We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise. Beautiful and comfortable boutique style hotel. NOT BUDGET STYLE! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The William IV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The William IV
Ranked #295 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely surprise. Beautiful and comfortable boutique style hotel. NOT BUDGET STYLE! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I saw some of these reviews so didn't have high hopes.. But what a lovely surpise! The hotel is actually next door to the pub, peaceful and stylish with its own entrance... My room had en suite, was clean and beautiful decoration and really comfortable.
The pub by the way is classy, candles, wooden, modern vibe.. and really friendly staff. As a lone female traveller I felt welcomed and safe.
Breakfast was continental and lovely. Particularly the dining room in the pub where they played great background music which was a nice start to the day.
I would definitely stay here again, it's only an 6-8min walk from the tube and worth £65 I paid. Ive stayed in budget places for this price and more, so this was a massive treat and felt like a special hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as I thought being near the road it might be loud, but it wasnt loud and my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thepubhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    52
    39
    18
    40
See reviews for
21
84
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Seedy entrance, unpainted stairs, corridor maze with disgusting stained carpets. Room ok but obviously cleaned by a man. After a day at Proms in the Park we were hoping for a good nights sleep. About midnight arrived to hear disco music booming down the street and found it coming out of this seedy dump. I am astonished that the council allows this. The noise was so loud in our room that it drowned out the tv, and everything was rattling. After an hour with thumping heads we complained but were told in no uncertain terms that we'd have to put up with it. Racket went on till gone 2.30 am! Breakfast just the usual cold stuff. Ignore the tarted up pics, this place really is a dump, with owners who don't give a toss, and a long way out too. All the Travelodges are miles better than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just stayed at this pub come nightclub. The rooms are at best ok and some way from website appearances with toilet seats and roll holders clinging on and the walls grimy. That aside, it would have been fine for a cheap ish stay in London if it hasn't been for the dance/trance party that was going on down below till 230am in the morning. We arrived late so didn't have any option but to stay. When I challenged the staff - after a very poor breakfast (warm milk, cold coffee) - that this should have been advertised before you book, the lady just shrugged and said "er, sorry I guess". Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMQ_IOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights mid week. The room and bathroom were of a reasonable standard, cleanly and nicely decorated but some of the fittings were a bit worn. Unfortunately, our stay coincided with some of the hottest nights of the year and the room was very warm even with the windows open. The accommodation and pub staff were all very helpful and friendly. The pub has a lovely beer garden which was nice to spend time in on a summer evening and good food/drink at reasonable prices. On the nights we stayed, we didn't experience any noise from the pub or other neighbours. The breakfast was fairly basic and at times the self-service area became crowded. The place is located about five minutes walk from Kensal Green tube station and it is about a ten minute journey into central London. I would stay here again because it made a pleasant change to a chain budget hotel and offered reasonable value considering London prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ticosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for work on a Monday night.... On arrival - had to wait a good 20 minutes to get checked in cos the "new girl" didnt know how to do it... and the "supervisor" was "too busy setting up for a meeting".... Eventually saw myself up to my room after just being given a key, and the room (Room 6) was OK - bretty basic but big enough and the bed was comfy and new...

Think they've recently redecorated the bathroom - smelt of damp a bit, but all worked fine and was very clean... Decided to eat there too - and the service (from the same two people I'd seen earlier) was hugely different.... really friendly and helpful - verging on flirtatious which is always a bonus in my book....

Not a particularly extensive food menu but it tasted pretty good, and the beer wasnt the best but got a discount for staying in the hotel - so all in all, it was OK.... nowhere to write home about - but will do if you dont wanna pay stupid amounts of money and are happy with the basics

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week 16th June -22nd Jun2 2013 .. Arrived at the establishment, booked in..the young lady offered to carry my suitcase to our room... the room on initial view was very nice.... Afer having a long hot sticky journey from Plymouth...I decided after unpacking, to have a shower only seconds of standing in the shower, the shower tray started to fill with water to the top.. the water was gong nowhere....My friend removed the piece from the drain where the water goes down from the shower tray only to find it covered in body hairs.. this was reported to the staff and was fixed...However this should have never have happened if the maintenance was kept up to date and should have not happened for the price that was paid.... the net curtains were rather shabby and the ceiling in room could have done with a lick of paint.....there were no information leaflets for visitors either in the hotel itself or the room....the information that was in the room was very minimal consisting of breakfast times and the wifi code......... Also... there was no mat to step on to for getting out of the shower. which leaves the floor very wet and could be dangerous...The hotel is more than a 10 minute walk to centre of London more like 9 stops away on the tube train which is Oxford Circus... and is more than a 6 minute walk to the Kensal Green Station more like a 10 minute walk. Certianly Would not recommend this hotel and woud not stay here in the furure....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on saturday 15 June 2013 and was really pleased with first impression. Service was good and booked in swiftly with no fuss. Had a few drinks in the bar and a bar meal which was good quality and good service. Unfortunately there are a few issues with cleanliness in the bar area around the skirting boards and the floor. The room was clean and comfortable but headroom was a bit of an issue in the shower but to be expected in an old property and the fact I'm 6ft4 ! Breakfast needs to be sorted as the coninental breakfast consisted of some ham and some brown bread with a few croissants and yoghurt. Nothing wrong with a full English ???? Aside from this I would definitely stay again !!

Room Tip: Don't pick room 5 if you're tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Black Lion
#175 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Windmill Hotel
#193 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Earls Court
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#133 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
King William IV Hotel & Bar
King William IV Hotel & Bar
#254 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
At Home London B&B
#264 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#262 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William IV

Property: The William IV
Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The William IV 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing