We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Kennington B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kennington B & B
Ranked #47 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a family break in London. We stayed at this bed and breakfast and it was perfect. We always stay in hotels but this was not an option in London as it was too expensive. We were so lucky to book this accommodation through late rooms. Very personal service from start to finish - the owner even met us at tube station. We had the top floor to ourselves and much to kids delight could see the london eye and shard from our rooms. Our accommodation was spotless and buffet breakfast ideal. We used the bus more than tube as it passed the top tourist attractions on each journey we made. As other reviews have mentioned this is not a luxury hotel but in my opinion this is a better option when in London with kids as it is more relaxing and calm after a busy day in the city. Top marks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from our weekend stay in London and were lucky enough to find the Kennington B + B. From booking to departure we were made to feel welcome. The room was a good size and nicely decorated with a very homely feel. The location was great, tube station 1 minute walk from our front door! If you are looking for somewhere quiet at a good price with easy access to central London then i would recommend staying here. We will definately be back in the future. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stopped in London for five nights to finish our holiday, and were lucky to stay with Sian and Charlie at their B&B in Kennington. Delightful couple with lots of suggestions for touring around their city. Loved the little B&B. If you want a luxurious hotel type holiday then stay in a hotel, but if you want a friendly, convenient, reasonable place to spend your nights, this is the place to call home. A little kitchen noise in the morning before the breakfast hour, but quiet the rest of the day. We will recommend Kennington to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oban14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Kennington B&B is just that...a bed and a breakfast. If your expectation is a luxurious hotel room to spend your days in, you'll be disappointed. If what you are looking for is a conveniently located, reasonably priced place to sleep, have breakfast, and base your explorations of London, I very much recommend the Kennington B&B.

The plusses:

Great location. Short walk to the tube station, and a neighborhood that is not as hectic and touristy as more centrally located establishments. Several good pubs and restaurants within walking distance, and not difficult to get a table.

Clean, quiet room. We heard practically nothing in our room (#6) and slept undisturbed.

Quick and friendly breakfast. The breakfast was always ready on time. It's not a grand buffet by any means...just a continental breakfast (nothing cooked) with good coffee. Worked for us.

The minuses:

The stairs are a bit tough to negotiate with large bags, and there is no elevator.

Wi-Fi is non-existent on upper floors, although fine in the breakfast room. They really should just install a cheap range extender to resolve this issue.

They do not take credit cards, taking only cash or Pay pal, which is not that convenient for Americans.

The "en-suite" bathrooms are not truly that. One must take a couple of steps in the hallway to reach the private bath.

Given the limitations, and the reasonable price for a well-located London B&B, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed on the top floor of the Kennington B&B for 4 nights in mid September. We had a bedroom and sitting room which gave us a lot of room to spread out. The rooms were clean and spacious. However, it was a bit awkward that all rooms, including bathroom, opened to a landing. We were the only ones on the floor so it was private, but if someone came up the stairs for some reason, they could have seen us sneaking between rooms after showering.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is no elevator. It was slightly awkward getting our suitcases up the narrow staircases, but overall we found them to be no trouble at all.

One of the worries that I had before booking was about the neighbourhood. I could find little information about it online. I found some older information in the tripadvisor forums saying that it wasn't the best neighbourhood but since no one mentioned anything in any of the reviews, we decided to take our chances. We really enjoyed the neighbourhood. It offered a bit of peace from some of the more hectic areas of London but still had plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. There were also grocery stores close by. It was right by a tube stop and bus stops so it was quick and easy to get to all of the places we wanted to visit. For those that like to walk, we also walked to Parliament and the London Eye.

Sian was a great host and was available every morning with information on attractions and the most convenient ways to get to them.

My only complaint was that we couldn't get a wifi signal in our room. We usually just made our way to the breakfast room in the basement to use the wifi when we needed it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Kennington 's location can't be beat - so convenient to the Tube. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and a chat with Sian every morning. We will recommend this B & B to friends and family.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Compared to most London B&B’s Kennington is cleaner, brighter and friendlier. The rooms are well decorated but quite small and the staircase is very steep if you are staying at the top. We didn’t find the beds particularly comfortable though and it is a little weird sneaking out on the landing in towel after your shower. On that note, the bathroom was lovely and the shower was truly excellent (especially by London standards). Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with good coffee. No bacon it’s true but toast up a bagel and think of the calories you are saving. The service was above and beyond; Sian was extremely helpful when we had a lost passport issue and Inga entertained our kids at breakfast.

Kennington itself is a vibrant neighborhood with good pubs and restaurants and is well located for most tube lines and is a short hop from the Eurostar if you are heading that way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannnoAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 580 in London
589 reviews
The Tommyfield
#49 of 580 in London
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#25 of 580 in London
642 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#60 of 580 in London
317 reviews
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#38 of 580 in London
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennington B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennington B & B

Address: 103 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £128 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennington B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Boutique B & B in a beautifully restored Grade II listed Georgian House built in 1786. Situated just 50 metres from Kennington tube station, our B & B is only minutes from Central London and all the City has to offer. All our rooms have original fireplaces, corniced ceilings, original Georgian shutters and cast iron radiators. 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linen. Free wifi and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kennington B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennington Bed And Breakfast
Kennington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing