We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Tour guide!

This was a mother-daughter trip,. We had never been to England. I received a recommendation from a... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2023
Elynn1228
,
Florida
via mobile
Knowledgeable and personable

We had a bespoke tour with Laurence in September where he led a church group around the local area... read more

Reviewed 30 November 2022
C1182DQjonathan
Read all 216 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
209
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
209
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blenheim palace private tour tours cotswolds england oxford stories romans
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Laurence was a fun & knowledgeable guide> He told stories & gave historical facts that bought the Tower alive for our family.

Date of experience: April 2011
2  Thank i58oen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Laurence was assigned with a somewhat daunting task of engaging 36 teenagers and 13 educators in and around the sites of London. Included in our journey was St. Pauls, Buckingham Palace (no, he couldn't get us in), and neighboring attractions. He walked with a spring in his step, and a lilt in his voice, peppering information with that familiar dry English wit I so adore. He was willing to answer a barrage of questions & when our slightly weary group (we literally jumped off the plane following an 8 hour flight, onto a tour bus and began our adventure without a second of sleep) went into a lull, Laurence ramped up the dialogue with a clever question and answer session. Ever eager to impress, the students were soon back into the thick of it. I was fortunate to spend a little one-on-one time with Mr. Summers and delighted in his willingness to answer seemingly redundant questions & learn of his desire to explore and aid in an upcoming project of mine....THE OLYMPICS! I can say without reservation, he is available, knowledgable and eager to help in anyway he can. He's also discussed the possibility of a private tour of London which I feel would not only be informative, but just simply a great fun day with a local "Brit"...something few Americans would ever be able to experience. I am grateful to have had Laurence as our tour representative & will hopefully not only be able to use his services on my visits to England, but encourage others, without reservation, to make the contact as well.

Date of experience: April 2011
2  Thank TenniMocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Excellent tour. Fun and informative. Laurence did a great job catering to our needs, especially my 12 years old daughter. So much covered in such a short time(full day walking tour). It’s been a month and we still talking about it. We were told so many interesting details that can’t be found in your usual travel guides. Thank you Laurence

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank LanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Last month we went to London for five days. We were two classes with our teachers. On Monday and Wednesday we had a guide. His name was Laurence. We met him for the first time in front of the supermarket near our school. We started walking towards The Houses of Parliament. While we we were walking he told us everything he knew about London. He spoke with a very British accent and, in general, we understood him. He was friendly and willing to speak to us so we could improve our English. We enjoyed our experience even if we didn't understand everything he said. We reccomend Laurence as a guide for students.

3L1, Martina, Benedetta, Beatrice, Virginia
3L2, Ruggero, Martina, Vittoria

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank shesfearless
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We recently took a trip to London for my sister's milestone birthday - to avoid wasting time and wandering aimlessly, we hired Laurence to guide us for 3 days. One day was a tour of the Tower of London, St. Paul's, the Changing of the Guard, etc. Another day was a full day trip to see Windsor Castle and Hampton Court Palace. The third day was a market and pub crawl. Laurence has so much knowledge of both the city and the history of all of the sites we visited - even the pubs! Every single minute was filled with information - as much or as little as we wanted. Having a private guide was also great because our scheudle was totally flexible - if we had had enough in one place, we just moved on - no schedules to hold us back or itineraries to lock us in. This was quite relaxed even though we packed a lot in.
I had used Laurence in the past which is why I hired him again for this trip. We were a much smaller group this time, and the experience was so much better with him. Besides being knowledgable and efficient, he was also very professional and a lot of fun. I would highly recommend that anyone going to London take advantage of his knowledge and very capable touring abilities.

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank kinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews