We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL”
Review of The Arch London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Arch London
Ranked #22 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of london. Close to shopping, restaurants and transportation yet the location is peaceful, & quiet.

The Manager Beccy Gunn and all her staff are exceptional. They make you feel very welcome and you can truly say it is like being home away from home. They help you in every way they can, way beyond what is expected of them. They try their best to make your stay a memorable one. - Exceptional service.

The room is lovely and has everything you could really think of , the bed is very comfortable, it really makes you have a good night's rest after a long day of going around town. The food and service in the restaurant is great , the pancakes are awesome and the bacon are really , really good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Thank you for posting a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, recommend our breakfasts and were made to feel so at home in the hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you back “home” to The Arch London again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

An excellent hotel - if you are prepared to pay for this kind of quality, don't hesitate to book! The best night's sleep in a hotel for a long time achieved here.

Just a couple of niggles - sometimes the technology is too complicated - its great to have a radio by the bedside, but it is almost impossible to operate without consulting a instruction manual printed off for guests, and the TV in the bathroom didn't seem to work.

High speed wireless internet included in the price - other hoteliers please take note!

I'm aiming to return asap!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Thank you for leaving a review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. I note your comments concerning the technology and will address them! I look forward to welcoming you back to The Arch London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We had a weekend away in London without the children. This hotel lived up to our expectations. The room was slightly on the compact size but still beautiful and immaculate. We usually stay in The Soho hotel and wanted to save a bit of a money. We weren't disappointed. And a great central location. We walked to Maylebone in the evening where there is a great selection of restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tip2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Thank you for leaving a review, I am delighted to note that you decided to try The Arch vs. your usual London Hotel and that we did not disappoint! Our building was originally seven Georgian townhouses, each one of our bedrooms is different in terms of layout, size and design. We hope to see you again next time you are in town, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team for assistance with selecting your preferred room size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed in The Arch London in mid August. This hotel was absoloutly super! The staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was fantastic, the first night we arrived we were very tired, so we decided to have room service....WOW!! this room service food was the best thing ever!! Fresh, hot and tasty. The bathroom amenties were also wonderful....There is so many fantastic things i could say about this hotel!! its great! luxurious, warm, friendly....just AWESOME!
Thankyou everyone for making it such a beautiful stay xx

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Thank you for posting a review, it is lovely to read that you were "wowed" by the hotel and particularly enjoyed the room service dining option. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Arch next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Recommended by a friend I decided to give the Arch a try on a recent business trip to London, i didn't see what there was to lose given the outrageous pricing of many of the luxury hotels now in London.

My expectations were exceeded on all accounts - value, comfort, privacy, functionality. All were on a different level to the likes of the more well known business hotels such as the Berkley, Metropolitan, Four Seasons etc.

The room i was allocated (junior suite) was extremely spacious, had all the mod cons one needs (iPod dock/charger, free wireless internet/WiFi without the annoyance of trying to log-in to password protected networks etc). The room was even fitted with a fully enabled Sky box making catching up on the week's football an unexpected treat. I later found this is standard across all rooms.

The bed, always a major issue when staying at business hotels, was extremely comfortable, neither too hard nor too soft. Most definitely on a par, if not better, than the Westin Heavenly range.

The breakfast lounge and dining area were chic and cool, with a variety of spots covering more open seating areas to very private areas lending itself perfectly to more sensitive business conversations. Food itself was great, both the buffet and the ala carte menu - most definitely recommend the blueberry pancakes!

Service was solid and without any hitches - a pleasant surprise given it's often the Achilles heel of new hotels before they 'find their feet'. The Arch seemed to have these points covered from the outset.

The concept of 'home from home' around which the hotel is based, came across very subtly. Particularly the drawing room, decked out with huge, beautiful leather arm chairs and a vibe that allows the day's stresses to melt away, was a great way to chill out at the end of a long day.

All in all, a great little hotel that i'll definitely be using more in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yokozuna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for posting a review I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Arch and look forward to welcoming you back to your london "home" again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Second stay at the Arch and it only gets better. The warm welcome gets you started. The exquisite design of the rooms, luxurious bedding,T.V. in bathroom, internet radio and peaceful quiet in the middle of London, make it difficult to leave the room.
Breakfast and dinner and drinks at Hunter 486 are a must. Try the library for afternoon tea. Gym is atate of the art and a good place to walk if it's raining and you can't go off running in Hyde Park which is a minute away. Shops are around the corner as is the tube station. Can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank debzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

As a person who has stayed in 100's of hotels from 2 star to 5 star I have to say HANDS DOWN this is the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay at.

We had booked 3 nights here and unfortunately we were "bumped" from the airline from the states to London. I called immediately (11pm US, 4am London) to inform them of my disappointing turn of events. The staff couldn't have been more kind and did not charge me for the first night. That is ABOVE AND BEYOND and for that I am truly grateful.

Once we arrived in London it is a quick express train and tube stop hop away to Marble Arch station and then a 3 block walk to the hotel. Check in was easy and fast. Since we arrived so early our room wasn't ready, but we were told where the restrooms were so we could change. Easy enough, and our bags were kept in safe storage. Received accurate directions to the Imperial War Museum and enjoyed the afternoon sight seeing.

Returned to the hotel and our room was ready. GORGEOUS!! Simply magnificent. No detail was missed. Bed was comfy cozy, LOVED the free softdrink and juices, and the prices for the beer very reasonable. Used the complimentary slippers, but not the robe (I am not a robe girl) however they looked very plush.

Want to relax and watch a TV, you have over 500 channels! We were able to watch US Sunday Night Football. Plethora of choices. And if you couldn't find anything to your liking, just get a DVD from the Oscar Winning library. Or log on to your computer for FREE. And you have the US conversion right there at the desk. Doesn't get any better.

As a self proclaimed "girly girl" this bathroom was perfect. Plenty of counter space, great lighted magnifying mirror, Babyliss professional hairdryer, cotton swabs, q-tips, everything you needed was supplied. And the shower, SUBLIME!! Fabulous water pressure and don't forget the TV or the heated towel rack!!

Sleep was very peaceful. Quiet street with zero noise from the street or the hotel hallway. Never saw housekeeping, but I know they were there doing an AMAZING job. Room was always spotless when we returned. And I loved the little lighted info buttons by the door for housekeeping/do not disturb/ bellman. Like I said no detail overlooked!

Nice continental breakfast in morning. Not too heavy, just enough to give you a good start to the day.

The staff at The Arch are fantastic. Very informative and helpful but not overbearing or pretentious. Warm welcome when you walk in everytime. Front desk arranged for an express check-out and car service to St. Pancras station for our Eurostar early departure.

I could go on an on for days about how much I loved this hotel, but you get the point. We will be returning to London again and I guarantee I will be staying at The Arch London Hotel.

Pro's
EVERYTHING. But for a 5 star hotel to offer fantastic weekend rates, free minibar, free internet, and graciously not charging for my first day cancellation -- you couldn't find a better place anywhere!

Con's
NOTHING. If you forced me to say anything it would be that the drain in the tub was a tad slow but it didn't leave much lingering water. See, I forced myself to come up with a con and it is pitiful at best.

BTW, about 1 1/2 blocks over is an Indian/Pakistan Restaurant called Zayna's. Excellent food. Delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccyGunn, General Manager at The Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for leaving a review we are honoured to be your "Favourite Hotel of All Time" high praise indeed! We look forward to welcoming you back to your new London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,481 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,077 in London
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch London

Address: 50 Great Cumberland Place | Marble Arch, London W1H 7FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#12 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £245 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arch Hotel London is a luxury lifestyle hotel just a stone’s throw from Marble Arch, Marylebone and the West End. Spanning 7 Georgian townhouses, this urban hideaway offers a unique combination of English heritage and contemporary style. With 82 individually designed guestrooms and an inspiring restaurant and bar, The Arch London provides the best in comfort and service with Free Internet Access and complimentary soft drinks mini bar in every room. Imaginative British art, rich fabrics, colours and honest, hearty food, add to the spirit of this creative new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing