We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shocker”
Review of St Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Joseph Hotel
Ranked #1,013 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is a total shocker. Nothing more than a hostel with dirty little rooms and a bathroom in which you have to stand over the toilet in order to have a shower. The rather odd sign on the bathroom door about where to place toilet paper makes one think that this is a hotel in a third world country. My companion asked for an extra pillow. The man on the front desk promptly stood up, took the pillow on which he was sitting and handed it to him. You could not make this up. If you have very low standards then stay here. The beds are very small and exceptionally uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of the tube and in an area of stores and resturants. Our room was small, but clean. Breakfast was adequate with toast, boiled eggs, cereal, cheeze jelly juice and coffee. An OK place to stay for a night or two, but I would check out other hotels in the area before booking here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ole-olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our hotel booking was changed to this hotel at the last minute by Onhotels it was either accept this or cancel 3 days before we were due to travel.

On arrival we had to complain immediately to the concierge about our room.

1. The carpet and walls were very dirty.

2. The bed cover was stained and dirty

3. The room was so small that the bathroom door could not be opened properly as it hit the bed.

4. In the tiny bathroom the glass soap dish was smashed so that the sharp broken glass made using the wash basin very dangerous.

5. You are not allowed to put toilet paper in the toilet. We have never stayed in a UK hotel where this was necessary.

I have attached photo's of these issues.

The concierge said he could not do anything then but would change our room the next day at 8am.

The next morning we were told the room could not be changed until 2pm.

Ashraf did the best he could with the room change but at the end of the day there was little apart from size to choose between them as I can only assume all the rooms are dirty and tired.

On our final night from about 10pm this room smelled of sewerage which seemed to be coming from the shower drain. As we knew they would not move us in the night we did not complain to the concierge but this was the second of 2 very poor quality nights out of a 3 night stay.

There is no lift and no assistance with baggage. The breakfast is served in the basement (no daylight) and it resembles a staff canteen.

The location is fantastic with great restaurants and the tube very close by however I certainly would not pay more than the £25 a night that I see some guests are paying, We paid Onhotels £200 for 3 nights and I am writing to them for compensation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 969wendyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Listen people, if you're paying £25 per night to stay in a good location I don't know what you expect. Ok, the rooms are not fantastic, the beds are small but comfortable, the bathroom tap swivelled round & water pressure was almost none existent. The not being able to put loo paper down the toilet was antiquated but obviously a necessity. I would expect a damn site more had I paid more, but I didn't & therefore didn't!! Great location to get to Olympia which was 10 min walk

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEENCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Unless you are a backpacker and desperate dont stay here. It is every bit as bad as the reviews. No lifts. Filthy carpets and wall and told not to put paper of any kind in the toilet as ths would block it, This is not ASIA where this may be a common practice. The first room I was offered had carpets with many black patches which were just dirty/ Eventually given another room which had sound of running water all night from showers and creaking floors. Staff were also rude. Breakfast was 1 cereal, hot juices toast and cold boiled eggs.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 961Debbie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Very cheap ....£44 for a Friday night ! Can't go wrong . No where near as bad as some review make out ! 5 walk to tube station , easy to get too

No lift - got tiring with a case .

Breakfast is basically jam on toast but I suppose you can't complain for the price .

Only criticism would be no aircon! Rooms where boling in the night and the windows hardly open for health and safety reasons . Definitely lost sleep that night due to the heat!

This place is totally fine for 1 night .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnytimes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was really good, no lock on bathroom door but what can you do. Only complaint I have is that the cleaners son (I assume) was running up and down screaming outside our room at 8am, people running around upstair and being right by the breakfast room we had to literally step over half a dozen people sitting outside our room eating toast and talking really loudly. Toilet also kept making some crazy loud noises at night!

Staff friendly, great location and super comfy bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
462 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#568 of 1,077 in London
1,032 reviews
Hotel 65
#751 of 1,077 in London
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#663 of 1,077 in London
334 reviews
Viking Hotel
#755 of 1,077 in London
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Joseph Hotel

Address: 43-45 Longridge Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,013 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £41 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your St Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing