We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #20 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in this hotel for two nights. Wish it had been longer. From the moment we pulled up the staff at this hotel when above and beyond service. This hotel is in a perfect location for transport, shops, restaurants, bars. The hotel is beautiful, the room a very good size and decorated beautifully. The room was exceptionally clean, beautiful linen, very quiet and our room was facing the street, not a sound. Turn down service of an evening, just wonderful. Espresso machine which was a blessing. They have thought of everything at this hotel. The small touches to everything was first class.

The reception staff, all of them, were just so professional and friendly. Very knowledgeable of the area. Our hire car was ready on departure and check out so quick. I cannot rate this hotel enough, we cannot wait to go back and visit. Well done.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel, so quiet. I would say all rooms are equal. You cannot go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theresa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear teresat,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we all are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Arch especially reading how much you enjoyed the people here and the service at the hotel.

Please come and visit us soon again.

With warmest personal regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    230
    53
    7
    9
See reviews for
245
717
101
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not only are the hotel staff efficient, professional and friendly, but they go that extra mile to ensure your comfort. It is not so big, so you cannot get 'lost' in the crowd. The rooms are excellent, with that added extra touch that always pleases. Extremely comfortable beds, modern décor, and very restful, with excellent bathroom facilities. Wonderful restaurant and also a very good location. Quiet too!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PENHILL MANOR T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Penhill Manor T,

Thank you for the lovely review, your support is noted and much appreciated and I am hoping to meet you personally on your next visit to The Arch London.

Thank you for staying with us.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent Hotel, very nice room size and bathroom amenities. Other hotel facilities good, staff friendly and helpful. Just a little out the way from West End and no airconditioning. It was pretty hot this summer. Would def go back however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Craig W,

Thank you for the nice review.

The Air-conditioning is back on track and I apologise for the little glitch we had on Monday - its lovely and cool everywhere now!

Please come back soonest.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The Arch was the perfect hotel for us. My husband had to work and it was my first time in London. I loved the location.. It is a little hidden - so not in the middle of all the noise. Very close to the Tube, bus tours and Selfridges. The staff was wonderful and helped me every morning with a map and where to go. Breakfast was included and was presented beautifully in the restaurant. I would definitely recommend and would go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank atltravelgirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear attravelgirl35,

Wow what a nice review. - really thrilled you enjoyed the service and location of The Arch.

Thank you for your support and please let me know personally whenever you are planning to return.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When you are staying in a 5* hotel in London you have certain expectations and it is silly to repeat what those expectations are, but it is safe to say all of them were met.

What I did not expect from a hotel that is a few metres away from Marble Arch (one of London's busiest road junctions if you don't know) is how quiet the room was. Also we stayed here on one of the hottest nights of the year and the room was blissfully cool with a near silent air conditioner keeping the room a small oasis.

The staff were excellent. Friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculately clean. The facilities were beyond what we would hope for. The bar comfortable and relaxed.

I am not going to gripe about the cost as what can you expect for a single Friday night that close to the centre of London? We would certainly choose to come again as the Marylebone area is a great location and has a unique village feel about it a mere stone's throw from the crowds of Oxford Street etc.

Room Tip: We had room that faced away from the road (109). This did not give a view of any note but was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagfcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tagfcuk,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

I was pleased to hear the service aspect of the hotel matched and exceeded your expectations and that you liked the location of the Arch. Being so close to Marble Arch and Hyde Park is a big advantage and a lot of guests comment on the central location of the Hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and please come back again.

With warmest regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at quite a lot of hotels across the world, and understand that in some cities standard hotel rooms are smaller and less luxurious and in some they are opulent. London hotels on the contrary have smaller standard rooms than most places. The Arch however is super refreshing, they put attention into every single detail, from the phone handset, the bed, the water and juices and all the way to the bath and decor. I've stayed at bigger, more better known hotels in London, and The Arch does it better everywhere, even with customer service. The only qualm I would have is their reluctance to extend the checkout without charging a fee which is a bit uninviting but nevertheless the stay was fantastic and I love the hotel. Super refreshing! :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear SaadE,

Thank you for the great feedback, we all love the title of your review!

Please do let me know personally whenever you are planning to return to The arch, I would be delighted to assist you in any way I can.

With warmest regards and thank you for your support,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was my third time staying at The Arch hotel over as many years, which in itself conveys that I am generally a fan of this hotel. However, I must say the service levels have declined somewhat since my last visit about 18 months ago. My partner and I stayed for 9 days in July 2014 on a combination business/holiday trip. First the positives. The hotel condition has been maintained at a high standard. It's difficult to find any fault with the cleanliness, the decor, or the furnishings. We had a deluxe room, which while a bit on the small side for 9 nights, was very well appointed and well looked after by the staff. In particular, we enjoyed some of the smaller unique touches not always found in similar hotels including the television in the shower/bath combination, the fogless mirror in the bathroom, the window that opened to allow the fresh air into the room, and the full selection of Sky television channels available. The room also had a working refrigerator (truly a minibar which we emptied and used for our own beverages without charge), excellent water pressure in the shower (not always a given in London!), very effective climate control and a comfortable bed. The first night I found the pillows too firm, but one request to reception and all was corrected the next morning. My main criticisms are unfortunately directed toward the service, which was not my experience during past stays. The front desk and door staff were, in my view, a bit inconsistent. Some were excellent---which is what I had come to expect---and others were distant, difficult to communicate with or at times seemed completely uninterested in providing guests with a welcoming experience. I would chalk it up to timing (few of us can be cheerful and helpful every moment of every day), if I had not felt the same way repeatedly for the length of my stay. Another inconsistency was with the breakfast service. While the breakfast room and continental buffet was consistently pristine and the service was extremely professional at 6:45 am, it seemed completely chaotic by 9:45 am. Tables were not set. Several items were out of stock on the buffet. Every item (butter, a spoon, glasses, cream for the coffee) seemed to require another pointed request to the servers, who seemed to be running around a bit disorganized and overwhelmed. Again, I would have probably chalked this experience up to timing as well if I had not seen it several days in a row. My primary disappointment, however, was again staff related when I was continually denied the benefits of my Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH) membership. While The Arch is a member of this group, they are clearly not enthusiastic about affording members the benefits of the programme. I was denied a room upgrade at check-in unless I was willing to pay for it and was also charged a late check-out fee incorrectly because the front desk staff did not bother to look up my membership information and see that late check-out should have been complementary. (To their credit, the manager did waive the fee, but my disappointment lies in the fact that it was necessary for me to complain to have my benefits recognized.) Once home and organising the receipts from my business trip, I noticed my SLH room rate was to have come with a "complementary cocktail and a stylish welcome gift," neither of which were provided. I suggest anyone expecting special treatment through the SLH programme pay close attention to the benefits associated with your stay and bring them to the hotel's attention or you may not receive them. Overall, The Arch remains a very good hotel in my view, but I suggest more focus be put on service levels and improving the customer experience in order to bring it to the next level.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2SunSeekers2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear 2SunSeekers2014,

Thank you for having taken the time to compose your detailed feedback. With fears competition in London, the team and I appreciate the two of you returning to stay with us and I wanted to let you know that your support is noted and appreciated.

I am pleased that many aspects of your visit went well however can also see that you experienced a few inconsistencies on the way for which I am genuinely sorry.

"Small Luxury Hotel Honoured Member" bookings are hugely important to us and I can promise you that we can make your next visit memorable and perfect for all the right reasons.

You will probably have noticed that I have e-mailed you today and would appreciate to get an opportunity to talk to you personally.

With warmest regards and thank you again for staying with us,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Property: The Arch London
Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing