We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityLodge London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CityLodge London
Ranked #325 of 567 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

From the outside, it can be quite hard to tell that you've reached the place unless you look very hard, as my boyfriend and I passed the place before turning back to realised we missed it.
The inside is nice however, clean and well kept. Check-in was a bit more complicated than expected when my boyfriend was asked for his ID as "policy" when everywhere else I'd been to only asked for mine as I was the primary payer. He didn't have his on him but it was a new lesson that the receptionist taught us and he let us off to proceed to our rooms.

We arrived on a very hot day, so we were pleased to see a fan in our room that was essential to keeping us cool, but we had a window with a view that could open aswell so that was helpful. The beds were comfy, the shower was nice and the toiletries simple but nice also.

Breakfast was a do-it-yourself style in the kitchen and I made eggs with toasts and croissants and there was a wide range of food on offer which was a good situation to have.

We went out the night before and was able to stay out for as long as we wanted, we kept our keys to open the front door and our room. Overall a comfortable stay, would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
16
43
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were charged £250 for a tiny, very basic double room for one night in this pretty poor guesthouse. En suite bathroom minimum fixtures and shower basin didn't appear clean. Breakfast awful, laid out in kitchen all the time, croissant so stale, coffee, jams, etc. all lowest quality. Entrance pourch and hallway very shabby. Never before stayed in such an awful place, what a scam during the Olympics charging that rate. It is very convenient to two tube stations.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Devon, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed one night for the Olympics and I chose this guest house based on location and price. I was glad that I had read other reviews on here as I was not expecting the outside to look appealing and I was right. If I had been walking along the road looking for somewhere to stay, I would not have considered this place - it looks almost derelict.
However, inside was clean and comfortable if a little shabby. We had a double room with an extra mattress on the floor and it was a bit cramped but we managed.
The kitchen is a good idea - you can find all you need to make a quick snack or breakfast.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Not somewhere I would recommend for a weeks holiday, but for somewhere to put your head down for one night it was perfectly adequate and exceptional value whilst the Olympics were on.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I am from india and I was in london for a family vacation during last sep'11 with my wife and 2 yr old daughter here for a week and too bad i selected this hotel for my trip.the receptionist was highly racist and very discriminatory based on colour. where as every other room in the hotel was cleaned and the bed sheets changed every three days the hotel staff / receptionist incharge didnt care about the rooms we were staying. probably it is only to us. i did see them treating the 'white' guests with all the courtesy that you can expect from a marriott staff.

no. we didnt pay any less than what others paid. during the last week of september we paid 60 pounds a night for eight nights in the hotel which is a rip off. also the twin rooms mentioned in the hotel website is a actually single room where you have to remove ur luggages to open and close the door.

if you are not a white and from a asian country better avoid this or should you plan to stay get ready to be loud in what you want. being polite will not lead you anywhere in this dips*it called hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank khaleel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giulianova, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at Kings Arm with my mother for one week, and it was a nice experience. For a reasonable price we got a warm, clean double room. It had an ensuite bathroom with a good shower, a comfortable double bed, a chair, tv, a small wardrobe and two small tables. The room was very small, but the staff cleaned it each day and towels and sheets were changed. We asked for one extra pillow and it wasn't a problem at all.
There's a cosy room downstairs with a well furnished kitchen where you can have breakfast, but also cook your own lunch, dinner or snack anytime. Kitchenware, pots, glasses etc weren't always well cleaned because of some careless guests, so I had to clean them before using them.
Black marks: my room wasn't so silent, we could hear people talking in the next room. Since it's a well travelled zone, traffic may disturb some people, but I easily fell asleep each night because I was very tired after walking all day long.
You can reach a DLR station in 1 minute, and Bow Road tube station is 5 minutes walk distant from the guest house, such a plum.
There's a supermarket next to the hotel where you can buy pretty much everything you need, and a laundrette.
Recommended for those who want to save some money but yet not renounce a dignified accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We (2 adults and a 2 yr old) stayed at the King's Arms in August 2011 and found it to be clean, comfortable, well connected (bus stops, DLR and tube within short walking distances), and the staff, especially Mr Dil, were extremely helpful and friendly. The riots broke out whilst we were there, and Mr Dil went to great lengths to help us feel safe.

Laundry and convenience store right next door, with pubs, cafes, take aways and restaurants a little further down the road.

The facade could do with a lick of (brighter?) paint however -- it belies the excellent condition of the place indoors.

Great value, would recommend it any time. You also get free cereal and fruit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
CityStay Hotel
#942 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Bow City Apartments
#443 of 828 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norbury Apart Hotel
#269 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
RMA Hostel
#178 of 828 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#260 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLodge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLodge London

Property: CityLodge London
Address: 167 Bow Road, London E3 2SG, England (Formerly Kings Arms Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — CityLodge London 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your CityLodge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing