We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could afford it I would stay here for half the year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Hertford Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
9 Hertford Street
Ranked #43 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If I could afford it I would stay here for half the year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I loved this place. The first time I stayed here I rented an apartment at the back on the fourth floor and it was fantastic. It was spacious and well-appointed with the most comfortable bed and incredibly quiet at night. The location is great - the small streets around with little shops, cafes and pub create a lovely village atmosphere. Five minutes in the other direction, you are on Piccadilly with all its stylish razzamatazz, which I always enjoy anyway, so I reckon you have just about the best of all worlds in this spot. I sort of tripped over this place and they happened to have a free apartment so I just took it. I returned a few weeks later and stayed in an apartment at the front of the building which was also lovely but slightly less well-appointed. It was also a little noisy but the location makes up for this and the nightly rate at the front is a bit lower as well. The service is great and the reception lounge on the ground floor is warm and welcoming. The flowers were stunning. All in all I thought this place was fabulous value for money but go for a room at the back on a higher floor. Only one omission - no milk in the fridge. We tea-drinkers really need this after a long journey and a late arrival!!

Room Tip: Fourth floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
37
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned for our 3rd stay. The location is terrific only 5 mins through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and less to the tube. The staff are helpful and friendly. The apartments are large with a seperate lounge, dining and kitchen area. The ability to do your own laundry while away is beneficial. We stayed in room 201 - a traditionally furnished room. Rooms are serviced every day except Sundays. It is also an added bonus they can arrange for Tony the taxi driver to pick you up from the airport and let you into you room what ever hour.

Room Tip: Room 201overlookimg shepherds market prefer hertford street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've enjoyed the comfort of 9 Hertford St over many visits and enjoyed the care from the Hertford St team. And that care is not just fixing for a shirt to be cleaned; it can go way further, into quality emergency help.

On a recent visit I was suddenly hit by a burst appendix. Hertford St support - notably Vladimir and Nabil - looked after me with minimum fuss and maximum care and quickly got me to hospital and stayed with me to ensure I was properly admitted in A&E.

Other reviewers have commented on how Hertford St achieve a family atmosphere, how one feels at home when visiting. This emergency example shows how that family care culture extends way beyond simple stuff like clean shirts (and they're very good at that too). Thank you Hertford St.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank incomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a home from home experience. Good central location and excellent facilities provided. The helpful, unobtrusive and obliging staff ensure that this accommodation provides everything anyone would wish for when you are away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just returned from our second extended stay at this venue. Our three weeks spent there in May 2013 were ,as usual, fabulous. Aude and Vladimir are always extremely helpful, the location is ideal and the apatment has everything one would want to make you feel comfortable away from home.
The apartments are serviced daily and the staff are flexible as to when you would like this done. Shepherd Market itself has a wealth of quirky restaurants and pubs.

This is our preferred destination on our annual trips to the UK

Chris and Sheri Robinson

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

very nice apartments quite in the center of London. The attending staff were very knowledgeable. Excellent space although a bit pricey. A 10 minute walk from the tube station. Lot of restaurants around and a great coice of cuisine. Unfortunately no service in the apartments, although I must say I did not miss it. If one can afford this luxury, definitely recomended.

Room Tip: would expect all apartments to be of similar high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aude1969, General Manager at 9 Hertford Street, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for a smashing review :-)) We are all glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It seems that you have missed our housekeepers, who are around Monday to Friday.
Weekend service can be arranged and needs to be booked a day in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My fourth stay here and I absolutely loved it, nothing beats the location nor the value for money and nice attentions + warm welcome of the staff! Looking forward to my next trip to what has now become my Mayfair home. Highly recommended once again. A "sans faute" as we say in French;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laure012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#332 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#686 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#489 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#558 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Hertford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hertford Street

Property: 9 Hertford Street
Address: 9 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W1J 7RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Hertford Street 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel regularly, the comforts of home seem far away. In London, 9 Hertford Street can be your home. Our serviced apartments, in the very heart of Mayfair, offer the convenience of a luxury hotel with greater privacy and less formality. Whether you stay one night or several weeks, on business or vacation, 9 Hertford Street can be your home away from home in London. Our apartments are situated in historic Shepherd Market, one of London's most prestigious areas, and are just a short walk from Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly, West End theatres, galleries and shops, the finest restaurants and stunning Royal parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 9 Hertford Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing