We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Female Solo Traveller- Good Location, Super friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Ranked #15 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stay at Travel Joy Hostel, Dec, 2013. It's just about 10 mins walk from the Pimlico metro station so you get to the Victoria station in no time, making getting around the city super easy. Safe neighbourhood, looks like a typical English pub from the outside. The staff is really helpful and friendly. They took the time to explain the best ways to get to attractions from the Hostel. The breakfast was excellent! The first hostel I could get an omelet at! lol
I stayed in a 10 or 12 room dorm and honestly getting a decent night's sleep was tough , with the snoring and coming and going but that had nothing to do with the hostel.
The showers were in good condition but one morning I waited almost 20 mins for the guy to replace the toilet paper!
But it that was my biggest complaint then clearly the place is just fine for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it means a lot to us! Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and would say that the experience was good. Location is 10 min to the underground and there is a bus stop just in front of the hostel (Bus no 24) which provide access to central points of London. Rooms are clean and facilities were all clean and tidy. Breakfast and drinks are free, which is very helpful. Finally the staff were very friendly and kind [they were even giving pop-corn during the films shown at night :)].

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your review and for your stay in our hostel! Hope to see you back with us really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at a few hostels in the past few weeks this was certainly a good one.
The location itself is reasonably central. Whilst it's a 10 min walk to the nearest tube station (pimlico) there is a 24 hour bus directly outside that goes past the tube, all the way to Westminster and Trafalgar Square. Bus number is 24 for anyone wanting to look up the route. The bus is also the latest generation of double decker in London so the ride is always more pleasant.
Bar downstairs has a great vibe. Comfy couches and lounges, easily moveable furniture for large or small groups. Also place to sit alone.
There are power points around the tables to charge laptops/phones etc.
I stayed in a 6 bed dorm room 4 beds. Beds are bunk beds. Sheets and towels are provided included in the price. You have to make your own bed which was not an issue. There is no elevator but staff are very willing to help carry suitcases up stairs. There is also no physical key to loose, entry to rooms and upstairs is by code, which is provided on a laminated piece of paper.
Rooms themselves are clean but small. 4 lockers in the room 2 in the bathroom. Lockers are nice and large. Despite what other reviews say there are 6 power points for 6 people, just sometimes they can be a bit tricky to locate, I.e under the bed. Light switch for the bathroom was also hidden behind a bed. A sign Indicating where it is may be a useful addition. Bathroom was spacious and the inclusion of a built in hairdryer was great, although the switch to adjust fan strength was broken as was the light above the mirror. Beware of the ventilation fan in the bathroom it's sensor activated and after 3 days still scared me every time due to the noise of it turning on.
Staff are incredible especially Shannen, dusan Filippo and a Portuguese women whose name escapes me.
The food isn't cheap but normal London pricing. Portion size is generous and food is tasty. Omelette and smoothie station at breakfast is fantastic. Inclusion of unlimited free non alcoholic drinks anytime makes it cost effective.
Overall was sad to leave the family environment which felt like a home. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your detailed review, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel!

The light switch has been changed and is now located in the bathroom which makes it way easier to find and the lockers are now all in the room which makes their access easier at all times.

We hope to see you back with us soon so you can enjoy the improvements being done.

Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews I booked 4 nights at this hostel, but unfortunately it didn't meet my expectations.

1. En-suite bathroom's sink was broken (see photos)

2. The room was so packed, that they had to block the balcony door with beds and put lockers in the bathroom! So if you're unlucky and your locker is in the bathroom, while someone is there.. Bad luck!

3. Internet is free for 30 mins per day, and £1 for 24 hours. Internet is fast and reliable

4. Staff are so friendly and helpful.

5. Breakfast is very good

6. Again the room was so packed that it's almost impossible to open it without freezing everyone in the room.

7. Only 4 power points for 6 people! So if you want to charge your phone overnight.. Back luck again

8. The bus stop is opposite to the hostel and the underground station is 10 mins walk

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Amr_fahmy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

First of all thank you for your review.

The sink in the room were you were staying was not broken but some work was done on the bathroom floor which might have gave you this impression, we apologize for the inconvenience though the work being done did not cause any trouble to use the bathroom at any time.

The lockers placed in the bathroom have been put back in the room, sorry

The balcony door was inaccessible as the weather was really bad during your stay.

The room contains 6 power sockets which means one for each bed, we would have been happy to show you that there was more sockets than the ones you have seen.

The bus stop for the bus 24 is right in front of the hostel door, there is no bus stops on the other side of the road so I suppose this is a misunderstanding.

The room were you were staying contains 6 beds and a large bathroom.
Most of hostels in London use triple bunks which we refuse to do as it is pretty inconvenient for the people sleeping on the top of them, though it would make more space in the rooms.

We regret that your experience in our hostel was not as good as the majority of guests staying in our hostel. Thank you for your feedback which always help us to improve details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A very good place!
the room are confortable and they have all what you need, shampoo and soap for the shower, some locker, and "tappi per le orecchie" (maybe earplugs) if you need!
the Breakfast is various and very good, they also cook omelette!
But the best is the welcome, all the staff is very friendly, and prepared for any request.
A very good place to stay if you wanna live in London for a few days.
Oh yes, they have also free drinks!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabbio88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My partner and I stayed for 7 nights. Simple rooms but comfy and clean. Good shower. Breakfast is the best you will find!! The usual but with omlettes cooked on the spot and smoothies as well. Staff were friendly. 24 hour bus right out the front (every 10mins). We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your review and you 7 nights stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be really happy to see back with us someday! Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I accidentally booked this hostel, but decided to try it out anyways because of the good reviews. It was pretty nice. They offer unlimited soft drinks, tea, coffee and hot chocolate throughout the day. They have a really amazing breakfast, and the staff is great. The location isn´t the best, but with London´s public transportation, that wasn´t a huge deal. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollegeTraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
We do have the 24 bus in front of our door going straight to the city centre 24 hours a day.
Hope to see you back with us really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 929 in London
1,223 reviews
Safestay
#20 of 929 in London
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 929 in London
1,237 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 929 in London
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Address: 111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £11 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We regret to inform that the King William IV / Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea has been sold and the building will be subject to refurbishment works which are estimated to take 15 months." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing