We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect visit to the Indigo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #83 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect visit to the Indigo”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were going to a performance at Shakespeare's Globe theatre. There was no way we would get a decent train to take us back home and we didn't want be looking at our watches. I did a bit of searching and found our favourite Indigo at Tower Hill was at a very reasonable price so I jumped on that. I have stayed at this hotel probably a half a dozen or more times. It is close to where we work, close to our train station and the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. The rate even included breakfast. All for £140! The breakfast was not the usual tired buffet. They did have a buffet for fresh fruit, pastries, cereal etc. But you could then also order a full English or other items like oatmeal which is what I had. Even the oatmeal was nice with fresh berries. Illy coffee was a nice touch too. In the past the staff has always been friendly. However on this visit, I needed to ask about a few things and they were quick to reply and were very helpful and pleasant. I have to say it was the best stay I have had at a Holiday Inn member hotel. Everyone from the lady who did the turn down, the front desk and the restaurant personal.

Room Tip: They are all comfortable. It depends on how much space you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re mighty glad you enjoyed your theater without having to worry because that is what Indigo is all about: just when you need it, it will be there for you. And thanks for appreciating all the services we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    334
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
96
679
74
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watton, Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located, a short walk from Liverpool Street station. The hotel is quirky in design, contemporary and comfortable. Our room was very spacious, with an extremely good quality king size bed. The bathroom amenities are very good and the free minibar was an unexpected bonus. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Some people do use hotel rooms as their basic for saying if their stay was as comfortable as expected. We’re glad to note you had a wonderful time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This Hotel was booked as a 60th Birthday surprise from my family. An exciting trip to London!!
On entering the Hotel Reception we were greeted with a row of bright smiles from the awaiting Reception Staff. We have stayed in many Hotels but The Hotel Indigo Tower Hill has the most happy , pleasant and helpful staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet. We arrived early so we left the bags at the desk while we had a lovely wander around Tower Bridge. Arriving back to the Hotel we collected our key and proceeded to our room.Room 308. The room was beautiful and very modern. Rose petals where laid across the bed which was a lovely touch. Everything was spotless. Complimentary snacks in the fridge too. Also a Nespresso Coffee Machine was an added bonus. Having not been to London for quite some time The staff were more than keen to help us on our way. Advice on the underground buses etc. The Hotels position is very close to Aldgate Tube. It is in walking distance of the Tower of London(A must see) and we also walked to St Pauls, The Tate Modern and Shakespeares Globe Theatre. We ate in the Hotel on 2 evenings , out of the 4 nights we where there. The food was excellent. Being served by Victoria was an added bonus. What a beautiful and happy girl. She was a joy to be around and a lovely asset to this Hotel. The other girls I would like to give a very special mention to are; Giusi , Monica and Jackie. These girls go the extra mile to make everything a very happy and delightful experience. We were very sad to leave and quite emotional as hugs were given all round. If there is anyone we have forgotten to mention we apologise. We would highly reccommend this Hotel and we cannot wait to return.. Thank you all again.

Room Tip: Room 308 is excellent. But I imagine all rooms are as good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Birthday or no birthday, our staff made it a habit to make every client’s stay worth its while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband I stayed here last weekend for our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in and took our bags for the afternoon as our room wasn't ready when we arrived.

The rooms were fantastic. We had booked ourselves the Executive room as it was for a special occasion and we found it to be spacious with a modern bathroom. They have even put rose petals on the bed for us.

The location of the hotel was ok. A short walk from the Tower of London and close to Tower Hill and Aldgate tube stations. We did find that most of the pubs by the hotel closed on the weekend. We did find that the pub down the road called the Minories (located under the railway bridge towards the tower of london) was open everyday and we had a few drinks in there.

The only downside that we found with the hotel is that the roads outside are very noisy and even with all the glazing you can hear trucks and all sorts going past from early in the morning. Our room was 104 and it was right on the corner of the 2 roads so perhaps the higher floors rooms don't hear as much.

Overall we would stay here again but perhaps ask for a room on the higher floors to be further away from the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaL1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Despite the minor problem of street noise, we took notice that everything was to your liking. Thank you so much. The noise is expected because the hotel is located in a very busy business area but we made up to it in many other ways, didn’t we?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent one night at this wonderful hotel. The staff were charming and helpful - so lovely. We were upgraded to a lovely suite when we booked in. The suite was very comfortable, spacious and modern. We had a great night's sleep. When we left the room to check out the next morning one of the housekeepers saw us walking towards the lift and went to press the button for us. Such good service! I wish we had booked another night so we could have stayed a little bit longer in this excellent hotel. We will certainly book again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Yes indeed! A second night, a third, a fourth will always be something to want to experience again at Indigo. We look forward to your booking in again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a small hotel, perfectly located if one has business in the City and easy to get to from either Aldgate and Tower Hill tube station. I have stayed here a few times and on each occasion have been impressed by the quality and size of the rooms and, in particular, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

Room Tip: So far, all the rooms that I have stayed in have been excellent. If you want to treat yourself, go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Maybe we’re small but we’re the perfect place to stay in when conducting business in the city. You don’t know how good you make us feel by pointing out that your every stay with us has been impressive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
608 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I spent several nights at the Indigo on a business trip to London. On arrival, I upgraded to an executive room for an additional 15 pounds per night (making the rate 185 pounds - inexpensive for London).

The location, just a bit north of the Tower of London, is excellent for visiting The City's law offices and financial centre. The hotel is one block south of the Aldgate tube station, so getting around is very easy. It is a short walk to much of the area business, and if you walk down to the Tower Bridge area, you will find a number of restaurants on the Thames and at the St Katherine docks. Cross the river, and you are close to the More London Riverside development, which has more eateries.

The staff is probably the biggest asset. They went out of their way to be helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean, well appointed, and equipped with a Nespresso machine, which is the way into my heart. Coffee, water, soft drinks and a few snack items were complimentary. The bed was comfortable, the room sufficiently cool (frequently a problem area in London, where the locals like it somewhere between hot and insufferably hot).

The hotel has an arrangement with LA Fitness to use its facilities, but I don't recommend taking ANYTHING of value there. The fitness club has one lock they issue for Hotel Indigo guests, and it has a baseball-sized tag on it to identify it as the hotel guest lock. The combination is preset to a combination that you can be sure the fitness staff all know (hint, it's one number repeated over and over - duh!!). They will be happy to sell you a lock, but at 9 quid for a lock that should cost 1-2 at most, it's a no brainer. Skip the workout and just walk London. Better yet, take the tube to Covent Garden (which is under major renovation) and walk up the 17 stories or so to the ground level.

The hotel also lacks a business centre, which is a bit of a challenge if you are trying to print files, boarding passes, etc. Mitigating that is the Mailboxes Etc store just north of the hotel.

Room Tip: The buildings on the south and east sides are under reconstruction, so that gets noisy. In addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

You really captured in words what Indigo has to offer mentioning not just our best asset – our staff – but all our other assets as well. Some convenience we may be deficient in can easily be made up for by the establishments you find nearby. Thanks for pointing this out and THANKS even more for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,304 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#77 of 1,067 in London
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,395 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#39 of 1,067 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Property: Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing