We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Joseph Hotel
Ranked #1,019 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic hotel good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of the tube and in an area of stores and resturants. Our room was small, but clean. Breakfast was adequate with toast, boiled eggs, cereal, cheeze jelly juice and coffee. An OK place to stay for a night or two, but I would check out other hotels in the area before booking here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ole-olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    41
    106
    89
    185
See reviews for
86
153
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our hotel booking was changed to this hotel at the last minute by Onhotels it was either accept this or cancel 3 days before we were due to travel.

On arrival we had to complain immediately to the concierge about our room.

1. The carpet and walls were very dirty.

2. The bed cover was stained and dirty

3. The room was so small that the bathroom door could not be opened properly as it hit the bed.

4. In the tiny bathroom the glass soap dish was smashed so that the sharp broken glass made using the wash basin very dangerous.

5. You are not allowed to put toilet paper in the toilet. We have never stayed in a UK hotel where this was necessary.

I have attached photo's of these issues.

The concierge said he could not do anything then but would change our room the next day at 8am.

The next morning we were told the room could not be changed until 2pm.

Ashraf did the best he could with the room change but at the end of the day there was little apart from size to choose between them as I can only assume all the rooms are dirty and tired.

On our final night from about 10pm this room smelled of sewerage which seemed to be coming from the shower drain. As we knew they would not move us in the night we did not complain to the concierge but this was the second of 2 very poor quality nights out of a 3 night stay.

There is no lift and no assistance with baggage. The breakfast is served in the basement (no daylight) and it resembles a staff canteen.

The location is fantastic with great restaurants and the tube very close by however I certainly would not pay more than the £25 a night that I see some guests are paying, We paid Onhotels £200 for 3 nights and I am writing to them for compensation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

BROMSGROVE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Listen people, if you're paying £25 per night to stay in a good location I don't know what you expect. Ok, the rooms are not fantastic, the beds are small but comfortable, the bathroom tap swivelled round & water pressure was almost none existent. The not being able to put loo paper down the toilet was antiquated but obviously a necessity. I would expect a damn site more had I paid more, but I didn't & therefore didn't!! Great location to get to Olympia which was 10 min walk

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FEENCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Unless you are a backpacker and desperate dont stay here. It is every bit as bad as the reviews. No lifts. Filthy carpets and wall and told not to put paper of any kind in the toilet as ths would block it, This is not ASIA where this may be a common practice. The first room I was offered had carpets with many black patches which were just dirty/ Eventually given another room which had sound of running water all night from showers and creaking floors. Staff were also rude. Breakfast was 1 cereal, hot juices toast and cold boiled eggs.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 961Debbie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Very cheap ....£44 for a Friday night ! Can't go wrong . No where near as bad as some review make out ! 5 walk to tube station , easy to get too

No lift - got tiring with a case .

Breakfast is basically jam on toast but I suppose you can't complain for the price .

Only criticism would be no aircon! Rooms where boling in the night and the windows hardly open for health and safety reasons . Definitely lost sleep that night due to the heat!

This place is totally fine for 1 night .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytimes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was really good, no lock on bathroom door but what can you do. Only complaint I have is that the cleaners son (I assume) was running up and down screaming outside our room at 8am, people running around upstair and being right by the breakfast room we had to literally step over half a dozen people sitting outside our room eating toast and talking really loudly. Toilet also kept making some crazy loud noises at night!

Staff friendly, great location and super comfy bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

booked a triple room here and it was only a double in size so v cramped. mildew on the bathroom ceiling but everything worked ok. Ok for the 1 night we were there but I wouldn't want to be there for a long stay. Ok if you're on a budget but that's about it.

Room Tip: avoid lower ground floor - we were opposite the (basic) restaurant so it was noisy from 7.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0nyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#735 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Hotel 65
#782 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#734 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#626 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#881 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#730 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Joseph Hotel

Property: St Joseph Hotel
Address: 43-45 Longridge Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,019 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your St Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing