We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many free inclusions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Ranked #11 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Many free inclusions!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

On arrival staff kindly showed me to my room and offered me a free drink. All softdrinks are free to guests! Great shower facilities with free shampoo and soap! Bed ok, very creaky! Suprisingly good food in the pub, pork ribs were yum! Free salsa lessons and other entertainment on different nights. Only downside really is the location - just have to get the bus everywhere, but being on the Thames was nice too:-) Highly recommend, they aim to please!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and free drinks during your stay! Thank you for recommending our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    191
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
37
42
260
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
259 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I only stayed at the Travel Joy for one night, but I had a great stay. I also had a really bad cold at the time, so that's saying something. The staff are very helpful, and it has very clean facilities. The 10 person dorm was a bit squished, but that was to be expected. Everyone in my room was very respectful of space and noise levels. It was a bit of a hike to get there with my huge backpack from the airport. Not as close to downtown as some of the other hostels I stayed at in London, but definitely worth the visit, and a great value.

Room Tip: If you require more room, than I might avoid a ten person dorm. But it ended up working out well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks a lot for your review and your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was the first hostel I'd every stayed in and the staff certainly made the experience pleasurable.

The breakfast is great, and the convenience of free beverages (non-alcoholic) throughout the day is stellar. The neighbourhood is very safe, especially for a female solo traveller. Tube line isn't far and the Tate Britain is about 15 minutes away. It's an ideal spot!

My only issue is that the beds are wobbly and smell a bit musty. The showers could also be better maintained. Still, I'm a very picky traveller and I managed more than fine!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpagesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed in a dorm at Travel Joy Hostel in February 2014. The room was alright although the bunk beds are really wobbly. Bathrooms were alright and clean.
I really enjoyed breakfast with oats, cornflakes, toast and tasty coffee. You can also get omlettes, pancakes and smoothies for free which is awesome. The staff is very nice and quite helpful!
One thing I didn't like is that you have to pay for WLAN. It's just 1 pound per day but the homepage said it was free of charge.
It's not in the middle of the city but you can catch the bus no24 directly outside the hostel. It gets you to most of the sights in london and runs 24 hours! A walk to Big Ben is also not too far (about 30min).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jochen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hostel is definitely recommendable! Location - excellent. Bus 24 takes you to a lot of landmarks. Nice Thames view. Staff - helpful, caring. Atmosphere - enjoyable. Live music, salsa lessons - what else do you need to enjoy your stay? Breakfasts? Do not worry - you will not be hungry with omlettes, pancakes and cocktails galore. Rooms - not too big but clean with lockers available. It was a bit too hot and we did not manage to find the way to turn it down. We did not ask in the reception, though. Showers - hot water at any time. You can drink as much as you want within the price - alcohol not included,of course.
Best wishes to the staff. Filippo was our favourite!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hostel is super, great, amazing! I was there for 4d/5n with a friend and we stayed in a 12 mixed dorm. We had a fantastic time in London in this hostel. So I would just recommend it to everyone.
-The staff is really nice, kind, helpful, friendly and having a good time together and with the guests. Really nice atmosphere, whatever you need, they will help you with it.
-The hostel is located in Pimplico, a nice calm area at the themse. It is really close to the tube station and has a bus, that runs 24h a day just in front of the hostel.
-You get free breakfast including normal stuff like Toast, jam, orange juice, milk, cornflakes: but as well you get Pancakes, Omlettes, eggs, and Smoothies for free! Free softdrinks all day long.
Food to buy is really good. The drinks at the bar are reaaally cheap!
-Friday night: Open mic, every night after midnight: movienight with free popcorn. Different other events or you just go out with the stuff dancing :D
-Dorms are little bit small, but I mean, you basically are just there to sleep, so who cares...Free lockers, free pillow, blanket with bedlinen and free towel.
-Bathrooms overall really clean and hotwatershowers
So there's not really something to complain about!
Go there and see yourself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi_Zippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

- The staff is amazing! Always kind, helpful and hardworking people. Felipo has a lot of good tips... If you need any help, he is really nice...
- AWESOME omelets... I miss it every single day... And also the breakfast is free...
- Good location (close to metro and bus 24)
- Nice atmosphere with an english pub and delicious food
- Cheap drinks, dancing lessons, movies with free popcorn
- They let you keep your luggage in the locker after the checkout
- Save neighbourhood

I TOTALLY recommend... No complains at all

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YohanaFriedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickael_maertens, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your stay in our hostel! Hope to see you back with us really soon to enjoy our omelets! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 838 in London
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safestay
#16 of 838 in London
904 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 838 in London
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Property: Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Address: 111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Joy Hostels is a relaxed and chilled-out hostel which focuses on personal service.We are the only London hostel overlooking the river. We are extremely centrally located between Chelsea and The Houses of Parliament.We provide free tea/coffee/soft drinks to residents at all times, free linen/towels, free earplugs, Wi-Fi in the entire building and free continental breakfast. There are no hidden costs.There is bicycle dock and a 24 hour bus outside the door that goes every ten minutes to Victoria Station, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square, Soho, Oxford Street and Camden.We have a Thai and European restaurant on site and a tour and theatre tickets desk.We have PC's in the lounge area which can be accessed for a small fee.Our large bar below the hostel is a great place to relax and socialise. Our building offers all modern facilities and guests can feel very safe and comfortable.Our check-in time is from 14:00 - 23.30. If you are early you can leave your luggage in our secure luggage storage area. Check-out is 11:00 with breakfast from 07:30 - 10:30.We can assure you that your stay with Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea will be enjoyable and relaxing and give you a wonderful taste of Central London.We also have Salsa Classes on Wednesdays, an Open Mic Night on Fridays and Live Music on Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing