We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back again”
Review of The William IV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The William IV
Ranked #350 of 558 London B&B and Inns
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would come back again”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What's not to like? The price was very good. It's a six-minute walk to the Kensal Green station. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a large room. The continental breakfast was good. We had read about the noise level on weekends, and there is a good steady bass beat from the music until the early hours of the morning. We were on the third floor, and a good pair of earplugs blocked the noise. We would definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    46
    18
    56
See reviews for
28
97
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in this Hotel on Wednesday Evening. We arrived late, but this wasnt an issue, the Staff were very friendly, and competent, we were shown to our room (Room 7), and was really surprised at how lovely the room was. It was spacious, Very Clean, Had plenty of Wardrobe/Shelf Space for 2 People, the TV Was a new flat screen showing lots of Freeview Channels, everything worked, and it was warm and cosy!!! I cannot fault this room or the staff at all. Breakfast was from 7-9am which was ideal, it is only continental and if you would like a full English, it is only £3.50 which is not bad at all.There is parking in the street, but it is a controlled zone, so Overnight from 6.30pm to 8.30am in the morning is fine, but then you will only get a couple of hours on the meter in the morning and then you have to move the car. This is absolutly fine, if like us it was a business trip and were gone long before it was a problem. Overall, this was a lovely hotel, with great staff, and adequate facilities.

Room Tip: We had Room 7, which looked out onto the Mainroad, Completely adequate for people. Only 1 flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 194MichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in May 2013 for two nights during the Lords Test match against New Zealand as it was reasonably close to St Johns Wood.
Its basically a pub with rooms above and it could have been good and may still be in the future.
However, it was a catalogue of minor disasters--an hour to check in; tiny room( we insisted on changing); missing light bulbs; lack of heating ( eventually sorted next day); cold and horrible dinner; poor cleaning standards; bedroom smoke detector blocked up ; wrong breakfast time information resulting in missed breakfast on first morning; poor breakfast on second morning etc etc.
The young and inexperienced staff are willing enough but the Owners don't seem to listen to them or to their customers.
Money has been spent on refurbishment, so maybe they will get their act together, but I wont be rushing back.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor for the best view of the cemetery !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpy666_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed on a weekend for one night. Overall the place is shabby looking, our room stank of smoke and was small considering we had booked a "superior" room. As we stayed on a Saturday night we expected to overhear noise from the bar below but turned out their was a DJ style club night, the music was so loud we could feel the vibrations in our room until 2am. After that we had the staff clearing up noisily and throwing glass bottles away until about 3am. Really disappointing not to be fully warned that if we were staying on a Saturday we should not expect to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lehazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed in William IV on Friday and Saturday 05/04- 07/04.
I was in room 4. Room was spacious and cosy.
Staff was very helpful and professional.
Location of the hotel is really good. Very close to central London. Underground and overground stations very close by.
On Sunday we had famous William’s Sunday roast. Beef was cooked perfectly.
Really good value for money.
I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monteguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Supposed to have been recently refurbished but didn't look like it - bar area was smelly and icky, nothing like the airy, spacious and fresh pictures on the website. Area it was in wasn't very nice either, building works going on across the road. Thought we were getting something of quality but no. An absolutely maze to get up to the rooms, would hate to be in a fire in that place as we'd never get out in time. Badly signposted corridors and lots of tatty areas. Room itself was VERY tiny, sure they had just converted a store room for an extra bedroom. Small double bed just fit in it, one scruffy wardrobe and a table big enough for kettle and 2 cups. The decor of the room itself was ok - but you can't polish a turd. Bathroom wasn't much, moudly shower, plasterboard wall had been cut out and put back but not replastered. Countless stains on the wall in the bathroom. Looking at the emergency plan I could see the other rooms were much bigger (at least double the size) than the room we were given (room 3). We were not offered another room. Ended up staying in a Premier Inn a few miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catzeyezuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

On arrival I had to wait about 5 minutes for a member of staff to check me in (this was early afternoon)as the bar staff could not check me in.
The room was large for a single, it had a desk, chest of draws, wardrobe, a double bed and plenty of room to walk around. Bathroom was a good size with a decent shower.
Think the rooms need updating but for the price you pay per night its liveable.
Staff were friendly, didn't have breakfast so can't comment.
As the rooms are above a pub, I would say its ok for mid week but rather noisy on the weekends (unless your joining the party downstairs).
It is about a 10/15 minute walk to the tube station which takes you into central London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tizzy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#287 of 1,069 in London
239 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#787 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Black Lion
#181 of 558 in London
235 reviews
Windmill Hotel
#245 of 558 in London
251 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#18 of 558 in London
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William IV

Property: The William IV
Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The William IV 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing