We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, excellent service”
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #22 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning hotel, excellent service”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I arranged only one night at the Arch for my wife's birthday although i wish we had stayed longer. I've stayed in some of the world's best hotels and this ranks right up there with them. Every feature in the room was of the highest quality, from the bed linen to the bath products. I could not fault a single thing. The staff were extremely polite, courteous and attentive, the decor stunning, the facilities first rate. I couldn't reccommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaminp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Thank you very much for posting such a great review and for trusting us with such an important date. I am delighted that you rank us so highly and I very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    237
    55
    7
    10
See reviews for
260
738
106
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in Novemeber 2010. Fantastic location, just minutes from Oxford Street. I can not fault this hotel, we were warmly greeted by the reception staff and received a surprise upgrade to a deluxe room. The decor throughout the hotel is fresh ,cosy and appeares very well maintained. The bed was exceptionally comfortable,all in all the room was beautiful and very quiet. We had a both lunch and bar food in the restuarant, food was tasty and good value. The bar is very cosy with small intimate areas if you wish to use them. All the staff we met have the perfect balance of friendliness without being over familiar. We will definately stay at the Arch again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliemac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review. I am delighted that you enjoyed every part of your stay and we now look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Stayed at the Arch for 2 nights for my 40th Birthday March 2011. We asked for deluxe king room at back of hotel as thought it would be quieter and it was (Room 105)- a perfect nights sleep for central London. The room was decent size - very warm, but with the air con on lowest setting it was better and not too intrusive to sleep - although bathroom was still incredibly warm! Reception staff were very helpful and also the concierge guys were very quick at conjuring up a taxi when required. Only ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was not cheap - but normal price for London. Very good choice and a lovely fresh fruit salad. - hot breakfast cooked to order and was very nice. Can't really fault this hotel - all the decor looked new and very clean and the martini lounge is lovely place to relax after a hard day shopping/sightseeing. Also the hotel is ideally placed just a couple of minutes walk from Oxford Street and Marble Arch tube station. This is not a budget hotel in London but for a special occasion is everything it should be.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison310371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and I am delighted that we were able to help make your 40th birthday so enjoyable. It is always great to hear that we were able to meet expectations and I am so pleased that you have a perfect night's sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Arch for your next occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
321 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 761 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed for four days in March at The Arch Hotel. We chose The Arch for its proximity to Oxford Street shopping, restaurants, tube station, and for the good restaurant in the hotel where we could eat if we were jetlagged. It took us about 25 minutes on a chill Sunday morning to wheel our suitcases on wide and level sidewalks from Paddington station to Great Cumberland Place. We were delighted to find we were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room where we slept off our jetlag.

Check-in/Check-out
Despite our arriving at about 10:45 a.m., we were given a room right away. A staff member gave us a tour of the hotel, ending at our room #207 where our bags were waiting for us. On the day we left, we were allowed to check out at 1:30, an extra hour and a half, even though another party would be occupying our room.

Location
Marble Arch is only a few blocks away, visible at the end of Great Cumberland Place. The hotel is within a few blocks of two wonderful places to eat: Zayna Pakistani Restaurant and La Masseria Apulian Delicatessen. The latter provided a delicious variety for breakfast/brunch. The Arch is also near The Grazing Goat where we had breakfast and we do not recommend (half-hearted service, rock music for breakfast).

Room
The Arch provides a bit more luxury than we're used to getting. We enjoyed the variety of channels including channels with dramas and popular films on the plasma TV in the room and in the bathroom. The waterproof TV screen and remote in the bathtub were an interesting novelty. Soft drinks in the mini-bar were gratis, and they were replenished every morning. They left an adaptor in the wall for other countries' plugs. The room was of adequate size with a large bathroom three or four steps higher than the room. The room looked out over the backs of three-storey apartments that were at least neatly kept (see photo).

Quiet enjoyment
The room and the halls were quiet, and we always got a good sleep. We only heard the occasional door slam. We noted that the carpets were soft when we used the stairs instead of the lift to go up and down two floors.

Restaurant
We feel it is a luxury to have a good restaurant in our hotel because we so often find ourselves at the hotel during unexpected times of day. We found that HUNter486 is an excellent breakfast, lunch, and dinner restaurant with a good menu of well-prepared food in pleasant atmosphere.

Extras
When we left the wind and cold on the street, we walked into a very welcome rush of hot air at the front door and immediately came back to life. It must be expensive to maintain such a hot air curtain at the entrance, but it was much appreciated. The library and a waiting room were well-decorated and warmed by gas fireplaces. We were offered a newspaper every morning, but we declined it. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. We never used the library (see photo), but we could see it provided a quiet sanctuary to enjoy a cup of tea and relax.

Wi-fi
Wi-fi was free, but the signal was constantly low, probably because we were not close to a router. Sometimes the signal was not strong enough for us to use Skype.

Service
Hotel and restaurant staff were friendly, professional, and helpful. They froze our ice pack and brought it quickly to reception when we checked out.

We felt The Arch provided a good value and a level of comfort a little higher than what we're used to. But it's easy to get used to the comforts of The Arch.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for posting such an honest and comphrensive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and it was our pleasure to help make your stay in London so enjoyable. We have investigated the wifi issue to see if the router is indeed experiencing a problem as this should not have been the case. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Arch when you are next in London and providing you with those levels of comfort that we all deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Having stayed in many different hotels in London, this has become my favourite. Great location, fantastic service good value if you can get an offer. What really stands out is the real attention to detail which makes it a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhockeysticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for posting such a great review. I am delighted that we have become your favourite hotel in London and that you appreciate all the little touches we consider so important here at the Arch London. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Service has to be the best selling point of this centrally located 5-star establishment. Everything was excellent. The food quality is above anything I've tried recently in London. The executive suite was spacious, inviting, quiet and perfect for a romantic getaway. Loved the Champagne Bar lounge and Library lounge ... this is London's best-kept secret!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingBill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service above all and I have passed on your comments about the food to the Chef and his team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Conveniently located for central London attractions. We booked through Expedia with the hotel offering special rates for the weekend of our stay. It was easy to find and upon are arrival and although we had not pre-booked parking thankfully our car was taken and parked for us without delay. The room was spacious and well laid out. The bed was very comfortable and there was an option of pillows. The bathroom was well equipped with twin basins, a bidet and even a television to watch whilst in the bath. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for posting the review on your recent visit. I am delighted that we were able to look after you so well and that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#47 of 1,069 in London
2,831 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#9 of 1,069 in London
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,202 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#25 of 1,069 in London
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Property: The Arch London
Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing