We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern Eye Balti House

Eastern Eye Balti House
Ranked #4,764 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Spitalfields
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Brilliant sevice and the best curry in London, its now our regular !!
We go once or twice a month and always find a friendly welcome, my wife is disabled and they always take good care of here while i go and park the car.
If you are in London this is the place to go for an Indian meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good choice if you're in Brick Lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I've been to many of the curry houses on brick lane and this is only one of 2 I keep going back to. The food is pretty good, well priced, and the service is fine. Would recommend this one if you want a place on Brick Lane, though there are better places in other areas (Tayyabs, Roti Chai etc).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Gus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant for lunch as it was recommended by a friend. We took the lunch deal and didn't even manage to eat it all. Service was very efficient and friendly. Will visit again when next time in London.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hi,
I went to this place because Tayyabs was jampacked and this place had an overall good rating. However, it was a bad decision. The service was average, not too prompt, but not too slow either. The ambience was ok, the place was clean. However, any restaurant is only as good as its food.

First off, we ordered a Tandoori Platter: miniscule portions (though this was supposed to be sufficient for 2 people), taste was just ok. Hardly any salt in it though: how can u have Tandoori with no salt, Blood Pressure be damned!

Next: Chicken Vindaloo and Garlic Naan for me: Portion was just sufficient. Vindaloo was bad, plain bad.... oily, barely any spices other than chillies and again, no salt! :) Nan was ok

Mughlai Chicken Biryani for my partner: The Mughal cooks would be turning in their graves if they came to know what is being passed on as Biriyani here. It was awful.... just awful. It tasted like some sorry attempt at a stir fry. I wonder what the other reviewers will say if they ever go to South Asia and taste an actual authentic Biriyani! Really, such restaurants are a disgrace to the food they claim to serve!

Anyways, this was my first and last visit to this restaurant and hopefully Brick Lane. Please avoid at all costs. Take the effort to cook up something by reading from a website, or take some Ready to Eat meal from M&S or Tesco, which I am sure will taste much, much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sidsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good, we ate here 3 nights in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

No one stands outside hassling u to come in, they don't need to. The food is so good, it is the best curry I have ever eaten & that includes my (Indian) mum's, it pains me to say.

We had chicken sizzler, king prawn makhani, pran puri, butter chicken, palak paneer, vegetable bhuna, tarka dhal, cheese & garlic naan, keema rice & plain rice & of course, poppadoms (over 3 nights).

All the food looks fresh made & is a feast to the eyes, with none of the gucky sauces u usually see. The staff were polite & professional but we sometimes struggled to get their attention.

Overall though a gem of a restaurant. If only they would open one in Nottingham.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drummergirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Eye Balti House also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Eye Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing