We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judd Hotel
Ranked #231 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a reasonably priced for the location, a few minutes walk from Euston station. Room was clean and pleasant, but a little small. Staff were friendly. The main downside is that the doors on the rooms bang loudly, so the hotel is generally not quiet. We would have liked more variety at the breakfast, and a later time for breakfast on a Saturday.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spacecadetz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    230
    159
    83
    50
See reviews for
147
154
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

There was a tube strike so the usual choice of hotel's near Euston was limited and prices were high. The Judd offered a good rate which included a full breakfast buffet and free wifi. The hotel seemed nice and the staff were pleasant but to call the room a double was stretching the point. Just enough room for a double bed and the width of the door to walk along. The person sleeping by the wall has to climb over their partner to get out. The bathroom was tiny - a larger person wouldn't have been able to get all of themselves in the shower cubicle at once. There was also no mirror except the one over the sink in the bathroom - a shame as not only is it useful it would have made the room seem more spacious. A pleasant location on a leafy crescent just south of the Euston road but check the room size when booking.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 which is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Judd Hotel is in easy walking distance of both St Pancras and Euston which was what we needed. We got an excellent deal for our overnight stay and were more than pleased that it did not disappoint on décor and cleanliness. The staff were welcoming and obliging both at reception and breakfast, they were also most helpful with our enquires. Our brief stay was a very satisfying end to a few days in London. We had been staying out of town with family and decided we would prefer to be near our station on the departure day rather than have a long journey into town. After a good breakfast we had time to visit an exhibition in the British Library which is very close by at on Euston Road before collecting our luggage from the Hotel and catching our train. We would stay at the Judd again not only is it convenient for all transport but also for many places of interest

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues state that you need a room on the ground or first floor, the stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We booked the Jenkin hotel, which looks very nice. Got a reasonable rate. When we arrived were told we had to stay at the Judd. The rooms were nothing like the rooms that are on the Jenkin Hotel website. The room was very, very small, and poorly maintained. The reception service was provided by people who have a limited understanding of English. The room was either very hot or very cold and the bed was cheap and un comfortable. The breakfastt area is extermly cramped and the food was ok ish. There is no restaurant and no bar, and the wifi is intermittent. These two hotels deliberatly mislead you into thinking you will get more than they can deliver, if they showed you the Judd you wouldnt stay. I would not recommend staying here unless you can a £50 rate as its just not worth more than that. All of my colleagues agreed with my opinion.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

just arrived home after spending a couple of days in London, staying at Judd Hotel, Hotel was clean and room was a good side and beds were comfy, our room was on the first floor, we were woken up every morning at 6 as we heard everyone in rooms above us, at times it sounded like the people were coming through the floor, heard toilet being flushed, doors being banged and creaky floors and stairs, also would be helpful to put hairdryer next to mirror instead of over the bed, we went for breakfast and it was not so good, 1 cheap teabag in a large teapot, rubbery sausage and horrible fried eggs. Came back from our trip more tired before I arrived there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

On our annual visit to London we decided this time to try an older hotel. On arrival at 1pm we let our luggage in 1 of the 2 rooms we had reserved. Both were twin rooms, our only reservation was that the beds were the smallest single beds we had ever encountered. the room was spotlessly clean, light and airy with lovely high ceilings. There was painting work being carried out in certain areas but there were signs informing us. The breakfast was lovely and ranged from full English to cereal, yogurts, fruit, toast and plenty of drinks. The staff were very welcoming and nothing seemed any trouble. Check out is 11am but we could leave out luggage stored I the hotel. We will defiantly be staying at this hotel again, just what we needed for a few days away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kazzybee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I should have been warned when I arrived at 5pm to find the reception door locked and was left standing in the rain for ages. Room was small, but OK. Breakfast was,however, a disaster. I arrived as it should have started at 7am to find nothing was ready. I was left sitting in the dark for 15 minutes while staff were clearly trying to sort out a problem. No one explained what the problem was, or apologised for keeping me waiting. At 7.30 I'd been presented with a cup of tea and an under cooked piece of toast, but still no comment. I gave up and got something to eat at the station. I can accept that problems occur, but don't expect to be ignored.

Room Tip: Tiny single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#434 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#529 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#555 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#888 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#552 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Property: Judd Hotel
Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing