We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakley Hotel
Ranked #271 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not the ritz, but for this price in the heart of chelsea you absolutely can not complain.

The host was so accommodating, friendly - much more than I was expecting.

The bed was super comfortable and my room was quiet, despite being on a roadside. I didn't wake once!

Shower was hot, room was clean, loads of amazing eateries a very short walk away.

The two closest tube stops are about 15 minutes away, but the walk is so beautiful you don't notice.

Would definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rassypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleyhotel, Owner at Oakley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write this lovely review. As you say we are not a Chelsea Boutique Hotel but I do work hard to make sure my guests have a comfortable stay. We have a lot of returning guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    16
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
34
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very good location in Chelsea, and reasonably easy to find. Parking is an utter nightmare (see tips below for good overnight spot)

The room was a dated conversion with only the very basics for a 1 night stay. Comfortable bed, good TV, en suite shower and very quiet. No tea/coffee, toiletries etc.

A good bolt hole to return to after a night out, and convenient for Stamford Bridge/Chelsea harbour, King's Road etc.

Room Tip: Parking: I parked on Lordship Place (behind Carlyle's House) free between 6:30pm and 8:30am. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleyhotel, Owner at Oakley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank for taking the time to write a review. I agree we are a budget hotel set in an extremely expensive area and are definitely not a posh Chelsea Boutique Hotel. I would like to point out we do provide 24 hour free tea and coffee in the guests kitchen and apologise if this was not pointed out to you on check in. We have an information sheet regarding parking in the area but agree it is difficult, although easier on the other side of the nearby Albert Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Great location for this budget hotel in a lovely area of London. Clean rooms and a brilliant breakfast. And thank you to Kate for her friendly help in finding our way around London. Will come again a real find!

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are good value as only slightly more cost than a standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The location is fantastic, right in heart of London and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I have stayed at the Oakley a few times and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when I am in London. The breakfast is fantastic and a good excuse to get up and not sleep in through the holiday. I have recommended this quaint hotel to everyone I know going to London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed with my daughter at this hotel. Upon arrival, our room was adequate. However, there was no bar soap in the bathroom (only hand washing soap), 2 ratty towels in the bathroom, and no wash cloth even provided. Just adding a few inexpensive basics would have made this a much nicer stay. Shampoo, conditioner (in travel sizes) and bar soap just aren't that expensive. Wash cloths should be a given. We did have 2 decent towels at the foot of our beds but we had to ask for more toilet paper. Just more attention to the basics would have made this worth the stay. We do thank you for reducing our room rate but this wouldn't have happened if my daughter hadn't persisted about the cable tv not working.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleyhotel, Owner at Oakley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
This review is for the same stay as the review below. Please see my response there. I do provide the basics for a budget hotel stay. We are not a luxury hotel but provide comfortable, cheap accommodation in the most expensive area in London. I have never been provided with washcloths in a budget hotel in the UK but I do provide towels and soap, friendly staff and a good cooked breakfast (included)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed in this hotel after having found it in a French guidebook. Our room was dirty. No shampoo was provided. We didn't have Wifi access in our room. The cable for the TV in our room did not work either. The neighborhood is very charming, though (keep in mind that the hotel is about a 10-minute bus ride from the nearest Tube stop, Sloane Square). I would only stay here if you really can't afford something a little bit nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleyhotel, Owner at Oakley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in my hotel. I take my guests’ comfort seriously and we have many guests who return again and again. I do stress the importance of cleanliness to my staff and the rooms are cleaned daily and are spring cleaned regularly. The staff would have willingly cleaned the room if they had been told you found it dirty. This room will be thoroughly spring cleaned tomorrow.

I think we are great value at £42.50 per person, including a cooked breakfast. We are the only budget hotel in the expensive upmarket Chelsea area (other hotels charge over £200 for a room for 2). As such we provide soap and towels, but not shampoo (and don't say we do). We also do not provide wi-fi in the rooms but do have free wi-fi in the guest lounge (most hotels charge for this service).
I do apologise the TV did not work well. However we did reduce your room price for your inconvenience. I do appreciate that some guests expect more from a Chelsea hotel as it is an exclusive area and this hotel is not for guests wanting a luxurious stay. However many guests appreciate my hotel for the budget rooms, friendly staff, good travel advice and being able to use the guests’ kitchen and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We enjoyed out stay at Oakley Hotel, mainly because we were able to stay in such a fabulous area - without the cost of a modern boutique hotel. It is definitely more of a Budget Hotel, as it is situated in an older, non-modernised building, but we enjoyed its old worldly charm and the great (free) breakfasts! From our personal experience we found the hotel clean, and the staff could be seen each morning doing their cleaning duties. If you can handle rustic charm, then I thoroughly recommend this hotel....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3! It is a good size and has a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#457 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#244 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#535 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#23 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Caring Hotel
#507 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Marylebone
Marble Arch Inn
Marble Arch Inn
#349 of 573 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hotel

Property: Oakley Hotel
Address: 73 Oakley Street | Chelsea, London SW3 5HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing