We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 3rd stay”
Review of 9 Hertford Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
9 Hertford Street
Ranked #45 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“our 3rd stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned for our 3rd stay. The location is terrific only 5 mins through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and less to the tube. The staff are helpful and friendly. The apartments are large with a seperate lounge, dining and kitchen area. The ability to do your own laundry while away is beneficial. We stayed in room 201 - a traditionally furnished room. Rooms are serviced every day except Sundays. It is also an added bonus they can arrange for Tony the taxi driver to pick you up from the airport and let you into you room what ever hour.

Room Tip: Room 201overlookimg shepherds market prefer hertford street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
37
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've enjoyed the comfort of 9 Hertford St over many visits and enjoyed the care from the Hertford St team. And that care is not just fixing for a shirt to be cleaned; it can go way further, into quality emergency help.

On a recent visit I was suddenly hit by a burst appendix. Hertford St support - notably Vladimir and Nabil - looked after me with minimum fuss and maximum care and quickly got me to hospital and stayed with me to ensure I was properly admitted in A&E.

Other reviewers have commented on how Hertford St achieve a family atmosphere, how one feels at home when visiting. This emergency example shows how that family care culture extends way beyond simple stuff like clean shirts (and they're very good at that too). Thank you Hertford St.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank incomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a home from home experience. Good central location and excellent facilities provided. The helpful, unobtrusive and obliging staff ensure that this accommodation provides everything anyone would wish for when you are away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just returned from our second extended stay at this venue. Our three weeks spent there in May 2013 were ,as usual, fabulous. Aude and Vladimir are always extremely helpful, the location is ideal and the apatment has everything one would want to make you feel comfortable away from home.
The apartments are serviced daily and the staff are flexible as to when you would like this done. Shepherd Market itself has a wealth of quirky restaurants and pubs.

This is our preferred destination on our annual trips to the UK

Chris and Sheri Robinson

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

very nice apartments quite in the center of London. The attending staff were very knowledgeable. Excellent space although a bit pricey. A 10 minute walk from the tube station. Lot of restaurants around and a great coice of cuisine. Unfortunately no service in the apartments, although I must say I did not miss it. If one can afford this luxury, definitely recomended.

Room Tip: would expect all apartments to be of similar high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aude1969, General Manager at 9 Hertford Street, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for a smashing review :-)) We are all glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It seems that you have missed our housekeepers, who are around Monday to Friday.
Weekend service can be arranged and needs to be booked a day in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My fourth stay here and I absolutely loved it, nothing beats the location nor the value for money and nice attentions + warm welcome of the staff! Looking forward to my next trip to what has now become my Mayfair home. Highly recommended once again. A "sans faute" as we say in French;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laure012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We often go to London for the Christmas holidays and wanted an apt that would be centrally located in the best of London's neighborhood. 9 Hertford Street, was highly recommended by "London Suites", the travel agency we used, read the reviews and booked it for one week, December 24-31. What I thought would be a a safe and great place for my wife and kids turned out to be any traveler's worst fears. My wife came to realize that the passports had been stolen along with its content of cash. After an endless search effort and dealing with a manager who kept trying to insist otherwise, as well as trying to go through her personal belongings, she contacted the police. Miraculously the passports reappeared the following morning. Of course, void of its cash, absolutely EMPTY. It was clear that my family had been victimized while staying here, and someone had access to the apartment. FYI, don't trust the inside locks to provide much security, as the door can still be opened from the outside with keys. These things do happen, and its scary. Though, what made this situation even worst was how the management handled it. They have tried to trivialize it to my wife simply having misplaced her wallet, her memory, her being confused. Their actions were only about covering themselves at all cost. To date they have not taken any responsibility, not even some type of compensation. In fact, they sent an email demanding additional money. Do yourself a favor and find another place. This highly rated luxury place isn't worth your safety and security, it will cost you dearly. I'm convinced its happened to others before but no one has taken the time to write about it. I'll Be happy to share the police report and emails, if you want more details.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Velezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aude1969, Front Desk at 9 Hertford Street, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
This tendentious comment is riddled with half-truths and fabrications.
The guest in question has lost some money during their stay in London. We have offered all appropriate assistance under the circumstances, including extending their stay with us, whilst they were making alternative arrangements for their return journey. We have not put them under pressure or gone through their personal belongings.
We cooperated closely with the Metropolitan Police, sought advice from the US Consulate in London and kept the guest informed throughout.
The decision not to offer any compensation was based on our internal investigation as well as the opinion of the police officer in charge of the case.
In this unfair comment we are being made responsible for a misfortune that had nothing to do with us. Moreover, we are accused of things that haven't even happened. Note how at the end of his review the reviewer claims that "he is convinced its happened to others before but no one has taken the time to write about it."
Please refer to other comments for a more balanced view of our establishment which, incidentally, is celebrating 40 years in business this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#685 of 1,069 in London
57 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#382 of 1,069 in London
224 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#588 of 1,069 in London
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#737 of 1,069 in London
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Hertford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hertford Street

Property: 9 Hertford Street
Address: 9 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W1J 7RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Hertford Street 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel regularly, the comforts of home seem far away. In London, 9 Hertford Street can be your home. Our serviced apartments, in the very heart of Mayfair, offer the convenience of a luxury hotel with greater privacy and less formality. Whether you stay one night or several weeks, on business or vacation, 9 Hertford Street can be your home away from home in London. Our apartments are situated in historic Shepherd Market, one of London's most prestigious areas, and are just a short walk from Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly, West End theatres, galleries and shops, the finest restaurants and stunning Royal parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 9 Hertford Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing