We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel In A Perfect Location For The Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W London Leicester Square
Ranked #394 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In A Perfect Location For The Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week in Europe. Our last stop was 23 hours in London. We got tickets for Les Miserables at the Queen's Theatre, which is 1 block from the W. I am an SPG Gold, so I try to stay at SPG properties when I can. The W was right in the middle of Leicester (pronounced Lester for us ignorant Americans! You should have seen the looks I got when I said Lie-Chester!) Square. I know that the W's can be a "funky" property, and some of the reviews are not glowing. But we decided on the W for SPG and location. We were NOT disappointed! OK, so it is "hip", whatever that really means. It is a nice property. We were greeted immediately, and very pleasantly at the front door by a bellman. Didn't need any assistance with the 1 carry on bag, so they graciously told us to go to the lobby to register. When we took the elevator to the lobby, registration was right there. Bernardo checked us in. Some of the reviews say that the front desk was "snotty", "rude", and "condescending". This could have not been further from what we encountered. Bernardo was excellent and went out of his way to be courteous and gracious. Registration was quick, and we got a great room. YES, the hallways are dimly lit. But the room was great! We heard NO loud music which bothered us and we had a great night's sleep! YES, it is expensive. But every hotel around Leicester Square was. And London is. But for location convenience, and quality of the rooms, and the staff, we would definitely stay at the W London again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Eyedoc44

Thank you for your excellent review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with Bernardo and the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best and we all look forward tow welcoming you back again.

It would be great to have you with us again, please let us know when. You can contact me on coen.vanniersen@whotels.com

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    576
    282
    137
    144
See reviews for
185
712
154
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you like, cool, trendy, sophisticated, edgy, quirky, fun and a calm retreat from the madding crowd then stay here!

Last time I stayed in London I stayed at the Le Meridian (part of the same SPG Hotel group) just down the road and that was more to my taste!

Nothing wrong with this hotel - in fact the staff were outstanding, very courteous and friendly. Breakfast was a good selection and a light lunch in the bar was just right. Room was clean, bed was comfy and all you needed was provided for.

So W Hotel - Sorry....it's me not you!!

PS If you are over 48 you may want to take a torch so you can find your room down the funky lit corridors :-)

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ive-been-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ive-been-here,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best.
However, I am sorry to hear that the hotel is not entirely to your taste. I do hope you will decide to return to W London in the near future, please let me know as I would like to personally oversee your reservation. I can be reached on coen.vanniersen@whotels.com

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you like being in the middle of a city that never sleeps than the W is for you. However if you value your sleep, find another hotel. Though the beds are great, there is no way to escape the street noise even if on higher floor.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if traveling for business. Way too loud for restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmaskid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear xmaskid76,

Thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry that the experience failed to Wow you as much as it should have. We take the feedback of our guests seriously and we value each point made to ensure that we maintain the level of extraordinary service that is expected from a W Hotel

I agree, W is located in the heart of London with Soho’s electric nightlife at our doorstep. We appreciate that this may sometimes affect noise levels from both inside and outside the hotel. But rest assure we are always looking for ways to improve guest experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had a great experience at the W in Leicester Square. First, it is an excellent location for theatre and access to several Tube Stations (Leiecester Square and Picadilly Circus). Second, the rooms are beautifully designed: an open space with an island that has a counter to work or eat; and your sink. The bathroom and shower are tucked behind a mirrored wall (ask the bellman to acquaint you with the room- the lighting options can be a bit tricky). The staff was excellent -- as an SPG member, I was offered an upgrade; late check out; and received complimentary wifi and movies. Staff also quickly responded to all my requests. The hotel itself is very edgy in its decor; typical W dim lighting in public areas; beautiful flowers and black and white photos. The room was quite light and mostly white. The only negative comment I have is that the design of the shower and bathroom and the lack of exhaust fans tend to leave both enclosed spaces a bit musty. Though others complained about the nightclub on the first level; I did not find this to be a problem in terms of either noise or access (and I was there during Pride week). I would love to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Orb,

WOW!

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W experience including the location. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best. I hope you will give us the opportunity to WOW you again on your next visit.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with modern and cool interior and excellent service! The room was utterly amazing with sexy interior and comfy beds. A tip is to order a vinyl player to the room (it's free) and that if you stay at the hotel you get free access to the night club (which was worth checking out at least!). Also the complimentary bathroom kit in the room with shampoo, conditioner, body wash, face wash, body butter etc was super fresh and the best I've gotten at a hotel! Definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magdalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Magdalima,

WOW!

Thank you for your excellent review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best. I hope you will give us the opportunity to WOW you on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stunning modern room loved it. Bed was so comfy. Perfect location. Only downside was the grumpy receptionist on arrival. "Photo id and I will need your credit card to authorise £75 for incidentals". No please or thank you nor an explanation as to why she needed to "pre authorise" my card for a substantial amount except that it's " Company Policy!" Anyway, that aside and the fact that the check out reception man was extremely helpful, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Helen H,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best.

However, I have noted your point about pre-authorisation. This is a standard requirement to cover for any extras incidentals during guests stay. I am sorry if this was not explained to you in details at the time. I would like to assure you that we take the feedback of our guests seriously, as we are always looking for ways to improve upon on our guests’ experiences. I have already shared your feedback with the management team to review this further.

I hope you will decide to return to W London in the near future, please let me know as I would like to personally oversee your reservation. You can reach me via email on coen.vanniersen@whotels.com

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
587 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

a truly cool place at the edge of Chinatown, Leicester Square and Picadilly Circus -
cool room, although on the small side, typical W style with some of the best beds you can find in hotels - staff is service orientated and nice , the bar an "in-place" - make sure you get a room higher up as this place is a highly frequented spot

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen V, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Matthias F,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Coen

‘Keep in tune with what’s new and next at W London – Leicester Square’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#526 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W London Leicester Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W London Leicester Square

Property: W London Leicester Square
Address: London Leicester Square London Leicester Square 10 Wardour Street, London W1D 6QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W London Leicester Square 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and quirky, glamorous and decadent, W London - Leicester Square crystallizes the quintessential dual personality of the British soul. Located steps away from theatre land, the catwalks of Brewer Street and Soho’s electric nightlife, the hotel - like the city itself - is a bold contrast of themes, colors, textures and characters. Experience luxury comfort and the vibrant decor of our rooms and suites, your ultimate pit stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W London Leicester Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w London Leicester Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing