We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, but far from the centre of London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Ranked #42 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel, but far from the centre of London”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

To save money, we stayed in an 11 pound per night 22 bed dorm. While a scary thought at the start and worried about the lack of sleep, we were happy to realise while the hostel wants the guests to have a good time, they kind of discourage a loud party atmosphere and restrict any type of drinking and partying to the resturant area which is far from the rooms. Also it is expected that between the hours of 11pm and 9am the noise is kept to a minimum. This was great for sleeping, not to mention small but incredibly comfortable bunk beds. There were also a suprising number of older guests and families in the hostel.
The bathrooms were horrible though, unthinkably small and awkward to manouvre when having a shower or using the toilet or even brushing your teeth! The location is not very good, no decent shops around though there is a decent Indian resturant just up the road everything else is deep fried junk food. The bus stops right outside the hostel and is 15 minutes to Central London which was fine for us.
Pros: Free breakfast (cereal, toast and croissants), quiet at night, comfortable bed, daily cleaners, privacy curtains around each bed
Cons: Bathrooms, unreliable wifi that is only around the reception area, not in the rooms and loses connection every few minutes, far away from central , staff were not very helpful or polite

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    222
    80
    33
    27
See reviews for
56
63
168
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spotlessly clean and with very good facilities - including a towel. Breakfast fine and very helpful cook was more than cooperative in providing an earlier than scheduled breakfast for our school group. Staff quite unhelpful and in one case just plain rude and inappropriate. A function suite is hired out which meant for a very night and showers/bathrooms reserved for the function which was not helpful and led to a constant stream of noisy partygoers passing by rooms. Unfortunate if you have been travelling and could do with a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazdaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

+++++ what I like
I liked the hotel, in general. Has nice and clean rooms, and very nice staff.
The bed was very comfortable. We had free access to internet, free access to computers and parking. Very quiet area
We had a locker inside our room that only open with our card key*

- - - - - What I did not like
It was too hot inside the building, and in the rooms, I had to sleep with almost no clothes and window open (in November...) and on the other hand the bathroom/toilets/shower room were too cold! which could be good to get sick! but... they were clean.
The hotel was a little far from the center. around 30 min by tude...
and the tube station was around 5 min walking from the hotel....

Anyway, in general it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived in the hostel around 9pm and receptionist could not find our booking. We showed him the confirmation e-mail and he checked us in. When we started going to our room, we realised that he had checked us in 10-bed dorm even though we had booked (and paid for) a 4-bed one.
We asked why we are not in the room that we payed for and he said that they were fully booked.
Since we had stayed in big dorms before and had just had a long flight from US we asked if they had any doubles so we could actually sleep. They did. For the first night but since the hostel was full for the second night, we would have to spend second night in 10-bed dorm.

When we asked them to compensate the difference for second night, the answer was that since we spent first night in double room, it costs us the same amount! And the fact that we could not stay in the room we had booked did not mean anything.

Out of 6 receptionists that were working while we were there, only one knew how to handle a problem situation without blaming a customer. Unfortunately she was not working on the day we left...

Room Tip: Don't stay in 10-bed dorm B04 - it's located in the basement and in addition to all the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11309995, Sales and Marketing Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay at our hostel. Kindly send us your booking details to hillspring@palmerslodge.co.uk so that we can investigate your complaint further.

Regards

Esther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This place was amazing! The staff had the best customer service I have experienced in all of my travels around Europe. The place was cleaned like 20 times a day and the breakfast was exactly what was needed to start a great day of sightseeing. The area is in zone 2 in a leafy green suburb with an easy 5 min walk to the tube station. I will definately be going back here again and again!

Room Tip: Larger dorms were great as they had privacy curtains! Score!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your review, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnjosephdonovan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Nice, laid back Hostel - I slept in the 22 bed male dormitory and found it perfectly acceptable. Bunk beds had their own curtains and were comfortable.

Shower / toilet facilities were clean and the staff were always helpful.

Continental breakfast was included in the price (£21 per night), so all in all, considering it's in London (though a little bit far out) I thought it was good value for money

Oh and the free internet is a big plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjosephdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Hello
thank you for your fair review, please let us know if you ever wish to stay again and we'll arrange a discount for you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have stayed in palmers lodge for a week with my friends, we were really happy to stay there.
It just 20 minutes on the tube from central London, 5 min from Willesden Green Station and the green surrondings are amazing.
The hostel itself is very secure with keycards to open the hostel gate, corridos, rooms and lockers :)
Breakfast is pretty decent and free same as Internet.
The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about london
I would definitely recomend this to my friends!
Thank you guys, will come back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#66 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Hillspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Property: Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Address: 233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge Hillspring 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in affordable accommodation doesn't have to mean a sacrifice in quality. At boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge Hillspring you will find many of the creature comforts you have in your own home, and many you wouldn't. Spacious living areas, quality furnishings, fully licensed bar and restaurant are just some of the reasons for choosing to stay at Palmers Lodge Hillspring on your next London visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Palmers Lodge Hillspring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillspring Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing