We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Soho” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean Street Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dean Street Townhouse
Ranked #135 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel in Soho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is on a busy street in the heart of London. Soho is a busy and exciting part of town near Chinatown and the theater district. It is in the middle of it all. We arrived mid day and were escorted to our room by a friendly member of the staff. She showed us around, made us a cappuccino and provided milk for my 2.5 year old daughter. We immediately felt at home. The room was small but the bed was large. That night we snuggled in and watched one of the children's dvds the receptionist provided. She also brought my daughter some milk and cookies and coffee for us. It was so thoughtful! The bath was stocked with fine products and an amazing waterfall shower. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiestaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    125
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
283
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was the most disappointing stay I've had in a hotel all year... but only because I had to check out after one short night! Arriving from Paris on a bitterly cold late afternoon, I was thrilled to find such a cosy room. The shape was a bit odd, with a long corridor, but the space had been used in an imaginative way. The best feature was the bathroom - classy black and white tiles, underfloor heating and an enormous shower capable of holding about 10 people (which I expect it has on several occasions, given the Soho location..). There were also numerous lovely "Cow Shed" products to choose from, including - I think - 5 different shower gels! The bed was also a delight; the kind that you sink into and never want to leave. Sadly, leave was what I had to do very early the next morning. Sigh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin and Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My first time at the town house after a much anticipated wait over the years! We went for brunch on NYD and were not let down by the service, food or atmosphere in this upmarket ( open to all) hotel restaurant & bar. It's often very busy so book in advance, NYD was like a gale so thankfully we got a table with ease. The brunch was well presented, tasty and well priced for location & experience. Brunch for 2 £42 with juice and coffee ( really good coffee). If your not a Londoner this is an experience you must attend to me it highlights the best bits about city living and it's worth every penny! Thank you Dean Street town house, we will be back and remember to book next time! <3

Room Tip: We did not stay, this review is for Brunch ONLY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank short-life-big-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I have been here on many occasions, luckily. Plus I have been here for business lunches and we also visit with our three children. We booked the private dining room for my husbands 40th also as we love it. Thee food is always gorgeous, drinks good, its quite laid back, the staff are good, and the atmosphere is always good. It's good service in a fab location, I've had most things on the menu, their roast is very good! The hotel is also wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietGsear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I just spent 4 glorious nights at the Dean Street Townhouse in the midst of busy Soho in London. I have been to London many times but have never stayed right smack in the middle of Central London. Dean Street Townhouse was a perfect hotel to do so. The hotel is on super busy Dean Street, chock full of restaurants and pubs, a few blocks from many of the West End theaters and adjacent to the best shopping in London with Oxford and Regent Streets nearby. The hotel itself is charming, cozy and beautifully decorated in a traditional English style. This trip the hotel was particularly beautiful with the elegant tasteful holiday decorations and a gorgeous giant ginger bread house in the lobby. The rooms are perfectly appointed. If you opt for the larger medium or larger rooms you will be pleasantly surprised how spacious and comfortable they are, with large bathrooms, full sized showers and stocked with Cow Shed products. The crowning glory of this hotel is the Dean Street cafe/restaurant downstairs. It's one of the most popular in Central London, with a smattering of local celebrities, good food and a chic ambience. Best yet the restaurant provides room service to the hotel rooms. It was perfect to have my delicious English breakfast delivered to my room. The kicker with the rooms is that they are totally tech current with high def TV, on demand and satellite service, I-Pod and radio music systems and easy to use dimmer lighting systems to create just the right mood you're looking for. My room was in the rear of the premises and it was surprisingly quiet. With the help of the blackout curtains and luxe bed I slept like a baby. I love this place and prefer it to many of the hight end hotels in London.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a medium room, preferably in the rear of the premises for a larger quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLehmanEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice and almost cosy hotel. Depending on the category of room you book you get what you pay for. A nice touch - the bathroom is equipped with everything you may need - everything ! Atmosphere is nice and cosy. What was not so good ? The staff was a bit confused upon arrival and departure - struggling with the IT system and what to do in general. Without this quite perfect for a small hotel to stay in in London.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at Townhouse in late November for just 2 nights and didn't want to leave. The room we booked was a large double with a bathtub, separate rain shower and was everything and more than expected. What makes this hotel special is the detail. From the homemade cookies in your room, to the relaxing lounge area at the back of the hotel lobby, with coffee, tea and fresh fruits provided. The hotel decor is traditional English and feels just like you're at home (in luxury living). We didnt get the chance to dine in the restaurant, but we did sample the cocktails while sitting on the outside terrace watching the world go by (awesome cocktails). The vibe is buzzing and central to the nightlife in Soho if that's what you're looking for. This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in London and will return for another pampering on my next visit. The hotel staff are all very hospitable, friendly and will make you feel welcome - they definitely go beyond their call of duty and feels very personable and natural. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skarletdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#163 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#338 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Street Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Street Townhouse

Property: Dean Street Townhouse
Address: 69 - 71 Dean Street, London W1D 4QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dean Street Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Dean Street Townhouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing