We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets basic needs”
Review of CityLodge London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityLodge London
Ranked #308 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 November 2013

To be fair, I would rate this as better than poor, but lower than average, as there are still improvements to be made.

From the outside, the building looked derelict and if you knew it was the hotel you would be very concerned and think it had perhaps shut down or think twice about walking through the door. We walked past it, and then turned back when we realised that it was the hotel (it was not signed). The reception area is small, with tatty furniture and uninviting. The front door (which requires a key to enter, or ring the doorbell) did not seem secure. Although extremely compact, the room was thankfully clean but my husband found that the bed sheets smelled strange and unpleasant. Basic amenities available in room (soap, TV, small wardrobe). Good location on main road within walking distance to 2 train stations. Breakfast is not provided but there is a common kitchen where tea/coffee/chips/biscuits are available, although we didn’t look at it. There is no elevator but the staff helped us carry our luggage up the steep, narrow steps. Good for budget travellers not seeking luxury, and if you are simply wanting a roof over your head and a hot shower for a night. I tried not to think about what would happen if a fire started in that building, as it all seemed so confined. Seems to be a work in progress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2013

On arriving, we were slightly unnerved by the abandoned looking exterior; we walked past it a couple of times before seeing the paper sign in the window. However, the inside was a completely different matter. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The shared kitchen was very clean and modern, and breakfast was offered, though we didn't use it.
The location is excellent: it is very close to Bow Road, a Zone 2 tube station, providing easy access to central London, and there is a shop 30 seconds away which is handy for any bits and bobs that you may have forgotten. Very affordable, but this does not reflect on the guest house itself at all! Simply very good value, I would highly recommend this, particularly for a single person or couple. Our room was small, so would not be comfortable for a family, but there may be bigger rooms available.
Overall, perfect for a comfortable cheap place to rest your head on your visit to the UK capital, cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found it to be comfortable enough. Room was small and bathroom tiny but shower pressure was great and water was hot! Free wifi but it was a little hit and miss, breakfast provided in a make your own style communal kitchen, very basic but plenty to go around. No lifts just stairs. We found our room quiet but we were not facing the streetand it is a busy road. Appearance from the front is terrible! No signs excepts for an a4 sheet in the window, we almost walked past it. Bit further out, but still easy to get to on the tube, the area was not ideal in terms of feeling safe (we are two females traveling) but we didn't actually have any issues and hotel was secure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosielea0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Kings Arms from the street appears to be bankrupt. There is no sign, rubbish piled outside the building, blanked out windows, the presentation is anything but inviting. After entering however things do improve. The rooms are modest in size, as are most in London, but they are comfortable and clean. We were 5 colleagues attending an exhibition and the street facing rooms were noisy, but the ones at the back of the building were fine. It is basic accomodation but certainly not the worst. One very good feature however was the communal use kitchen which was well stocked for breakfast and allowed an option to constantly eating out. The location is close to the DLR, tube, Boris Bikes and a couple of good local pubs. All in all, with a bit of a makeover and facelift this would be a good place to stay and very fair value. One tip, I booked on booking.com which advertises no booking or credit card fees, but on checking in and paying a 3.5% credit card surcharge was levied on our bill which was very annoying!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Noha A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The guys at the reception were very nice and helpful,the rooms was quite small and not very clean.The location is very close to the center wich is a good thing.We needed to leave the guest house two days in advance and they give us money back wich was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Stratford
#346 of 1,077 in London
1,275 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#966 of 1,077 in London
252 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#121 of 571 in London
226 reviews
The Grange
#334 of 571 in London
1 reviews
Acton Lodge
#261 of 571 in London
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLodge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLodge London

Address: 167 Bow Road, London E3 2SG, England (Formerly Kings Arms Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CityLodge London 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CityLodge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing