We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #200 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a short visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is very close to the major tourist landmarks in London, so it's great if you are only staying a few days and want to see the postcard sights. However, be aware that the streets and restaurant around it are constantly jammed with tourists, and you will get sick of pushing through the crowds on Westminster Bridge to get to the tube.
I stayed here for two nights with two friends in a small suite. The staff were quick to make up the bed in the small lounge area for us, and my friend who slept on it said it was very comfortable. The king sized bed in the bedroom was huge. It was very quiet in the room at night despite proximity to so many things. We didn't pay for the "iconic view" room, but we had a rather nice view of the London Eye rising over some buildings. Overall, I thought the size of the room for the money was great.
Things to be aware of: Only suites face the outside of the building, the regular rooms face an internal courtyard which can be quite gloomy. The hotel is huge (1500 rooms, I think), so the service is not very personal. They have some sort of VIP club for the Park Plaza chain that we weren't offered a chance to join, and it seems like you are treated better if you are in the club. Overall, it reminded me of staying in a big casino hotel: big, disorienting and impersonal, but perfectly clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, General Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I have shared your comments with the entire team and we are all disappointed you did not benefit from our usual hospitality.

As you have noted, with over 1,000 bedrooms not all will have an external view. For your next booking you would need to select a Studio room category and above for an iconic view bedroom, its Studio Iconic view or 1 bedroom Iconic view.

I’m pleased to confirm there is no secret handshake to join our Club Carlson reward programme! and certainly no discrimination either, I'm sorry you felt you were treated unfairly. Please just register via the club Carlson website and you may even be eligible to receive points for your most recent stay.

I hope we can serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Daniel Pedreschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,251
    4,458
    1,320
    540
    362
See reviews for
5,516
4,773
437
2,900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel for an anniversary in December so a bit late writing this review! What a great hotel. We had a two bed suite which was huge. There were two bathrooms, kitchen area with all you could need, dining area, lounge, huge balcony area too. It was a modern style but top end stuff. Just lovely. We were given complimentary use of the executive lounge which was nice. Here you could have breakfast, and snacks, coffee, drinks etc throughout the day. The view was amazing you could see BigBen as you ate. On arrival in our room there was a cake waiting for us.
A biT expensive but it was a special occasion, normal rooms were not too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, General Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear meeno,

Thank you for your review, better late than never and we are very pleased to have your 5 star review!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special occasion and we’re pleased you were not disappointed.

I couldn’t agree more with you regarding our Executive Lounge, for just £39 per night (2 sharing) you can enjoy breakfast with Big Ben, afternoon tea with Big Ben and cocktails and canapés with a beautiful lit Big Ben! All inclusive.

I hope we can welcome you back with your family for future visits.

Regards,
Daniel Pedreschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from ANOTHER great stay (3 nights this time) at this outstanding property, which has become my wife's and my hotel of choice in central London. Not only does it have this stylish and chic ambience - we love the nightly late night (free!) cabarets - but the staff cannot do enough for you. The guys on the front desk are always helpful but Reshu and his team in the Breakfast restaurant (lovely food by the way) deserve special mention here! Nothing is too much trouble for our favourite waitress Lisa or her colleagues. For the service you get we've always found this place excellent value too.Our bathroom this time was a little on the cramped side but some are bigger. Generally though the rooms - and in particular the beds - are very comfortable. We always get a great night's kip. It's also very quiet at night in the bedrooms: you can hear a pin drop. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: You can upgrade a superior (standard, in other words) to an atrium-facing superior room sometimes fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, General Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you Stuar035 for adding another 5 star review for our hotel. We’re thrilled to be your new favourite when visiting London.

I have shared your comments with the entire team and we are pleased that our passion, dedication and hospitality provided a great experience for you.

As a regular patron I do hope you have joined our Club Carlson rewards programme as you could be earning points towards future stays, please do visit the Club Carlson website for more info and to register.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Regards,
Daniel Pedreschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my husband and baby. Booked a standard room and were upgraded to a superior room with balcony and fab view. The hotel and room are wonderfully modern, ultra clean, very comfy beds, spacious room. Very happy with our entire experience. Definitely recommend a swim in the pool - lovely changing rooms and nice dim lighting result in a relaxing swim. All staff we encountered were polite and friendly. Tried room service for breakfast - rather pricey but good food and fast efficient service. 2 mins walk to London Aquarium which i highly recommend and London Eye & Big Ben right on your doorstep, as are lots of restaurants. Took just 5 mins to walk from Waterloo station to the hotel so fab location for tourists. Definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, General Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Definitely would love to welcome you and your family again.

Thanks charlotte1uk for adding another 5 star review for our hotel and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Daniel Pedreschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great Hotel. Steps to the Waterloo train and underground station. Lots of cafes and restaurants. One block to London Eye. Directly across from Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Walking distance to St Pauls, Trafalgar, Buckingham, St James and many more attractions. Service was excellent. Complementary Breakfast with a very good assortment of hot and cold food. Fresh juice and fruit as well. Very very clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, General Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you wichs for your review and recommendation, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Daniel Pedreschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My mothers handbag was stolen from the coffee shop on ground floor. We have written to the hotel management but they have not issued an apology despite there being a lapse in their security. Management need to get more involved in making sure they are doing there job properly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear C D,

Once again we would like to extend our sincere sympathy to your mother for the incident that occurred.

You may not be aware but we fully assisted your mother with cancelling of cards and notifying 3rd parties as well as providing CCTV stills to the Police.

I am aware that you have been in contact with our Security Manager and we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance or information.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. Its sleek modern design was very attractive. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a business event taking place in the hotel as well. From the moment I arrived the staff was very accommodating. I arrived before check in and did not have a problem getting my room right away. The location is perfect - easy to get around, and great view of Big Ben from the hotel! Walked to the tube and the palace. Would recommend :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear LRapkin,

Thank for posting your 5 star review and for your recommendation, we’re pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#406 of 1,067 in London
9,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Property: Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing