We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, mediocre food, crap ambience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Star

The Old Star
Ranked #5,058 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rude staff, mediocre food, crap ambience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very very very surly, unhelpful staff + poor service and rather bland food..I work nearby by so will be sure to avoid!!! Good luck owners!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veritas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    106
    39
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A true star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first trip to London and we were glad we found this gem , when we went to the bar the barman was very pleasant ( even when we was run of his feet ) . We ordered our starters my partner had the potted smoked mackerel and i had the squid with Roquito peppers ,the squid was cooked to perfection as was the mackerel, for our mains we both had the sirloin steak with side ordereds of onion rings and garden salad, both our steaks were cooked to perfection as was the onion rings the only thing was we were meant to have peppercorn sauce with the steaks but had bearnaise sauce instead it was still a nice sauce, the service was excellent they had the were timings just spot on without keeping us waiting or feeling rushed.AS for the drink if you like a strong dark ale i would recommend the suffolk strong dark ale its 6% but very smooth and tasty for a bottled beer .This is a great eating place and very good value considering it was in Westminster, the atmosphere was very good too, buzzing but also relaxing. We would definitely return to The Old Star.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank les l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

large choice of dishes to choose from, fab decor downstairs, was very quirky & staff were very plesant. Will go back here again when in the area, reasonable priced also

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first night in London and this fit the bill very nicely. Excellent ales, my wife enjoyed her fish and chips, and I my chicken sandwich with bacon. Atmosphere is probably nicer downstairs, where we ate. Service was good, had no trouble finding and serving us while the food was still hot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank argman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Barman abrasive, not very bright and food the worst we have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

When we started to order food the barman asked us where we would be sitting. We said downstairs. He asked where downstairs? We answered are the tables numbered? He answered no. I then went downstairs and found an empty table. I went back to the barman and said at the bottom by the stairs. When the food arrived, luke warm, twenty five minutes later the waitress visited every table to see if our food was for that table. Clearly the barman was just being difficult.
The food was dreadful, I still have indigestion. My wife's 'club sandwich' looked as if it had been assembled from some leftovers. I am not a fussy person and neither is my wife. We eat lunch in Westminster where we live and work. After the recent refurbishment of the Old Star we thought we would give it a try. What a waste of time and money. Never again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Star also viewed

 

Been to The Old Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing