We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Mex” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flying Burrito - CLOSED

The Flying Burrito
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Neighbourhood: Whitechapel
Description: We sell fresh Mexican food to eat in or take away. Our menu features slow-braised beef marinated overnight in Chipotle and regional specialities such as our chicken Pibil (cooked the Mexican way by grilling then baking on banana leaves), pork Tatemado (a recipe from Colima) and an authentic Oaxacan Mole (a complex dish seldom seen outside Mexico).We hope to welcome you soon to our little shop!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh Mex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wanting something quick, fresh and warm and fairly healthy too, you can't go far wrong with The Flying Burrito. Fast food with a difference. Approach the counter and immediately decide whether you would like a Burrito, Salad or Tacos. They all currently cost £6.10 without the additional optional items, but you can request a slightly smaller one for £5.25 if your not so hungry or of a smaller appetite.

Once you've chosen your meal you work your way along the counter, choosing between Pinto or Black Beans, Chicken, Pork or Vegetarian, Cheese, Quacamole,Pineapple & Sweetcorn Salsa, Sour Cream, Cheese, Lettuce & Cactus Leaves. Guacamole and Guindilla Chilli are extra so I opted for without and avoided the cheese as trying to be health conscious. The result was a delicious flavorsome hot lunch for slightly more than the cost of a sandwich!

Even during the peak lunch hour the wait was not too long and being both delicious and fairly healthy (especially if you avoid the cheese and Tortilla and opt for the Salad version instead). Will definitely be heading back here on a regular basis!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neils_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Something a bit different in this part of London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I've always been a fan of the burrito, and when this opened up across the road from my office I was filled with joy. Whilst they are a bit on the pricey side at about £7 including guacamole, it was nonetheless a satisfying change.

The pineapple salsa worked well with the tender pork, and the staff were friendly, but while the portion wasn't as big as some other burrito joints I've used in the past, it was still satisfying.

No option of a hot sauce is available at the counter to add, or wasn't to me, so for those who like it a bit warmer I'd suggest some of your own sauce, but it had a pleasant slow burn to it.

Only half a dozen seats inside so it's mainly going to be takeaway from here, but a place I'll definitely pop in to again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dan_w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and exotic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Good and tasty burritos ther. You will have a wide choice of ingredients, exotic that will make your burrito taste like not any you would have taster before. You can't even imagine how much food they fill in. It is very fulfilling.
If you like burritos, this place is to try!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lebenparisot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food - a little overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Although their burritos taste fantastic and are well made from fresh ingredients, at £5-£6 each they don't compare price-wise to the multitude of choice you can get in Petticoat Lane market around the corner. At £4 each I would probably eat there everyday.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“By far the best burrito in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The title says it all - everyone I've taken to the Flying Burrito has come back multiple times and I only found this place a month ago. This place blows it competitors (especially the ones in it's immediate vicinity) out of the water.

Helpful?
Thank Tex2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Burrito also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing