We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business trip”
Review of St Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Joseph Hotel
Ranked #1,011 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business trip”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for to days. Was a last minute trip. Booked this via lastminute.com.

Hotel staff were polite, great location, room was a little old but clean and spacious. Room had a fridge, nice sized bathroom and TV also.

Hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from Earls Court. Will stay again if I can get it at this price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    41
    107
    90
    190
See reviews for
87
156
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we have just returned from a two day stay at St. Joseph and this is the first time I have ever written a negative review. The moment we arrived and checked in the receptionist was quite rude and possibly may of been the owner, as there was three of us (my husband , myself and our granddaughter) he tried to charge us an extra £50 for the third bed even though we had booked and paid for three previously, at £192 for two nights not extremely cheap, My husband phoned the company we booked through and (trivago) they were very helpful and they spoke directly to the receptionist and he reluctantly agreed . He was very rude, We went to our room. all I can say was the beds were clean as were the shower area, carpets badly stained (we kept our feet covered at all times) and walls peeling and condensation very visible, extremely small rooms, though manageable for two nights, Breakfast if your lucky enough to get a seat basic but ok. The second day after two attempts, half an hour between them, trying to get a seat we managed to sit two of us ,so my husband went back to the room and we ate out later. I could not recommend this hotel as we feel it was more of a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadstar726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I chose this Hotel for three reasons 1. The price 2. The location (Chelsea) 3.The character being a victorian style building we thought it might offer an atmosphere that some of the larger group hotels may not offer. Indeed having visited all the major hotel sites and not being able to find something within our budget, I eventually found the St.Joseph Hotel. On the outside it looks lovely. A period property set in the affluent area of Chelsea. The inside however was a trifle disappointing. Our room was situated on the top floor. With no lift, the stairs were steep and by the time My Partner and I reached the top we were exhausted. The bedroom was very small, barely enough room to swing cat, but in fairness it did offer the basics i.e a shower room with a tiny sink and tea and coffee making facities. With the two of us in the room it felt crowded and claustrophobic. As a single it would have just about passed muster, but as a double definately not. The room price of £55 did include breakfast. However this was down in a dark cellar like room with no windows. On the way down to breakfast there was alot of clutter and the stairs were again very steep. Breakfast was ok. However behind the counter were the toaster was positioned must of been 30 to 40 loaves of bread justed piled up. The reception staff were not that helpful, All I will say was that the room was clean. However I wished I'd paid another £15 and booked a group hotel. On a positive note St. Joseph is situated close to a tube station and local bus routes . This Hotel has potential, its a lovely building, but it needs to have more of a friendly atmosphere and bigger rooms

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We didn't have high expectations when coming here, but were pleasantly surprised.
Yeah sure the guy at reception was rude, but you get rude people all over the world who don't like their job, he's just probably not the best person to put 'front of house'.
The room we had was in the basement and was quite roomy considering its in London. The bathroom was nice and big and the shower had really good pressure.
Its a 20 pound deposit for the TV remote, bit pricy but you get that back so its a nice bonus when checking out to have an extra 20 quid in your pocket.
Breakfast was stock standard, I think what a lot of people forget when they are writing reviews on Trip Advisor is that you get what you pay for. Also there are plenty of eating places just a short walk up the road from this hotel so if breakfast isn't to you liking you could always skip it and have a great lunch at one of the pubs.
The only downside was that the walls are really thin, and awkwardly one night we heard a couple doing the deed.
This place is great value for the price as you are right next to the station without having the noise, and about a 5 minute walk away (not even) there is a huge Tesco with a bakery.

Room Tip: A room in the basement only has 1 flight of about 10 stairs, good for if you have heavy bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keljam731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very good value for money hotel, with clean basic rooms. My room had a modern bathroom, phone, tea tray, TV and hair dryer, it also had basic toiletries. The staff we encountered were very friendly and check in and out we're smooth and efficient. The breakfast was simple but satisfying none the less. Would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a simple, good value hotel in an excellent location. Would stay again :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in worse. It's in a good location. However the beds are tiny, smaller than a single bed. The breakfast is a choice of toast or corn flakes. If u want a tv remote the it's a £20 deposit, even though the TVs only worth about £50. It's clean though. I guess u get what u pay for.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NeilPeterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Good points:
Great location,modern decor,shower worked well, nice continental breakfast,fridge and safe in room,cheap price
Bad points:
No lifts and we were on 3rd floor so a lot of stairs, room very small but we coped, breakfast room very hot.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ret123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Hotel 65
#753 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#730 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#722 of 1,067 in London
446 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#765 of 1,067 in London
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Joseph Hotel

Property: St Joseph Hotel
Address: 43-45 Longridge Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,011 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing