abit dead

I do not recommend this hostel, especially if you are in a group far easier to rent somewhere else like clink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed in room #4 (8 room people) in june and my experience is Ok. Here some details to consider: a) Nearest tube station is around 25 minutes walking (not bad for London, but also it´s not nice when you are fully loaded with luggage) b) Just in front of the hostel it´s the "24" bus stop. Bus 24 is a bus that works 24 hours and goes through the main London Attractions. it gets you directly to Big Ben, London Eye, Trafalgar Square, etc. and back to the hostel easily. It cost 2.40 pounds. c) The hostel gives you for free lemonade, water, Pepsi, and many other beverages as many times as you need. d) Rooms and shower are ok, clean, comfortable enough, just like an average hostel. e) 1 pound for 24 hours of internet. 10 first minutes are free. f) They provide you for free (at your request) ear plugs just in case you got some snoring neighbor. g) They say reception is open 24 hours, but i had to leave the hostel at 5:30 a.m. and nobody were there. h) One of the best prices you will find in London. In general, my experience is good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Wow!! this was an amazing experience. At first I was little disconcerted by some bad reviews I had seen... The people writing them must have been staying at a different place... Travel Joy Hostel was very affordable. I stayed in a mixed 12 person dorm. Beds were comfy (what you would expect from a hostel). The rooms were small, but very clean and spacious lockers. Bathrooms were always very clean and even smelled good! There was no kitchen, but there was a fridge and microwave available. Common room had movies, games, free soft drinks all day (including milk, juice, tea, coffee, sodas, etc...) Free breakfast in the morning! and not just cereal and toast but Omelets! freshly made with your choice of ingredients :) Staff was very friendly and always willing to suggest stuff to do! There is a bar in the common area and as a guest you receive special prices. Also, there is a Thai and English restaurant open for dinner. Very reasonably priced, good size portions, and absolutely delicious!!

Room Tip: great value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaLizeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hostels in london and this is one of the best.
When I arrived the guy at the desk personally showed me my room AND carried my bag up the stairs! Free tea, coffee, soft drinks all day from the bar. Also best breakfast in london hands down; yoghurt, cereals and even omlettes made in front of you! the hostel is also clean and the showers are good. They also have friendly multilingual staff. All in all, this at a brilliant price to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauratheexplorer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 928 in London
1,219 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 928 in London
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 928 in London
2,664 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 928 in London
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Address: 111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £11 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We regret to inform that the King William IV / Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea has been sold and the building will be subject to refurbishment works which are estimated to take 15 months." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing