We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantistic way to start you day”

Patisserie Deux Amis
Ranked #57 of 277 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Claremont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantistic way to start you day”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The name is actually Patisserie Deux Amis, but trip advisor won't accept that. Anyway, a fantastic little place for a great coffee and pastry to start your day. It's a little like sitting in Paris in the middle of London. Most of the customers are getting pastries, coffee and sandwiches (for lunch at work) for their day and just in and out. I chose to take one of the small tables and enjoy a coffee with a cinnamon roll - this is a place you want to relax and plan your day in London.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

my advice - don't come if youre on a diet...
we loved every thing we tried, a great coffe to start with (not that obvious in London) great pastries and sandwiches and very attentive staff.
you cant resist the smell if you walk by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK, but not top 30 good”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Sorry guys. Bit of a spoiler coming up.I know this spot quite well - but it hasn't ever become a 'must visit', more an ' if I happen to be passing and have time to spare ' - and my last stop off was positively disappointing: tardy service (goodness knows why, as we were the only couple in the joint), damply tepid cappuccino, and delivery of the wrong pastry to our twee (and wonky) table - which took so long that I hadn't the heart to negotiate the delivery of the correct one, and so ate what I'd been given and was grateful. It's small - six tables close together - so a bit inhibiting for any intimate conversation - and yes, the pastries aren't bad, but equally, they aren't super-stonkingly delicious, and I'm amazed to see it rated in London's top 30 of everything, let alone cafes (yes, it's good that its independent) - we can do much better than this. Truly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

A must visit!
Such a nice treat to take a break from the traditional English breakfast! Would gladly order anything off their menu!

Helpful?
Thank KH901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Having read the excellent reviews we had to call in to see for ourselves during a recent stay in the Russell Square area just around the corner.
I have to say that this is a delightful little spot for a coffee and baguette or a pastry for anyone in the Bloomsbury/Kings Cross area.
The cafe is very small but this together with the background classic fm music just adds to the pleasant overall ambience.
Very nice!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevEastBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patisserie Deux Amis also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Deux Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing