We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and trendy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W London Leicester Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W London Leicester Square
Ranked #382 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Geneva_ch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Central and trendy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Maybe one of the best W hotels. Very nice room, trendy and nice design. Nice bar, very lively. Too bad that W hotel never includes Wifi in the room, only in the lobby. Location is perfect, close to Soho, Piccadilly, China Town. Check in was a bit slow, but they tried to be helpful. For people who like design and trendy hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wise_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear wise_lily,

First of all thank you for sharing your great review. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square. However, I was sorry to hear about the delays you experienced on check-in. I have shared your comments with the relevant heads of department to ensure we improve in this area. I would like to also thank you for your kind words on my team, these hold great value and I will certainly share this with my entire team.

In the meantime, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    569
    280
    134
    141
See reviews for
179
707
152
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

In general unique nice experience. Professional and friendly staff. A lot of effort has been done. Although I fell in love with the mini club VIP bar, the attention to customers is far from perfection. Why? Needs more training and better approach. The bar gets busy late a night. Average crowd not a glam place as you might think. This is a management issue. Thanks for the inspirational design that will keep me going back. Very pricy competed to like wise places.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manuk311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Manuk311,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It’s good to hear the overall experience our guests such as yours. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square including modern décor of our bedrooms and in particularly the VIP Bar. These positive notes are greatly appreciated and I will definitely be sharing these with them.

Your feedback on service is also important to us and I will certainly share this with the relevant heads of department to ensure standards are met at all times.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am at present staying with my husband at the W Leicester Square. We arrived this afternoon and the receptionist refered to me as 'her' when asking my husband to put my name down on the check in form. When questioned on this the response was that English is not her first language. After a flat G&T we went out to dinner but we were expected to que to get back into the hotel. When I walked through I was challenged by the doorman and told to use another entrance. Looking forward to leaving. What a rubbish hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Claire543,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I very am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectation. I can assure you that we take the feedback of our guests seriously and we always look for ways to improve our guests’ experiences.

With regards to the entrance, we have separate entrances for non-residents and a dedicated entrance for our resident guests. I apologise that this was not explained to you at the time. However, I would like the opportunity to discuss any concerns you may wish to bring to my attention in detail. Please feel free to contact me via email coen.vanniersen@whotels.com at your convenience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you.

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The W Hotel is nice. Great location between Leicester square and China town surrounded by countless bars and restaurants. Trafalgar Square is a short walk away. The hotel itself has a bar, nightclub and restaurant which we enjoyed. I liked our room, it was clean spacious and well decorated. We enjoyed the gym, great facilities.The only issue was with the shower drainage. It kept flooding into the bedroom area which was pretty annoying. Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Hwak89,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback regarding your recent visit to W London Leicester Square. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us including the excellent location and the comforts of your room and our facilities in FIT.

However, I was sorry to hear about the issues you experiences with the shower and drainage. I have shared this with the relevant heads of department to ensure we bring improvements in this area.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I love this hotel. I am addicted to the rooms, the staff, the vibe, the cleanliness, the design, the way they make everyone feel special at every moment. The beds are so comfortable that I am going to buy one.
From the doormen, welcome desk, room service....amazing.
Barmen can have attitude, just be confident.

Room Tip: Spend as much money as you can afford to get the best possible room. Be nice to the staff and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuinOfTheState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear RuinOfTheState,

Thank you for your great feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear of the overall experiences of our guests. I very am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square.
I am particularly delighted to receive such warming notes on my team. These are greatly appreciated and I will definitely be sharing these with them.

I look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The well thought out design makes the small rooms feel spacious. Very modern, very functional and very cool. Great location and an easy walk to restaurants and bars.

And its pronounced "Lester Square".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrewmaster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear TheBrewmaster18,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback. It’s good to hear the overall experience from guests such as yours. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at W London – Leicester Square including the location and the style of our interiors.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in London over the years and have grown accustom to the lack of detail and service provided to "loyal" guests, so I have a through understanding of what to expect while here on business. Here are a list of "complaints".

1) The W hotel in Leicester Square has a terrible overall staff. I checked in on a Sunday at 5pm, and there was only 1 room that was clean. I find this a little disturbing considering that check out for non Platinum guests is at noon. Unless, of course, 99% of the guests staying in the hotel were platinum SPG members, which is a little hard to fathom.

2) This particular W hotel has adopted its modern and "art" look at the cost of functionality in the rooms. In the "Wonderful" room that I am stationed in has a center console in the room. There is a small "bathroom" sink on one side of the table, and a high top "desk" space with a high chair. So the intention is to place my laptop, next to the sink where I will be washing my hands and face.

3) There is only 1 outlet in the entire room located under the center console. The room is not small by any means, it is a decent size hotel room, but the lack of outlets makes me feel as if I am living in Amish Pennsylvania, running an electrical socket from the neighboring town to this "artistic" center console taking up space in my room. No, there are not any sockets beside the bed or nightstands, and to reach the sockets the lamps are plugged into would require a Black and Decker EPC18CA drill.

4) There are florescent purple and blue lights under the nightstands that cannot be turned off. Sexy time anyone?

5) The rooms on the Western side of the building face Wardour Street, where China Town restaurants begin, so the rooms smell like dim sum, and fried pork spring rolls.

6) The "Whatever/Whenever" concierge hot line consistently has staff that does not speak loudly, and hardly speak English. I asked for a US Power Adapter, and received a record player. Not joking.

7) The thought of an SPG lifetime platinum member getting any sort of upgrade to a larger room, or room on a higher floor is blasphemous.

8) Standard W fails for Platinum guests, no lounge, no free hot breakfast, and lack of service.

Room Tip: Maybe a suite or room on a higher floor would be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TKHAL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear TKHAL33,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectation.

I can understand your frustration. We experience high occupancy of SPG guests during weekends and as part of their benefit majority of them request late departure which limits our availability. We also have to ensure that the guests checking in are allocated to the correct room type in accordance to their bookings. Having said this, I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant heads of department to ensure that the highest level of service and standards are met at all times.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and I hope you will consider returning to W London – Leicester Square in the not so distant future. Please feel free to contact me when you plan your next visit as I would like to oversee your stay personally. You can reach me via email on coen.vanniersen@whotels.com

Warm regards,

Coen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#534 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W London Leicester Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W London Leicester Square

Property: W London Leicester Square
Address: London Leicester Square London Leicester Square 10 Wardour Street, London W1D 6QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#270 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W London Leicester Square 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and quirky, glamorous and decadent, W London - Leicester Square crystallizes the quintessential dual personality of the British soul. Located steps away from theatre land, the catwalks of Brewer Street and Soho’s electric nightlife, the hotel - like the city itself - is a bold contrast of themes, colors, textures and characters. Experience luxury comfort and the vibrant decor of our rooms and suites, your ultimate pit stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your W London Leicester Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w London Leicester Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing