We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not amazing”
Review of La Sophia - CLOSED

La Sophia
Price range: US$6 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A sophisticated chef-owned restaurant, La Sophia offers French and Mediterranean gourmet cuisine in stylish surroundings. With elegant Mediterranean-style decor and high ceilings, the cosy candle-lit dining area makes La Sophia a chic destination in which to enjoy superb cuisine. Diners can enjoy a cocktail from the list before dinner at the intimate bar downstairs. La Sophia restaurant serves popular French dishes such as Foie Gras, Magret de Canard and Black Truffle of Perigord, alongside a choice of Mediterranean favourites including Calamari and Pappardelle. The delectable recipes include specialities like Argan oil, chocolate balsamic and Pastis mustard. Perfect for Ladbroke Grove and near Portobello Road, La Sophia is a stylish venue for exquisite dining.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok but not amazing”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Went along on a Saturday night after having made a reservation. Restaurant was busy but not full. Interior was cosy but a little tired or worn in places. We ordered the Lamb Croquettes as a Starter and the Rabbit with Couscous as the main. Really enjoyed the shredded pieces of lamb in the Croquettes but found the Rabbit to be lacking in flavour. Would possibly go again to try another of the main dishes but wouldn't go out of my way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    12
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Meal”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

On first appearance and also with the slightly chaotic service, I thought that we were in for a long night... but I was surprised with the quality of the food. It turned out to be a great night with a very good meal, and value for money as well. It´s a restuarant for the locals of Notting Hill as opposed to a restaurant that you would make a visit to. Close to Ladbroke Grove tube station. Good lively atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We went here for a romantic meal last month and were pleasantly surprised. The steak was great, and the starters were fabulous. The chocolate desserts were to die for!! The non-alcoholic wine wasn't so pleasant, but the service made up for it. Will defo be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best 'non Asian food' halal restaurant in London”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I had dinner on a Saturday evening, the food was excellent and all Halal. The staff were very accommodating and attentive. They do serve alcohol sadly and a dubious 'de-alcoholised' wine.

Probably the best 'non Asian food' halal restaurant in London

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kabir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful evening”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

La Sophia is a cosy fusion restaurant which marries French and Mediterranean flavours. We decided to go for the fixed price menu with a steak dish and chef special - duck breast. The steak good as it was - wasn't out of this world. The duck breast however was a complex dish, was flavoursome and tasted great. The service was good although on one or two occasions I struggled to catch their eye. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank londonhaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sophia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing