We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and confortable guest rooms & lively lobby bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Ranked #171 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was positively suprised by this Hotel in London.
It is situaded in a brand new quarter right next to the Chelsea bridge and in front of a lovely garden (nice if you enjoy jogging).
Comparing with my previous hotel experiences in London this hotel provides very spacious, modern and confortable guest rooms.
Nice corporate breakfast and excelent food choice at the lobby bar (had some very good "tapas" and a rasto "non fast food" hamburguer).
The way all 4 Star hotels should be - good infrastructure, friendly staff and not pretencious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatT_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Chelsea, General Manager at Pestana Chelsea Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Jos_T22 ,

Thank you for your positive feedback and support. The Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel does have a unique location on the south side of the Chelsea bridge, which I think is often underestimated as far as accessibility to all the major City attractions is concerned. The size and comfort of our rooms is an important feature, along with consistent standards across all our service areas. We are pleased to have created a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Arturo Esposito, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Perfect welcome, perfect room & amenities. Very relaxing all round.
Food in bar area excellent . Everywhere spotlessly clean. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Every member of staff I met with had excellent people skills.Helpful and so polite.
The hotel is also in a perfect location by the river and opposite a lovely park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Chelsea, General Manager at Pestana Chelsea Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Barbara W,

Thank you for your positive review and taking the time to share it. Meeting the needs of our guests across all our service and facilities is of key importance and I am delighted that we succeeded. Our location is often quite a surprise to guests, who realise, once arriving here, that access to all the major City attractions as well as the immediate neighbourhood, is very convenient and guest friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Arturo Esposito, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a great pleasure it was to come to a London hotel which actually delivers. Friendly staff, a good sized room, good views (over Battersea Park), clean, comfortable, good breakfast. There really was nothing not to like. Didn't try the spa, but I will next time.

Location is nominally South of the river, but with pretty good access to the West End. Victoria Station is a 15 minute walk, Battersea Park (overground) is around 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Choice of views - either over Battersea Park (green and pleasant) or over the old Power Station (int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestana_Chelsea, General Manager at Pestana Chelsea Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Uvdalman,

Thank you for staying at the Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and we appreciate your positive feedback. Our location is often a surprise to guests who usually have not previously stayed in this area which is still considered to be a new development and emerging node within the City. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Arturo Esposito, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights, having been too london before and not had a good experience in london. This was a very pleseant stay, hotel was clean, massive room with a sofa and lcd tv. Location isn't great as there's no near underground station. Bus number 44 takes you to victoria underground for £2.30 single fare. No shops nearby but would stay here again as it was a very good and modern hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_shazad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Pestana for 5 nights. We loved the sauna, steam room, and pool. Went down bright and early-ish every morning to take advantage of it. A little confusing at first (use the robes you have in your room to go down there, we foolishly put on clothes over our suits), but after we knew we had to drop off our room key each time (or give our room number) to get a towel and begin using the facilities everything went fine. Probably because we were down in the morning it was never packed. Which is good because, yes, it is small. I wouldn't trust the sauna with more then five people in it..and that's pushing it. We did wish they were open a little later so when we got back from sight seeing we could relax a bit, we normally got back to our room around 9 right when they were closing.

Beds were comfy, never heard any of the other people staying in the hotel (a first I think) and yes we could hear the trains a little bit. But we were 6 floors up and live near the el here in Chicago so it was nothing that we couldn't handle. Housekeeping slacked a little in the middle of the stay, they took away washclothes (I would've been okay using my washcloth more then once) and didn't replace them. There were wrappers still lying around the "bar" area..little things like that which aren't huge but are worth mentioning.

Quite a few buses run from just up the street to more then one underground station but it's not that bad of walk on a nice day anyway. And there is a bike rental station just the other side of the river as well.

Now for the dig. Wireless. We got free wireless in Timothy Walker pubs (and other places) all over the city but back at our hotel room we camped out downstairs to get information. They did offer us an upgrade, with wireless included and I think possibly breakfast for a "mere" 50 pounds more a night. We were already stretching our budget as is and couldn't afford that. They were nice enough about handing out the little slip of paper with the internet access code on it (yes you have to get a new one each time) and a few times we used the business center because our laptop wasn't charged (the joy of needing the key to have the electricity on in the room, I figured out at the end the clock outlet stayed on all the time) and it was never busy. Except once when a guy was looking up female companionship for the night...in the business center...right by the main hallway...while we were on one computer and someone was waiting for the other. Classy!

Also the hotel staff should know how to get to places in London, places like the museums. We wanted to go to the Victoria & Albert Museum. The girl behind the counter didn't know where it was, but after we told her the address she pulled out a map and circled on the underground map what station to get off at. Thank goodness my boyfriend had been there a long time ago and started to remember what station it was near. She would've had us at a station 2 miles away from it rather then the one a 2 minute walk away.

I was excited to try out the bathtub (since the spa closed early at night) but it was one of the most uncomfortable baths I've ever been in. Perhaps I'm not the right height? It slanted way too much and most of my body was out of the water (or so it felt).

Because I booked through someone else when we checked in they didn't authorize my credit card for incidentals, a fact I didn't realize until I tried making a phone call. I had to go downstairs to have it authorized then back up to my room to try again. After a few failed attempts, calls to the front desk, and swearing someone finally said I would have to dial an extra 0 at the begining to get to an outside line. Why have a make a call option on the phone if I'm not being given an outside line at that point?

Other then those hiccups I would surely stay there again.

**FUN FACT** There's a small grocery store open until 11pm just a few steps away from the hotel. Save yourself some money and stock up your little mini fridge with food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank stealingsouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for five nights. The hotel was lovely, we had a not so inspring view of the railroad tracks, but only one side of the hotel can face the river! The room was comfortable and well appointed. The couch was very nice, the people were helpful and pleasant. I was never awoken by the sounds of housekeeping early in the morning, or any other nuisances. Breakfast, however, was insanely expensive! £18.50 each for the buffet (which translates into almost $30 american). And I only eat a couple eggs, bacon, toast and a coffee. So plan to pay a LOT to eat there, or plan to eat somewhere else. The pool was small, narrow and long, but looked pleasant enough, though I didn't use it. The "exercise room" or gym consisted of two treadmills, one exercise bike, and some freeweights with a bench crammed into a very small space. Overall, it was a good, comfortable stay at a reasonable price for the room in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if that matters to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honidewgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Having searched for several hours for a reasonably priced hotel in central London we found the Pestana Chelsea Bridge. I can't pretend that the usual rates are particularly good value, however the late deals offered through their own web site are a bit of a bargain for the quality of hotel and location. Beware though that the last minute offers are payable in advance and strictly non refundable!

The hotel is located on the south side of Chelsea Bridge, opposite Battersea Park and next to the iconic Battersea Power Station. Although not very close to a tube station, you can hop onto a No 137 or 452 bus almost directly opposite the hotel and reach Sloane Square and the Kings Road in less than 5 minutes.

The executive double room was spacious and well appointed, very good black-out curtains, large bathroom with separate shower and bath, ample storage, small area for mini bar and kettle, a large sofa, and a television with 80 or so channels in a variety of languages. Being in a busy city, it is worth requesting a room on the higher floors to minimise noise, we were on the 8th floor which was fine.

My reason for dropping a mark on this hotel is the spa which is too small for a hotel of this size. The pool is only just big enough for lengths if you have it to yourself and the sauna is very small (max 3 persons) however the larger steam room worked well. There is a large relaxation area but limited changing, so you need to change into your robes in your room before you visit. My biggest criticism of this facility is that it is advertised as a quiet adult area, however when we visited at 5pm there were very loud children having a swimming lesson (which dominated the entire area) and at 8am the next morning we found a family with screaming babies. I can therefore recommend this as a nice facility for families to occupy their children for a few minutes however it is not the relaxing, quiet zone advertised for adults, unfortunately you can’t have it both ways.

Breakfast was good with a self service hot and cold buffet including fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads and pastries, cold meats and cheese etc. The hot buffet only offers scrambled eggs however if you ask the attentive staff, the kitchen will happily prepare an alternative poached for eggsample. The only slight criticism here was the coffee, which came out far too dark and the tea which came out like water.

In the evening, the restaurant has a good looking menu with main courses at around £15, you can also choose from the bar menu which has some very good tapas. The bar and restaurant are a little expensive however there are some good alternatives for a cheaper meal near by. We found a lovely little Italian restaurant called San Gennaro just two minutes walk from the front door. Turn left as you leave the hotel, walk down the road and straight across the roundabout a few yards further and you come to the traffic lights at the junction of Battersea Park Road, turn right and the restaurant is immediately on your right. This is a small, friendly restaurant with excellent food and wine and great service at a very reasonable price.

All in all this hotel is great for a visit to central London and a bit of a bargain if you book a late deal from the Pestana web site.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#225 of 1,076 in London
3,721 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#65 of 1,076 in London
3,616 reviews
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#202 of 1,076 in London
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge

Address: 354 Queenstown Road | Battersea, London SW11 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#87 Business Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the 4* luxury Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & SPA and enjoy London's trendy development, Chelsea Wharf, nestled between scenic Battersea Park, the river Thames and iconic Battersea Power Station. 217 Spacious modern bedrooms all equipped with individual bath and shower facilities, including one and two bedroom suites and a private Club Lounge are located on the 11th floor. Our designer SPA offers guests a tranquil relaxation area including heated indoor pool, sauna and steam room with beauty treatment rooms for bespoke professional therapy. The Atlantico Restaurant & BAR and coffee lounge, provides guests with perfect menu options of light meals, speciality coffees, high tea & the popular "tapas buffet" table with Chef's menu choices for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing