We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy and claustrophobic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W London Leicester Square
Ranked #401 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel has a real claustrophobic feel to it, all I felt like doing the whole time was opening a window and letting some fresh air in ... that's my point there are no windows!! Rooms are very small and stuffy couldn't find the light switch for about 5 minutes far far too modern for me. Didn't like the bar either it was absolutely packed of Z star like celebrities not for me at all. Will never go back

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Tan019,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us at W London Leicester Square. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectation.

I appreciate your point about the modern design. We believe the rooms are designed to both maximise space and keep our guests comfortable in all aspects. I can understand that this is not to everyone’s taste.

I would like the opportunity to welcome you back again. Please let me know when you plan your next stay, as I would like to oversee your reservation personally. You can reach me directly via my email Ian.Ciappara@whotels.com

Warm regards,

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. I've read the reviews and was skeptical but I was pleasantly surprised! The staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at 3p.m. but our room wasn't ready. We were offered rooms on the 2nd floor but was advised against it as I had requested for a quiet room. So we left our luggage at the concierge and went for a walk.
The W was so conveniently located we strolled towards Piccadilly Circus and Regent Street. Leicester Square is a great place to sit and people watch. We also spent our time in the lounge which was a popular hangout. Our waiter offered us a more comfortable seat when they became available (it was a good touch). The lounge had wi-fi and our drinks arrived promptly with a side of nibbles. We were very happy not to be moved.
Our room was spacious and modern. It was an aesthetically pleasing version of an upscaled Ikea. There were plenty of mirrors and a lot of light, which I find very impressive. Most hotels we've stayed in are very dim and dull and would do with another bulb or two. Also, there are 4 lighting modes in the room which I find very useful.
The WC was literally a water closet. The shower was spacious and the bath products were lovely. The problem we had with them were the lack of ventilation so there was a slightly stale smell in the those rooms. There was an iPhone dock and the an electricity socket in the safe too. The wardrobe has a padded sliding door which slides over to insulate further noise from the hallway - genius!
We really felt at home in the middle of London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Wardour Street for a bit of quiet. Forget the breakfast and sleep in because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear MayBurns,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square including the excellent location. I would also like to thank you for your kind words on my team. These hold a great value to me and I will definitely be sharing these with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We wanted somewhere to stay on our wedding anniversary and couldn't have picked a better hotel. Great style and location. Very friendly staff and a very relaxing stay.

We had a corner room - classy decor and everything you'd ever need, except for in room tea making facilities. Room service fantastic though.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonno008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Jonno008,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great review. I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square during your wedding anniversary met your expectation. It is always great to see a guest detailing a flawless experience. Thank you for your kind words on my team, I will certainly share these with my entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to W London – Leicester Square soon.

Warm regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had a single night in the W London for business. A quality experience, very handy to be in Leicester Sq to go for a walk and a nice meal in the evening. The W rooms are really well designed for a smallish space, the bathroom and living spaces all blend together. A friend was upgraded to the penthouse WOW suite - now that was amazing, had to be seen to be believed. Icluded fully rotating circular leather couch to ensure you can customise your view!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear john c

Thank you for sharing your great review with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square met your expectation including the excellent location. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Most W Hotel bars across the USA are happening funky places, ideal for after work drinks.
Unfortunately, that model has not transferred well across the Atlantic.
After arranging to meet friends for drinks, half of our group were already inside, the remaining few to come. All were young professionals, with jackets and collared shirts and sober.
At 8pm for reasons that are unclear, the remaining few members attempted to enter the bar and were scolded by an over zealous bouncer for apparently walking on the wrong side of the door. They were then herded like cattle into a small roped off area to be 'interviewed' by some guy with a clipboard. Apparently he was the 'Guest List Manager'. Our group were further admonished because of course 'you can't just walk in' without speaking to the 'Guest List Manager'. Combined with bouncer, they formed quite the obnoxious pair.
It was half empty at the time with no line up outside.
Not unreasonably, our friends refused to be interrogated by a guy with a clipboard at 8pm to get into a half empty bar for an after work beer.
We then all left the venue and spent several hundred pounds at an alternative establishment, where fortunately you don't need to be interviewed by pretentious and obnoxious guys with clipboards to enjoy an after work beer at 8pm.
The door staff have clear delusions of grandeur and would benefit from some customer service training.
Even by London standards, the drinks are outrageously expensive, the theme of pretension pervades the establishment with even more guys inside walking around with clipboards and grandiose job description titles.
Our group has a prolonged stay in London and the W Hotel have missed out on us being regular clients. At a rough guess, this would equate to somewhere between 4-5000 pounds. A sum few hotel bars could afford to lose in a competitive market.
Try one of the many nearby alternative upscale bars and avoid the deplorable behaviour of the staff at the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SquawkerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear SquawkerMelbourne,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I was sorry to hear your visit to W London – Leicester Square did not meet your expectation.

We do take guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve upon guest experiences. I welcome the opportunity to discuss all the points you have highlighted in person or on a one to one basis in detail.

Please feel free to contact me via email Ian.Ciappara@whotels.com at your convenience

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Both my partner & I visited the W London hotel for the first time on Friday 8th Nov. This was a surprise 1 day "get-away".
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the hotel reception. Check in was a breeze & we were upgraded, which was a nice surprise. The room we stayed in was absolutely fabulous, we couldnt have wished for anything better. (We have both stayed in luxurious hotels previosuly).
When we returned later in the evening a bottle of Moet was chilling which was a very nice touch (thankyou).
Breakfast in the Spice market was exceptional, we opted for the cooked breakfast and this was beautiful.
"Maybe" the ONLY negative point was the loud music we could hear late into the night, however this hotel is situated right on Leicester Sq itself, so anyone expecting a quiet night should go to the Cotswalds... :-)
A big thankyou to the hotel for a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Go floor 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Nigel C,

Thank you for sharing your great review with us. I am very pleased to hear that both you and your partner enjoyed your first stay with us at W London – Leicester Square including your breakfast experience in Spice market. Your warming words towards my team hold a great value to me and I will certainly share your note with my entire team and Chef as they too will appreciate this immensely.

I look forward to your return to W London – Leicester Square.

Warm regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The location of the hotel couldn't be more central if you want to be in the West End, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Oxford Street, Regent Street or Covent Garden area. Rooms are a bit trendy for those looking for traditional hotel room layout. For example, there is a sink/worktop/desk area in the middle of the room. I quite like it. It's like an upmarket CitizenM. Rooms are quite pricey for what it is. Shower not the best design as they had to place a towel in the shower to prevent the water from flooding into the room. Not sure if it is suitable for family. If you are looking for a modern hotel in the centre of all the action, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors. We were on the 2nd floor. It was noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear sfchang,

Thank you for sharing your review following your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square including the excellent location. We take the feedback of our guests seriously, as we are always looking for ways to improve upon on our guests’ experiences.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to W London – Leicester Square.

Warm regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#506 of 1,078 in London
2,523 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,078 in London
2,358 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W London Leicester Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W London Leicester Square

Address: London Leicester Square London Leicester Square 10 Wardour Street, London W1D 6QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#279 Luxury Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £205 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W London Leicester Square 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and quirky, glamorous and decadent, W London - Leicester Square crystallizes the quintessential dual personality of the British soul. Located steps away from theatre land, the catwalks of Brewer Street and Soho’s electric nightlife, the hotel - like the city itself - is a bold contrast of themes, colors, textures and characters. Experience luxury comfort and the vibrant decor of our rooms and suites, your ultimate pit stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W London Leicester Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w London Leicester Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing