We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious food and fabulous service ”
Review of Gloria

Gloria
Reserve a table
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #561 of 23,641 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$17 - US$49
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

My brother and I came here for a meal one evening on a Wednesday, got seated straightaway downstairs which was a darker vibe than upstairs however was lovely as you could see the chefs preparing the food.
We had the stracciatella and hams/bread to start which was delightful not too heavy for a starter. We then had the carbonara for 2 which they prepare in front on you on the cheese wheel, very nice touch and a wonderful carbonara. I had rose and my brother had beer and the waiters were fabulous with their recommendations.

Would recommend to anyone for good Italian food.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Alexljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 472 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

The place it gives you the taste of Italy, food and drinks are amazing, with a great staff taking care of you.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Giovanny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

Piermarco is a legend!! The food was amazing and the service was impeccable.
Will be returning as soon as I can!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Alyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

The place is beautiful. The plates are gorgeous. The food could be better.
I have been there twice. Once for breakfast and another time for lunch and both times the food was "okay". I suppose I was expecting a lot more from the food after seeing how much the place has to offer visually. The Big Boy French Toasts were a bit dry, and the carbonara's portion too small. The show around the carborana presentation is great though: they mix the pasta in a huge wheel of parmigiano cheese right in front of you. Very amusing.
Regarding the menu, for a Italian restaurant, I feel it's a bit limited, specially the pasta.
The side road of the restaurant, where they put the bins out and where their staff have their breaks is filthy and stinks!!! The management should look into this.

In general, the place is good, everyone should visit it at least once to experience it. But keep in mind they don't take bookings for small parties.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carmenpalomaresg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigmammauk, General Manager at Gloria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Hello cpgba,

We are super sad to hear that the experience you had wasn’t up to your standards! At Gloria, our main goal is to share all the warmth of a trattoria like you could find in Italy, where you feel good and eat well.
We do take bookigns online for up to 12 people from Sunday to Thursday(breakfast,lunch and dinner),and only on Friday and Saturday night from 4 to 12 people.
We’d love to discuss in more details thus don’t hesitate to contact us directly at amore@bigmamma.com.
We sincerely hope to see you again and that you will keep a better souvenir then :)

Best,

The Gloria squadra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

We went to Gloria a couple of weeks ago. The environment was great, it’s a small restaurant but the decoration is amazing. We were served by Luigi,He give us some nice advice on the food and he looks after us all the time.
We will come back for sure!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank BigBasa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gloria also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.