We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply horrible hotel ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simply Rooms & Suites
Ranked #612 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed for the week in this hotel that many people described it as "good and well located"; being quite new in London I didn't expect "west kensington" area to be a dodgy one.. Some "guys" in the street were standing in a corner doing nothing which is not very relaxing when you are a young lady on your own...
Luckily I arrived to the hotel in one piece but it toojk me ages to find the address.. It's not that close to the tube station as some of the reviewed mentioned below.
At the moment I stepped in the hotel I asked the receptionist to cancel my reservation so I can find a more decent or at least go back to NH Kensington hotel where I usually stay. The main reason why I didn't even to check in the room is that I did'nt feel safe at all during these 15 mns walk from the tube station.
Sadly the receptionist refused to cancel my reservation as it was already paid so I didn't really have the choice.........
Secondly being a young lady I was expecting someone or the receptionist to take my luggage to the floor where my room is, she just said that they don't do these kind of services so I had to do it myself.. 3 floors later I arrived at the destination sweating and tired. My disappointment just grew up more by looking at the size of the room , the bathroom and the overheating in the whole hotel. It was like being in a sauna, even though I turned off the heating and opened the window.
I woke up late at night ( heating turned off) sweating and was convinced that there should be a mini-bar or bottle of water available.. Of course there was none and had to ask 2 or 3 times before someone brought a 25 cl water bottle in the morning.
To survive my friend and I had to drink the "boiling" water from the mini-sink as even the wtaer cold was not available :(
Anyway, if you are looking for a decent place .. avoid this Simply overheated-shoe box!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluemarley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com and reviewed the website. Both descriptions were nothing like the hotel actually was. Located in a suburb of london, 40 minutes away by tube from central london and an unpleasant 10 minute walk from the nearest tube station. My room was on the top floor, the website said that though there is no elevator the staff will help bring your luggage to the room - there was no such occurrence. The staf, in fact, was not accommodating and rather lazy, every request was met with "sorry sir" since nothing was possible to be done. Not receive more than the measly 4 hangers, have my bags brought up to the room or many other such requests, usually immediately answered at decent places. The room, described as an "executive suite" was puny. tiny. smaller than a keyhole. (Executive suite? LIE!) I couldn't enter the bath-cell (no, it is correct - the bathroom was the size of a highschool locker) without closing the closet door, and the door to the room could not open fully since it would meet the bed at the halfway mark. the bedsheets were something of a nightmare, itchy and hard - nothing I would wish anyone to ever experience. The tube station which some here describe as "near-by" is nothing of the sort, especially when you arrive with luggage, in the rain, it is very far and the hotel is difficult to locate upon initial arrival by foot. At night this suburb is swamped with marijuana smoking teenagers and the smell penetrates the room as well - horrible.This by far is the most grotesque, unaccommodating, deceitful hotel I have ever been too. Every second I spent in it was torture, should be converted to a prison - it is that much of an abomination.
I booked it for 6 nights, but couldn't bare to stay beyond 3, as I wanted to scratch my skin off with disgust. I packed myself on the third night and checked out as soon as first morning rays were visible through the neighbourhood's marijuana smoke. I stayed the remainder of my trip at the Radisson Blue near Bond st. station, which was wonderful, but even that couldn't make up for my suffering in that hell-hole in south kensington.
Don't ever stay there, you will hate yourself if you do.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank theknowledgeable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Bhimji, General Manager at Simply Rooms & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post review on Trip advisor, I have noted your feedback in detail and shared it with the relevant Department Heads to initiate corrective measures. I assure you greater care will be taken on your future visits with us.
With regards to assistance with room allocation, on request we do allocate our guest on lower floors if rooms are available. We have standard size of bathroom in all the rooms, of course the facilities differ upon the room categories, however, please may I request you to treat this incident in isolation and let it not mar the impression of the hotel, as it is our earnest endeavour to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is most comfortable. Do let me know when you plan to visit us next, as I will be delighted to look after all aspects of your stay personally.
We value your feedback, as it is feedback from esteemed guests like yourself, which assist us to review our systems and procedures in striving for better service.
My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
For further assistance you may email : Stay@simplyroomsandsuites.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here just after New Year and wanted somewhere reasonably near to the Royal Albert Hall.

This offered all the basics at a very reasonable price (considering not far from Kensington). Think we even benefited from free upgrade to a suite, although wasn't mentioned when we checked in.

Quiet neighbourhood, not far from Kensington Olympia station. Would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We had ground-floor front Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie20205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is in a quiet residential part of South Kensington. Please heed the advice of the other writers regarding the lack of an elevator. Elderly or physically challenged people should not stay at this hotel as there are several flights of steep stairs. The rooms were very tidy and comfortable. They were very well accessorized and the location of the hotel was really great. There was a small problem with the heating. In my colleague’s room (16) the heat did not work. Despite raising the issue twice, nothing was done. In my room (15) the heat was too hot and could not be adjusted downwards. The internet went down for about 12 hours but the staff was very good about keeping us informed as to the progress of repairs. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms kept clean. The shower worked well and the rooms had a kettle and small refrigerator which were very convenient. The feeling was like having your own little studio apartment in London. We would like to make special mention of the young man ( I suspect he was from a Nordic county) who worked evenings during the week. He could not have been more responsive or helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MitchellKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Bhimji, General Manager at Simply Rooms & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at Simply rooms and suites.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and have left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services.Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to heating and that it wasn't followed by us, we request you to give us another opportunity to welcome you back and I will personally make sure you enjoy a comfortable stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and services it is indeed a great motivation for them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in October. Great location conveniently located near tube. Tube is about a 5 minute walk. Quiet location. Since it's a small hotel, it's located amongst flats in a residential neighborhood. It was really great to be actually staying amongst Londoners who were just going about their daily lives! Rooms are small, but we expected that in a London location. Very clean. It's the staff that truly make this a memorable place to stay. Ms. Patel is amazingly nice and helpful. She was always willing to help us figure out how to get to different locations and helpe us book a day trip to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, and Bath, which I highly recommend. The other 2 young men who work there are also very nice and helpful. I have recommended this place to friends and business acquaintances and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydee427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Bhimji, General Manager at Simply Rooms & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting you feedback on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to note that you had a memorable stay at Simply rooms and suites.Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.It is feedback from esteemed guest like you,which motivates he entire team to strive towards excellence.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to London on your next visit assuring you of our best services at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

First impressions outside were not particularly auspicious which was a shame as the interior was well decorated and absolutely spotless. Rooms a little cramped but the beds were so comfortable. Everything one could need was provided in the room. Staff were very helpful and courteous . Very good value for money for a London stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caproco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Bhimji, General Manager at Simply Rooms & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at Simply rooms and suites.

I am happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and have left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October.
We checked out and was on our way to Cheltenham to visit a friend.
When we left Cheltenham and on our way to Heathrow, my wife realised that she did not have her wallet with her; there was quite a lot of cash, credit cards, and debit cards in the wallet.
We checked our luggage thoroughly and thought the wallet might have dropped onto the floor of Simply Rooms and Suites when we were packing.
We called the hotel and the front desk reception was very very helpful. She promised to checked the room after the guests leave the room, and called us back several times, the calls were international.
After some searching, they found the wallet which has fallen off the bed while we were packing (as we suspected). She got the hotel car to send the wallet to Heathrow to us (we were on our way to Rome that day).
We were very touched and impressed by the service standard of this hotel, and especially that lady at the front desk that day. Many thanks,

Corinne and Mark
Singapore

Room Tip: Hotel is situated in West Kensington, a nice neighbourhood in London. Although a tad small, it was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marktc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Bhimji, General Manager at Simply Rooms & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your generous feedback.
We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay at Simply rooms and suites.Our team is our strength, and your review is truly very motivating for them.

We look forward welcome you back at Simply Rooms and Suites, to your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#791 of 1,081 in London
472 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#525 of 1,081 in London
387 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#699 of 1,081 in London
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kings Head Hotel
#600 of 1,081 in London
52 reviews
Caring Hotel
#560 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#79 of 1,081 in London
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Rooms & Suites

Address: 21 Avonmore Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London W14 8RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#360 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £59 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simply Rooms & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Rooms & Suites is a part extended stay property located in convenient Olympia, Kensington. We are a brand new property as of 2010 with chic modern design bedrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Simply Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simply Rooms And Suites
Simply Rooms Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing