We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK.”
Review of Depa Tandoori

Depa Tandoori
Ranked #7,754 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Came in for an early dinner. Service was friendly. food was OK. The tandoori chicken was quite dry. Extra's are expensive, Naan, Rice etc as usual in the UK as these are not included in the mains price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbfdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    55
    30
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent restuarant, good service and excellent food”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

me and my partner are regular visitors to this restaurant. The service is always quick with friendly waiters. the food is excellent in taste; for the price it is a nice atmosphere.
Very good restaurant with helpful friendly waiters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uzra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Indian food near Russel Square”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a dinner at this restaurant. We had chicken tikka, chicken biriani, chicken curry, spinach and potatoes (the best for me). Everything was good, though I have had better Indian food elsewhere. Still, we enjoyed our meal and would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gachingura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!! :)”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

After watching the football match in London and heading back to the hotel starving we found this great place!!! We thought was too late to sit in and eat but we was warmly welcomed!!!! The staff were very friendly and service was great. It's a nice relaxed cosy place and the food was very tasty proberbly the best chicken curry iv had in a long time!!!! And resonable prices too. After talking to the waiter we found out the chef had been there for 28 years I think it was! So he must be doing something right :) if we stay in that area again we will definatly be coming again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucygoosey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 591 helpful votes
“Authentic Food in a Cozy Setting”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just reading the other previous reviews I would be boring you by trying to add anything about this fabulous food. DEPA's has a quality and flavour which is fresh and traditional and is a refreshing change from the bastardized stuff we get in the Greater Toronto area.
The curry is subtle without being obvious and allows the palate to experience the individuality of the menu's offerings.
It is a small venue, true, so get there early or be prepared to wait. But this restriction has kept it real and we should all be thankful for it. The service is fast and friendly and this restaurant makes the Cartwright Gardens/Tavistock neighbourhood a fantastic district to consider on a visit or vacation to London. We were so sad to only eat there once but we were trying to get to every place in our ten day vacation!
Open 7 days a week at lunch (noon to 3) and dinner 6 pm to midnight, with takeaway AND home delivery so they are going out of their way to serve their patrons! Close to all transportation so GET THERE!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Depa Tandoori also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Depa Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing