We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The English Bus

The English Bus
Ranked #6 of 672 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest quality small group, personalised day tours from London with a maximum 16 passengers. Tours to Stonehenge, Bath, Oxford, The Cotswolds, Stratford upon Avon, France, Belgium and more. We go where the big buses can't and you get the personal attention from your extremely passionate, articulate, knowledgeable and personable guide that you cannot get in a larger tour group. Small family run business, we care about each and every guest we take on tour. Don't get lost in the crowd - guaranteed small groups for an unforgettable tour experience!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Haughton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We took The English Bus tour to Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford and Cotswolds the first week in April, 2014. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and taking a trip I have been dreaming of for about 15 years. I love English history and the whole day was amazing! Chris was our guide and he was full of wonderful information. We hope to take another tour on our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carynmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,516
    51
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We used The English Bus tour to Bath, Stonehenge, and Secret Place with Andrew (guide) and Nick (driver). What a fun day and an amazing trip! Andrew was extremely knowledgeable, funny, and made the trip a truly memorable experience for our family. All three locations we visited were remarkable in their own way!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank family500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
“The English Bus - Day Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent in every way.
Nick was our tour guide!!! Customer Service is excellent. Nick was not just the regular tour guide reciting off of a script, Nick was personal and very passionate about every location we stopped at. and he knew the history and back stories all along the way .he was energetic.
I asked him if he had been in theater, because as he told the history and stories he brought you in to the story like an actor brings you into the set of a play!
The secret location was so beautiful and fit exactly into what we wanted to see more of. Our trip was a full day and Nick dropped us off a short block from our hotel. He recommended a few things to see before the walking tour in Bath.
I would highly recommend Everyone visiting to set one day for a trip with The English Bus Day Tours. Actually, I wish they had a combined walking and driving tour of London and then the next day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This company really knows customer service. From booking to dropping off at hotel, every detail was brilliant. After I booked I had a few questions which were answered promptly via email. The little bus was prompt at the pick up point and at every stop along the way. Our group of seven were edutained by Nick, our host and driver. He certainly knew his history and took us from the main roads out into the country. He highlighted the most interesting details. Once we arrived in Bath after our secret stop, we had plenty of time to explore by ourselves and have lunch. Nick did a walking tour for those who wanted to join.
Then it was off to Stonehenge. Also plenty of time to explore those ancient rocks.
A very full day ending around 8:30pm. Well worth every penny.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Patient and knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I attended their Stratford/Oxford Day Tour in Apr.

This is a small, family-run business. Chris, the owner, doubles up as driver cum guide for his tours.

What compels me write a positive review for the English Bus is the level of intimate service provided by Chris during the tour. Clearly he has researched extensively to be able to conduct a thoroughly enjoyable tour of Statford, Cotwolds, and Oxford. In addition, he adapts his tours to prevailing conditions, such as weather, or even our preferences, given the smaller group, which is a big plus.

Lastly, Chris literally took us off the beaten track during the ride, introducing us to a very pristine part of the British countryside which arguably we would never have seen if not for the tour.

Thanks English Bus!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The English Bus also viewed

 

Been to The English Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing