We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - great staff”

The Princess of Shoreditch
Ranked #1,647 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Description: Blissfully hidden down a quiet side street, the 'Princess' has become a Shoreditch institution. From the award winning people behind Smokehouse and the Pig and Butcher, the Princess serves top quality traditional British pub food in the lively downstairs bar and refined British & European cuisine in the elegant and charming dining room. We source the best meat and fish we can using small family companies, farms throughout the UK and south coast day boats. Winner of multiple awards including Timeouts "Best New Gastropub''.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent - great staff”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderfull food, great staff and very good locations. Both my husband and I enjoyed it tremendously and will make this a "must visits" when we are in London.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NSG0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    161
    50
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Service, food and atmosphere excellent as always! Thankyou for delivering great standards as always.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa-jayne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went for an early evening Sunday roast, the dinning room wasn't very busy, we had very excellent service, the roasts were good, although they came out very quickly and the meat was a little dry, and the potatoes tasted reheated - reading other reviews this might have just been a one off though.

The toilets were also very clean and smart. We would return in the future!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Booked a table for me & 3 friends to celebrate my birthday. After being shown to our table, we received prompt & attentive service, & enjoyed our various starters - Smoked salmon fishcake, Scotch Egg, & Cod cheek scampi. £ of us then ordered the Kentish lamb trio - succulent pieces of rump & cutlet & a shepherds pie, served with delicious roasted carrots & a side order of some of the best chips I've had. Finished the night with a lovely Creme Brulee, while 2 of my friends enjoyed an oozing chocolate fondant. Everything was excellently cooked, full of flavour & plentiful - felt absolutely stuffed at the end of the night. Would recommend this place to everyone & anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The princess of Sunday roast!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friends and I visited the Princess of Shoreditch for a Sunday roast and it proved to be an excellent choice.
We had a mix of chicken, beef and pork with nicely baked potatoes and gravy.
The meat was very tender and tasteful and the whole plate delicious. They also serve a nice variety of beer and ale.

The service was very good and the staff very friendly.
The venue is renovated and gives a home-like and comfortable feeling.

Regarding the price, it was very good value for money.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Princess of Shoreditch also viewed

 

Been to The Princess of Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing