We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful English Breakfast for Dinner”
Review of Phoenix, Bayswater

Phoenix, Bayswater
Ranked #3,659 of 23,020 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Description: The Phoenix is comfy pub located conveniently around the corner from Bayswater underground station. The pub serves traditional cask ales, premium spirits, cocktails as well as a wide variety of soft drinks. There is an extensive food menu with pub favourites such as fish and chips and burgers, through to lighter snacks and sharing platters. The pub has a large screen to show sporting events as well as wi-fi for your convenience. The team at the Phoenix look forward to welcoming you!
Modra, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful English Breakfast for Dinner”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We've stopped buy for an English Breakfast in the evening, noone had any problem, everything was great, food was delicious - the best English Breakfast I've had. Staff enourmously friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronhilda44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful non-experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just sat outside waiting for someone asking us if we wanted something to drink. Nobody came so we took a menu ourselves. After five minutes the nice waiter comes and says rudely that if the menu is not on the table no food is served, when we just wanted something to drink. The guy with a Spanish accent neither asks if we want something to drink and goes back to the bar. Do not go to this bar, you are not welcome, even if you are going to do some more business for the bar!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rabonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nonexistent service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lousy experience with the pub across the street, so a few days later we thought we'd give this place a try for dinner based on our hotel's recommendation. Good-looking bar. However, we sat at our table for 15 minutes, and no one bothered to come take our order. No, correction, they weren't interested in even handing us a menu. The lone waiter was too busy talking up soccer at an outdoor table. So, I can't really comment on the food or drink, because we gave up and left, because I'm going to assume if a pub doesn't care to take an order, it doesn't care to fulfill it either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWKingsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix, Bayswater, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear JSWKingsfield

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Phoenix with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Taylor Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“everything except for the food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Very near Bayswater Tube station.
Just outside the tourist traps.
The atmosphere is great, the staff are friendly and beers are flowing.
Only one hitch.
The food is terrible.
Really terrible.
This pub could be a champion but not with this food.
Such a shame.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fortysomethingmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice pub but avoid the food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice pub for a drink, but the food is all frozen, then fried or microwaved. Fish and chips had hardly any chips, I hate when places skimp on chips because they cost 17p per serve to serve. Brie and pepper 'cheesecake', which I expected some kind of tart/quiche, was a vol au vent with mess of filling, microwaved and soggy. £2.50 for side of seasonal vegetables, which was frozen carrots and peas, no butter or anything. For £10.95 you do except more. Give it a miss, there is a lot of good pub dining around London that will live up to expectations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenix, Bayswater also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix, Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing