We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“\worst hostel ever!”
Review of 4 Star Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
4 Star Hostel
Ranked #596 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is the worst hostel or guest house I have ever experienced in my 30 years of traveling. Mildew, mold and now they are taking the door off of the refrigerator and throwing the food away without notice. One out of 3 of the bathrooms for 60 women is broken. No mutual living space, no kitchen or anywhere to eat. \and now the owner is fighting verbally with one of the young women. He is extremely rude and disrespectful and scary. He has asked her to leave and has given her money to do so. He now says that he is taking the fridge apart and that the website never said that those facilities are available. Do not trust this place. \bad vibe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Binky_610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Binky,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations back in October 2011.
We apologize if one of the 3 bathrooms did not work when you stayed here.
Our guest can use the Kitchen area if they need a place to eat.
On all the websites it is advertise that we do not provide coocking facilities or fridge.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel Piccadilly, London.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed there for a week. The location is excellent - close to tube, metro, convenience store and cafes etc. I wouldn't give 4 star though. Although fridge, microwave, and sink is there, no working stove us provided.

Bed rooms have various numbers of beds. These beds are pretty tightly packed - I can't imagine staying here when it's > 80% occupied - that would be way too many ppl competing for the spaces and shower spot. And as always, there are some pretty inconsiderate ppl. So it's definitely not a leisurely place to hang out. But if you just want a place to crash at the end if the day, maybe this is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mypillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Hi dear MyPilllow,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.

Please note that 4 star is the name of our hostel and not our rating.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :)

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hostel is so well placed! It is right in the heart of London with so many tourist attracts close by. I stayed at the Piccadilly Guest House because I was on a writing course for the weekend and the accommodation proved to be just what I required:- a comfy bed, clean and hygienic, with more than decent lavatories. Although things are a little cramped, what is offered is perfect for the price. For ladies looking for a night on the town and needing a place to stay, this place is great for it stays open to a convenient hour. If ever, some of the ladies did struggle to keep the noise down but once kindly asked to quiet down a little, I managed to sleep perfectly sound.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillips004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostel4star, Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

You must take into account that Hostels are the lowest form of accommodation, but we do endeavour to make your stay comfortable for you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you was pleased with what you got for the price we charge. We are in the best location and are always improving the services and extras we offer to all our guests staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

When I think of hostels I think of crappy, smelly back packers places so when I found this place and it's website I was a little warey. I think a women only hostel is a brilliant idea especially when there are quite a few females who travel alone. I wasn't backpacking or anything, I was in London to see a few friends and didn't want to spend tonnes on a hotel when I was there for only 1 night. Guys can stay but only if accompanied with a female and sharing one of the few double rooms with that female.

It's really close to the centre of London which I thought was awesome and only a 3 minute walk from Piccadilly tube station. Trying to find it may have been difficult if I hadn't been told to find the sign for the Abracadbra restaurant and HeyJo. There was no sign for the hostel but all 3 are through the same door.

I was greeted by a tubby smily guy who was working in the restaurant who led me up stairs to the dorm rooms. He made sure to announce himself when we arrived by the lift so that any 'non-decent' girls had time to respond - nice thought, I thought.

The whole place seemed clean, airy and pretty modern. I was shown my bed and because I told them I was going to return late that night/early morning, they gave me the bed nearest the dorm room door so as to not wake anyone when I got back.

The bunk was really comfy and I had a really nice thick duvet.

As far as I was aware there was only one bathroom for our floor which had room for about 20 in the dorm room and a double room?! Not great. But no one seemed to mind much sharing the one mirror and waiting to use the shower and loo.

The kitchen was really nice and modern and a decent size although it may have been a bit small if there were a lot of people wanting to do food at the same time?

They offer to look after any valuables if you go out and say that leaving the rest of your stuff under your bed is fine. I didn't have much with me so I was ok with this.

If you think you'll be back from a night out after 3.30am then you can pay a refundable deposit to have a key for the night which I thought was good.

Overall I was pretty impressed with this place and I'd definitely stay here again if I was going to stay in London by myself again.

I booked direct through the hostel so unlike the lady above, I was aware I had to pay VAT. I don't think I met the owner so I can't say anything about his behaviour but the guy I did meet seemed really nice and was genuinely ok with having to turn up to work early to collect my key and give my key deposit back on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eeasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostel4star, Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

You must take into account that Hostels are the lowest form of accommodation, but we do endeavour to make your stay comfortable for you. We are happy to know that you would come and stay again in the near future. Alot has changed since you stayed with us back in Oct 2010 like: We do not have any double rooms anymore and all rooms are now female only shared dormitories, limited kitchen use being a hostel and not self catering accommodation and no keys with deposits. But however we do still offer freshly made luxury beds for all guests,FREE wifi & laptops (in the main reception area) for your whole stay, office facilities like: printing, faxing, copying and use of phones (charges apply), towel hire, iron & ironing board, laundry service (charges apply), discounted restaurant & club vouchers for your stay, cleaner daily, free luggage storage on check in and check out and much more. We now have a designated secure area away from the hostel to keep guests personal belongings they wish to leave with us while out sightseeing and visiting London or for there whole stay. We still do not have a sign outside due to being a female hostel we do not wish to draw attention to the building and have in the main lobby area of the address a sign pointing down to the main reception we have in the restaurant for the whole building. All staff our fully knowledgeable in dealing with all the different businesses in the building and dealing with all guests and customers. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank francescabuff0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arturo_B4ndini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Une telle prestation ne devrait pas se trouver en ligne !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 44bri44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 930 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Star Hostel

Address: 91 Jermyn Street, London SW1Y 6JB, England (Formerly Piccadilly Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 4 Star Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A London Hostel Providing Cheap Hostel Accommodation in Central LondonThe Hostel 4 Star @ The Piccadilly Guest House is a new, modern, penthouse-style ladies only hostel providing comfortable, cheap hostel beds in Central London.We offer a low cost, safe and convenient hostel accommodation for ladies to stay when visiting London England.Based on the top floor of a modern block on historic Jermyn Street, it is moments from top London attractions, including the West End Theatreland, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and Oxford Street.Easily accessible via Piccadilly Circus, Green Park and Leicester Square underground tube stations, and just 15 minutes from Waterloo, Piccadilly Guest House should be your choice when planning a trip to London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing