We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but could do with less confusion”
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #20 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad, but could do with less confusion”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Ideally, this review would be a 3.5. The hotel is modern and our room on the 5th floor was great, especially because we could open the windows. Soft drinks from the mini bar are complimentary and the Nespresso machine is a nice touch. Bathroom was large, unfortunately it had a tub shower instead of a walk-in, but it was manageable. What was a bit disappointing is that the room was not ready at 4pm, although check-in is supposed to be available after 2 or 3pm. It means that someone had a late check-out which we were denied when we asked for it. We had prepaid the visit or, rather thought we had and when we checked in, the front desk confirmed that we had prepaid. When we checked out, the pre-pay was confirmed again. Later that night, they sent an email saying we had modified the booking (we which we had not done) and that the room had therefore not been prepaid. We then had to contact the Small Luxury Hotels group and spent half a day sorting everything out with them. We had asked that the hotel send us a confirmation that all had been settled, but that email never came. Also at check-out, we were not asked whether we had enjoyed the stay and no review forms were available, so they have to find out about our impressions here in a public forum. As we had to rush out of the room since they would not give us a late check-out (in spite of being SLH members), and left the luggage with the relevant people who handed us the stubs for later reclaim. We then went out and returned to the hotel where our limo was waiting for us, but the luggage people brought out only 2 out of 4 bags. This created some tension because we were told that we didn't have the proper stubs for the other 2 bags which contained our travel documents and laptops. Since blame was assigned to us instead of the person who had not provided enough stubs, the departure was not a happy one. Once again, the problem was the service and we are now getting a bit cautious with SLH member hotels as we had experienced a true disaster at the snobby Villa Castagnola in Lugano in August.

Room Tip: Our executive room was good and had three decent-sized windows (including one in the bathroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiandYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

On this occasion we did not meet with the high standards that I expect of my team. We have discussed your feedback and I do believe that my team have leant from it. I am grateful for your post as we are always striving to improve.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    230
    53
    7
    9
See reviews for
245
717
101
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bjarred
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Spent four nights and was a pleasant stay. staff and hotel were top flight What was important was the quiet room even though it was on the street side of the building.Rooms were fresh and clean. Did not try the food for dinner but the breakfast was very good and worth the cost

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

What a joy to read and thank you for commenting about your experience.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at The Arch for one night and it exceeded all of our expectations. We booked a deluxe room which had a very comfortable bed and great quirky features such as a TV in the bathroom, complimentary soft drinks, free Wi-Fi, Sky Tv, Travel Adapter & a Coffee Machine. It is fantastically located - only a few minutes walk to Marble Arch tube station. The service is fantastic and the interior design is beautiful. I will definitely be staying here again next time I am in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

To comment that we exceeded all your expectations is wonderful and I am very proud of my team for doing so.

We are all excited to have you stay with us again.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I'm a very picky traveler with a limited budget. Although this property isn't for those on a very tight budget it is everything you could ask for. Very comfortable, clean, excellent service, great location, etc. I am usually pretty hard on properties considering my background in the industry but I must say this property exceeded my expectations all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viningsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

You felt that your stay was outstanding and we are all so pleased to read. I do hope I can personally welcome you to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Grant Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Checked in and given a nice room on top floor. Next day given an upgrade. Room was very large (508) with a very large bathroom. Room was quiet with double pane glass. Tub had a TV so that you could soak and view TV. Mirror was heated so that it did not fog when showering. Hotel is small and modern. It had everything. Nice bar and small restraurant (very nice breakfast). Free high speed wifi, free soft drinks and bottled water in mini bar. Free Nespresso Coffee and Jing Tea. HD TV. Bed very comfortable. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Theo was trully outstanding in guiding us to restraurants and getting us to our destination on the under ground - he made our week in London wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 508 faces street but no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

Our heated bathroom mirrors are our little secret!
Your comments make me smile today so thank you for making my day.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Arch (where I have stayed maybe 10 times this year) provides a bespoke hotel experience in a very convenient location close to Marble Arch/Mayfair. Very good service with a creative kitchen and extremely helpful staff, a very pleasant place to stay. I have occasionally stayed in the basement, but the natural light restriction is more than compensated by the all-round experience of the hotel’s more positive aspects.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlasdairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

One of our regulars and it is great to have you back as usual. We know your travel widely so thank you for being so honest and for commenting about our service.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed 7 days. This was our fourth stay at the hotel in the past few years and it was just as enjoyable. It's located less than 5 minute walk to the Marble Arch Tube and a lot of bus routes that can take you to a lot of places with less walking. (The Tube is great to get somewhere fast, but there's a lot of walking underground). While there is the hustle and bustle of Oxford street (lots of people and traffic) as you walk down the Great Cumberland Place towards the hotel the hustle and bustle dissipated. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor and it was great. The bed was very comfortable. We also enjoyed the included pop drinks and expresso. Our room overlooked the street and was very quiet at all times of the night. We had breakfast and a couple of late night dinners at Hunters (the hotel's restaurant). The food was tasty and the service was friendly and obliging. The hotel was a nice, cosy place to get back to after our day-long treks in London. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant_powell, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest

We love to have our regulars come back time after time. Thank you for your comments. Sharing your experiences to other travellers who may be unsure if they wish to stay at the hotel is greatly appreciated.

Regards

Grant Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Property: The Arch London
Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing