We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartment 17
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
9
9
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in the first floor apt. for 3 nights between Xmas and New Year's. We had intended to stay at Sian's other London property, Kennington B&B (excellent B&B!), but it was full for our dates. The apt. turned out to be a good choice since we did not have to get a 2d room when our daughter and her wife were able to join us. It was convenient to the tube and a nice space, and very quiet at night. The bathroom was very good sized, and the large windows in the living room let in lots of light. The washer/dryer combo is kind of quirky but it did work. All in all, it was a very clean, comfortable, peaceful place to come home to and nice to have a kitchen. The owner, Sian, was there to greet us at the appointed time and explain everything, and we were glad to see her again. Apartment 17 is a bargain if you have more than 2 people, you get an apt. for the same price as one B&B room. (Although it is a smallish space for 4 adults, and you have to go through the bedroom to get to the bathroom.) Since we like and trust Sian after both of our London experiences, we are hoping someday to be able to stay at one of her Berlin apts., her decoration and use of space in both Apartment 17 and Kennington B&B are very pleasant and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the first floor apt. It was clean and spacious. Huge bathroom with a bath. Great kitchen and washer dryer. The owner was so lovely and let us in early. The location was superb the station is just around the corner as are two supermarkets. You can even walk to oxford st to take in the area. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolksonntoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our family (3 adults and a 2 year-old toddler) stayed on the top floor of Apartment 17 for 6 days while we were in London. We have absolutely no regret for our choice!

The booking process was not very smooth, though partly because of our change of schedule. All was done by email and the owners were helpful and try to cater our need as much as they could.

The heater system was out of order the first day we arrived and the weather was very cold. The problem was thought to be caused by the previous guest that might have pressed the wrong buttons. Fortunately, Sian was very kind and arrange servicing to fix the problem within the first few hours after we arrived.

The room was cosy, neat and appropriately decorated (It's near Christmas!). The kitchen was full functional with all the utensils that you would need to prepare a nice meal. They also provided oil, salt, pepper... so no need to buy yourself for just a fews days trip. The room is not big, but what do you expect in an excellent location in Central London?

The location is excellent. It is in zone 1 and within 5 minutes walk to Marylebone tube and train stations. Tesco is very close by and you can buy anything you need to prepare a nice dinner in the apartment. We had a 2 year-old toddler and it was winter time so we stayed in the apartment for dinner for a few nights. There were also a number of restaurants, cheese shop and a Mark & Spenser in the train station. Very convenient.

All in all, Apartment 17 is a very good place to stay in while you are in London. We had a great time and I will surely consider to stay here again next time when I travel to London. I would also recommend my friends to stay in this apartment when they travel to London!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sir_Pork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Apartment 17 was just what we were looking for to live in London and feel like a local. I give Apartment 17 3 stars because it is just that, an average apartment in the heart of London. Also, being without washer for 2 weeks and waking up before 6am for the repair man without parts was unexpected, but still the part of living in London when there is no parking available later on in the day. We would still stay here again though if given the chance.

There are 2 separate apartments to Apartment 17. The 17 is the address (17 Harewood). There is a first floor (which we Americans call the second floor) and the second or top floor (which we Americans call the third floor). We stayed in both. There is no Elevator, so be able to climb the steep stairs. It can only be a struggle if you have a lot of luggage.

The owner Sian (pronounced Shawn), was wonderful and always trying to make sure we were enjoying our stayed. She went above and beyond. We arrived to a broken washer/dryer, and she did everything possible to have her or her cleaning woman (Inga) take care of our laundry. Inga, she means well and is soooo friendly, but keep her away from your clothes! She ruined multiple expensive garments. A nice gift from Sian was a pleasent attempt to make up for all the tears and holes, and she took extra care personally after that to wash our clothes until the washer was fixed.

The location of Apartment 17 is fantastic. Marylebone station (Bakeroo Line) 2min walk, Baker Station (access to 5 Lines) is 5 minutes away. Tesco express is 3 minute walk. Lots of restaurants (favorites=Nandos & Strada) on Baker street. Also, stock the frig from the Sunday Marylebone Farmers Market. Across the street from it is a butcher, and the cheese
shop has the best fudge brownies possibly in the world!

Both Apartments:
Stocked with dishes, pots, pans, sofa bed, and dining room table. They had the same furniture. Sofa is the most comfortable, all the chairs hurt after long periods of sitting. There was plenty of kitchen cabinets for storing food. The internet was pretty good for what it was. We could stream video from the US without much of an issue. An
occasional reboot of the internet Router was needed at times. Both beds were pretty stiff, but this is pretty standard throughout London from other places we have stayed. Kitchen faucet SUCKS! It looks very cool looking, but it completely impracticable for use. Because the water isn't aerated, it splashes everywhere and all over you.

First Floor Apartment
Biggest of the 2 apartments. Huge bathroom with tub. safe was broken. Washer/dryer combo was broken for the first 2 weeks, when it was working it is pretty loud. Any repair works is very slow in London. 4 Drawers, cabinets and lots of shelf space for things. Bed is against the wall, so if 2 people are in it, one has to climb in from the end.

Second Floor Apartment:
Has some nice views front and back. While it looks spacious, once you unpack the space gets used up quickly. There are a few small shelves to put your clothes on, no drawers. The bedroom is larger with walking space on both sides of the bed. The bathroom and shower are VERY narrow. The toilet seat is square, OUCH!, with not much room to move because the sink is inches from you. They maximized every bit of space in this apartment they had to work with.

If I want to feel like a local or need something affordable for a short term stay, this may meet your needs. We definitely would stay here again! The location and area were fantastic for us and my job. We could be almost anywhere in the city in less than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wkrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Apartment 17 was an amazing place to spend our time in London. We had the upstairs apartment for two visits in December, one at the beginning of the month, and the other over Christmas. The apartment owner was incredibly helpful, and fantastic to deal with. The apartment itself is in a great location - just a couple of minutes walk (if that) from the Marylebone tube and train station, and from there it's very quick and easy to get pretty much anywhere in London. The street is very peaceful, and the bedroom is set at the back of the property - so there was no street noise at all. There is a Tesco Express just around the corner, and there are heaps of shops and restuarants just a short walk away.

The rooms were spacious, and having a full kitchen was great - especially for the Christmas stay when we cooked a full Christmas dinner for us and a couple of relatives. There was all the implements and bowls, pans and equipment we needed (including a full size fridge/freezer, a microwave, an big oven with 4 ring electric hob on top, and lots of bench space as well). Free wi-fi, and free phone calls to a large number of countries too. The apartment was clean and tidy, and really felt like a home away from home. This is a self-catering apartment, so you're expected to supply everything you need, and to leave the apartments tidy and rubbish free when you leave. We were absolutely fine with this, as it is common for these types of apartments - but it is something to consider if you have always stayed at hotels.

Overall we had a great time in London, and this aprtment was ideal for our needs. If you're looking for something with a bit more space than a London hotel room, and for the same (or cheaper) price, then this is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi-touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews