We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Ranked #10 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful hostel in Central London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a hidden gem! For a very reasonable price, you get great service, a clean room, clean bathroom and facilities, and free drinks plus a full-featured breakfast. This is as good as it gets as far as hostels go. Having stayed in many hostels across Europe, this is by far one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you from all the staff of Travel Joy for your nice review and recommending our hostel ! Hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    186
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
36
42
255
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fitties
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A connected global hub.....friendly international staff who are helpful and attentive.
Have lived and worked in London over many years and this was a first for me in lots of ways...leaner sparer travelling with limited time. The flexibility of the staff and the feeding regimen, plus the location and transport links, enabled an abundant itinerary.
Thanks so much for sharing the fun and energy that pulses throughout ..... most infectious!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieteakle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your feedback ! We are always happy to see our guests enjoying their stay with us in London! Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I'm a professor who travels with groups of university students and I find most staff at hostels are friendly and helpful, but here I truly felt like we were their guests rather than their customers. Plus it's a central, pretty, and safe location with a very convenient 24 hour bus stop out front and shops, etc nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms do face Grosvenor Road so there is traffic noise butI got used to it quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your stay and feedback ! Nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests having a good time in our hostel. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I brought a group of 12 guys up to London to watch the Aviva Premiership Rugby Final this weekend just gone and stumbled across this little gem with the help of Tripadvisor. Firstly i was shocked that a place which came so highly recommended would accept such a group but they did and we had our own private dormitory. The room was very clean and there were fresh towels and secure lockers provided. The showers upstairs were excellent and the staff were incredibly friendly. Breakfast came free of charge and soft drinks were complimentary which can only be described as the icing on the cake after a evening of excess.

Thank you so much for an excellent weekend Traveljoy, it wouldn't of been the same without you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisHughes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends as guests in Travel Joy ! Thank you for your review, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Really nice relaxed atmosphere, but also run properly and efficiently so you know you are in good hands - a perfect combination.
Every member of staff over my week long stay were helpful and didnt' make me feel silly for asking questions, I would recommend this hostel for anyone travelling on their own for the first time who might be nervous, as it is a really welcoming place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review ! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the atmosphere of the hostel ! We are always happy to make our guests enjoy their stay in London, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

comfy beds, nice coffee, and good brekkie, annoying beep on door if you didnt shut it properly.
staff were good, tho there was an instance when a staff member thought my friend hadnt paid and asked her to leave a few times. no biggy but staff should know who they have in etc. everything else was good.

overall would come again as i enjoyed my stay :D

Room Tip: i stayed in shared room with bunk beds. it was comfy with friendly people, what id expect really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Rob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your stay and your feedback ! We will be happy to see you back in Travel Joy ! Sorry for the misunderstanding between our staff member and your friend. The bip from the door goes off only if the door is not closed properly, it is a security system to make sure that every doors of the hostel stay closed. Thanks again for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was a really good stay. You get free soft drinks throughout your stay and they let us order a takeaway to the downstairs area. The doors are extremely annoying with an alarm going off if it's left open for more than five seconds, these are the bedroom doors as we'll so not good when people are sleeping. It would have all been great if it wasn't for one member of staff insisting that I wasn't staying in the hostel and trying to get me to leave at 1 in the morning. I was sat on the couches and he came over saying how people who were not staying had to be gone by a certain time so I said how I was staying. Then he came over again about half an hour later saying I know your not staying here but bla bla bla and I was like I can show you my room card! So it made me feel somewhat upset. Breakfast was a good selection although the lady who made our pancakes was ill so it put me off a bit. But overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joxlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B, General Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and our free soft drinks ! The alarm only goes off if the door is not closed properly, this is a security to make sure the doors are closed and your belongings safe. We are sorry for the misunderstanding with one of our staff member, he thought you were with one of our staff members as you all came back from a concert together, sorry for the confusion and the inconvenience. We hope to see you back in Travel Joy !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safestay
#15 of 837 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Property: Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Address: 111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Joy Hostels is a relaxed and chilled-out hostel which focuses on personal service.We are the only London hostel overlooking the river. We are extremely centrally located between Chelsea and The Houses of Parliament.We provide free tea/coffee/soft drinks to residents at all times, free linen/towels, free earplugs, Wi-Fi in the entire building and free continental breakfast. There are no hidden costs.There is bicycle dock and a 24 hour bus outside the door that goes every ten minutes to Victoria Station, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square, Soho, Oxford Street and Camden.We have a Thai and European restaurant on site and a tour and theatre tickets desk.We have PC's in the lounge area which can be accessed for a small fee.Our large bar below the hostel is a great place to relax and socialise. Our building offers all modern facilities and guests can feel very safe and comfortable.Our check-in time is from 14:00 - 23.30. If you are early you can leave your luggage in our secure luggage storage area. Check-out is 11:00 with breakfast from 07:30 - 10:30.We can assure you that your stay with Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea will be enjoyable and relaxing and give you a wonderful taste of Central London.We also have Salsa Classes on Wednesdays, an Open Mic Night on Fridays and Live Music on Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing