We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business like. Well made. Bit dull.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #82 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Business like. Well made. Bit dull.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The entrance is certainly lacking any sort of impression making acumen, resembling something like the archetypal city solicitors office (in a past life it was i think a bank). The Tower Hill branch of the Indigo chain has some good things going for it.

The reception area is not one of them, deep viscous red lighting and a cramped check-in desk manned by some very friendly and obliging staff. Pleasantries exchanged the lift took up three floors to my room. It is certainly well designed with a continental meets the orient design and a view to forget over a concrete building adjacent. It was small, functional, clean and perfectly adequate.

To be honest the hotel will suit anyone looking for a reasonably central place to stay when working away from home or on the tourist trail. You just don't want to be spending any long period of time here- I have been spoilt over the past few weeks and have stayed in some seriously good value, high end hotels- this experience was just lacking any sort of wow-factor.

The hotel shows reasonable value for money and offers absolutely to complain about, but also nothing to write home about.

For the money paid, you can do a lot worse in London…but guess what? You could also do a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alastairwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear alastairwhatley,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. We appreciate all the comments we receive as this allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    334
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
96
679
74
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was my second visit to this modern and well furnished hotel in the Minories, the location is terrific, 5 minutes from the Aldgate Tube station, and a mere 7 minutes from Tower Hill. Very central, yet located in a quiet and safe area. Also in walking distance, you will find a small Tesco & Sainsbury's and some nice pubs for your convenience.

The welcome in the reception was charming and to the point, it took only 10 minutes before we could access our room on the fifth floor.
The rooms are modern (Ipod/iPhone station, flatscreen TV with free Sky Sports, ethernet connection at desk), stylish and spacious enough for two (we had booked a "superior" room which seems to be the standard) equipped with air conditioning (essential to all hotels in London), a mini bar with complimentary non-alcoholic beverages, chocolate bars an a müsli bar refilled on a daily basis), you can get a newspaper if you wish every morning and also the Wifi is free of charge, all of which are some nice perks.

The breakfast in the morning is of good quality and offers a vast choice at somewhat high prices (but then again this is a 4 star location in central London), unfortunately the service was not up to speed and also it took some time to get a full english breakfast out of the kitchen despite not to many customers sitting around. If you are planning a short stay and want to fully explore the city, either come at an earlier point of the morning or just plan your breakfast at another location.
On the other hand, we had breakfast in the room on a sunday (free room service 24h), which was a joy and this time the lovely staff member (Viktoria if my memory serves me well) brought everything up quite quickly with a warm smile.

Every room is equipped with tea-making facility and a Nespresso machine which is a nice bonus, although in the beginning only two capsules (one of which was decaff) were available, but a word at the reception was enough to stock it up. Bravo for that!

The bathroom with an open shower and a modern design is spacious enough and even though some customers here seem to be complaining of the lack of storage room, for us there was no hindrance to store our toiletries. On the downsize though, the bathrobes provided are all M sized and of quite a rough material, like last time, I had to ask for a replacement, but to the staff's defence, they have provided a larger and more "fluffy" robe the day after, still, it would be nice having two sizes from the start, but this is nitpicking now I guess.

In essence, besides some minor flaws, the Indigo Tower Hill (part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is a very good and for what you get fairly priced choice for a long and short stay in central London for solo travellers and couples.

Room Tip: Everything above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
So that’s why we deserved a second visit from you! Thanks for the wonderful observation and reason for choosing us for a second stay. Sorry about the not too nice experience with the speed of service at the breakfast area. Your observations will get to the staff’s notice so we can improve in that regard. And hey! We look forward to your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend in late April. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, even lining up a car for us back to Heathrow. The hotel was very clean, quiet, and located just around the corner from Aldgate tube station for easy travel throughout the city. Just a short walk to the Tower of London, which was awesome to tour. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and this hotel made it very comfortable!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rlalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Nice to know that Indigo played an important role in making your trip enjoyable. We do pride ourselves with the service we provide our clients. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the moment we were greeted by Giusi at the front desk, to the time we checked out, our experience was second to none. The atmosphere and charm of the staff, the room, and the daily service was among the best we have experienced in all our travels. It is located within minutes of three tube stops, the Thames, and the Tower of London, as well as countless numbers of pubs and local restaurants. There were also at least two locations for Tesco Express and Sainsbury food markets within a 5 minute walk, where we were able to purchase inexpensive snacks and breakfast items. The neighborhood is clean and safe, the staff could not have been more helpful, and the complimentary mini bar items (soft drinks and snacks) made our stay even more enjoyable. The room was uniquely appointed and spacious (we had room 303), a rear corner facing India Street. The bathroom was modern, although the only drawback is the semi open shower that leaves no choice but to wet the floor around it! All in all, a true gem of a boutique hotel which we would be happy to use again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
The 3 things you mentioned at the start of your review are the three things we really are proud of and get commendations for: service, room and staff. Thanks for the validation. Thanks for giving us a perfect rating in everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and found the service and quality as being very good. Our room had a nice four poster bed and a well equipped bathroom. We didn't have breakfast, so we cannot comment on the food. We would recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We’re glad that you had a wonderful stay at Indigo, short it may have been and thanks for validating what most of our clients say of what we offer: quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed 3 days at the Indigo London Tower Hill and it was quite a nice long weekend in London.

The hotel can be a bit tricky to find and there is not much in the direct vicinity (restaurant wise) but a short walk (10-15 min) you'll find a lot of choice.

The room was nice, modern and clean with a big four poster bed. The bathroom was a bit small but modern and clean.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so we can't comment on that.

Overall the hotel was good, even though wee found it a bit anonymous. The staff did their jobs, but that was about it. Having said all that we had a great time and the hotel is good value for money especially considering the overall room rates in London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiekeFlurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We’re glad to have been part of your nice long weekend in London. And you did point it out well: everything has its good as well as its bad side; but what matters is that generally you did have a great time and got good value for your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked this hotel for its position in relation to what we wanted to do and see in london. The hotel is only 2 minutes walk from aldgate tube station, and 3 or 4 minutes from the Tower of London .
The rooms and staff at the hotel were excellent , the staff were all very friendly, the rooms were very modern in there features, and you got free soft drinks and chocolates in the mini fridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
So you got even more than what you had envisioned you could get: comfortable rooms, friendly and excellent staff and an unexpected “freebies”. Thanks for the perfect 5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,304 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,395 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#36 of 1,067 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Property: Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing